Schering Stiftung

Call Young Investigator Fund 2020 


Deadline for nominations:
April 15, 2020

Contact:
Jennifer Fielding
Project Manager, Science
Tel. 030-20 62 29 60
fielding@scheringstiftung.de


The Schering Stiftung and the Fritz Thyssen Foundation offer start-up grants to fund promising research ideas by young scientists. Support is provided for projects in the fields of biochemical, neuroscience or immunological basic research with biomedical implications. The program is explicitly aimed at highly motivated young investigators who want to start an independent career and pursue their own research ideas that differentiate from the research topic of the supervisor.

The Schering Stiftung and the Fritz Thyssen Foundation make possible research projects that cannot be realized with existing funds and resources and for which application for other funding is not possible because of a lack of preliminary research. The start-up grant thus lays the foundations for a subsequent multiannual third-party funding.

The Schering Stiftung and the Fritz Thyssen Foundation have earmarked a total of EUR 120,000 for this grant program. Applicants can apply for up to EUR 60,000 per project.

Read more

Downloads 

Call for Applications

Download File

Application Form

Download File

Infos on grant requirement "6 years / PhD"

Download File

Young Investigator Fund 

Promotion of young researchers — Series

Start-up grants to fund promising research ideas by young scientists in the fields of biochemical, neuroscience or immunology basic research.

Learn more

Partners 

Fritz Thyssen Foundation

Fellows 

Sebastian Balbach studied chemistry and medicine at the Westphalian Wilhelms University of Münster and received his doctorate in both subjects at the Max Planck Institute for Molecular Biomedicine under Prof. Hans Schöler. With a postdoctoral fellowship from German Cancer Aid, he joined the laboratory of Prof. Stuart Orkin at Harvard Medical School in Boston, USA. He now works as a physician in pediatric oncology under Prof. Claudia Rössig at the University Hospital of Münster and also heads a research project on new treatment methods for children with cancer, which is supported by the Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas of the Schering Stiftung and Fritz Thyssen Foundation. Further information on the research project can be found here.

Close

Sofia-Iris Bibli, born in Greece, obtained her MSc in Pharmacology (2013) and her PhD with distinction in Molecular Pharmacology (2016) from the University of Athens. After completing her PhD, she was nominated by the European Society of Cardiology for two postdoctoral fellowships (ESC Basic Research Fellowship 2016 and Research Grant 2016) and moved to the Institute for Vascular Signalling at the Goethe University Frankfurt under the direction of Prof. Ingrid Fleming. Her current research project aims to elucidate the role of cystathionine-γ-lyase-derived hydrogen sulfide in the homeostasis of endothelial cells in health and disease. The Schering Stiftung and the Fritz Thyssen Foundation support the project within the framework of the Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas. Further information on the research project can be found here.

Close

Dr. Ayelén González Montoro

Junior Group Leader at the University of Osnabrück

Boost - Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas 2018

Ayelén González Montoro is Junior Group Leader at the Department of Biology/Chemistry of the University of Osnabrück. Her research in the field of cell biology, biochemistry, and genetics focusses on organelles, membranes, and intracellular transport.
She received her doctorate in Córdoba, Argentina. A postdoctoral fellowship from the European Molecular Biology Organization brought her to the laboratory of Dr. Christian Ungermann at the University of Osnabrück. Here she is studying structures that enable different specialized cell regions to communicate with each other. This research project was funded by the Schering Stiftung and the Fritz Thyssen Foundation within the framework of the Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas. Further information on the project can be found here.

Close

Laleh Haghverdi studied physics at the Sharif University of Technology in Tehran, Iran, and at the University of Cologne, Germany, and holds a PhD in mathematics from the Technical University of Munich. From 2016 to 2017 she held a postdoctoral position at the European Bioinformatics Institute, Cambridge, UK. Since September 2017, Laleh Haghverdi has been working as a Postdoc at the European Molecular Biology Laboratory in Heidelberg.
Within the framework of the Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas, the Schering Stiftung and the Fritz Thyssen Foundation support a research project of Laleh Haghverdi. Further information on the project can be found here.

Close

Cordelia Imig is a neuroscientist at the Max Planck Institute for Experimental Medicine in Göttingen. She studied biology and subsequently completed the international course of study "Neuroscience" in Göttingen. She received her doctorate in 2013 at the MPI for Experimental Medicine under Nils Brose. Within the framework of the Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas, the Schering Stiftung and the Fritz Thyssen Foundation support a research project by Cordelia Emig. Further information on the project can be found here.

Close

Simone Mader received her PhD in Neuroscience from the Medical University of Innsbruck, Austria, and continued her research work as a postdoctoral fellow in the group of Dr. Betty Diamond at the Feinstein Institute for Medical Research in New York starting in 2012. There she received a postdoctoral fellowship from the S.L.E. Lupus Foundation and was promoted to Instructor in 2017. Since her return to Europe in June 2018, she has been working at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich in the research group of Prof. Dr. Edgar Meinl at the Institute of Clinical Neuroimmunology. Within the framework of the Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas, the Schering Stiftung and the Fritz Thyssen Foundation support a research project of Simone Mader. Further information on the project can be found here.

Close

Konstantin Sparrer is Junior Research Group Leader at the Institute of Molecular Virology at Ulm University. His research in the field of immunology, virology and molecular biology focusses on innate immunity, autophagy and RNA viruses.
Konstantin Sparrer graduated with a Master in Biochemistry from the University of Munich. He completed his PhD thesis in molecular virology in the lab of Prof. Karl-Klaus Conzelmann. He then joined the group of Prof. Michaela Gack as a postdoc, first at Harvard Medical School then at the University of Chicago. In January 2018 he moved back to Germany and is now a Junior Group Leader at the Institute of Molecular Virology headed by Prof. Dr. Frank Kirchhoff and Prof. Dr. Jan Münch at Ulm University. Within the framework of the Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas, the Schering Stiftung and the Fritz Thyssen Foundation support a research project of Konstantin Sparrer. Further information on the project can be found here.

Close

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Ausschreibung Young Investigator Fund 2020 


Bewerbungsfrist:
15. April 2020

Ansprechpartnerin für Rückfragen:
Jennifer Fielding
Projektmanagerin Wissenschaft
Tel. 030-20 62 29 60
fielding@scheringstiftung.de


Die Schering Stiftung und die Fritz Thyssen Stiftung unterstützen Erfolg versprechende Forschungsideen junger Wissenschaftler*innen mit einer Anschubfinanzierung. Gefördert werden Projekte aus dem Bereich der biochemischen, neurowissenschaftlichen oder immunologischen Grundlagenforschung mit biomedizinischer Implikation. Das Programm richtet sich explizit an hoch motivierte Nachwuchswissenschaftler*innen, die eine unabhängige wissenschaftliche Karriere anstreben und eigene Forschungsideen abseits des Forschungsthemas ihres Supervisors verwirklichen möchten.

Die Schering Stiftung und die Fritz Thyssen Stiftung ermöglichen Forschungsvorhaben junger Wissenschaftler*innen, die mit den vorhandenen Mitteln und Ressourcen nicht umgesetzt werden können und für die mangels Vorarbeiten noch keine anderweitige Finanzierung beantragt werden kann. Die Anschubfinanzierung schafft damit die Voraussetzung für eine anschließende mehrjährige Drittmittelförderung.

Die Schering Stiftung und die Fritz Thyssen Stiftung stellen für dieses Förderprogramm Mittel i.H.v. insgesamt 120.000 € zur Verfügung. Pro Projekt können bis zu 60.000 € beantragt werden.

Weiterlesen

Downloads 

Ausschreibungsinfos

Datei laden

Bewerbungsformular

Datei laden

Hinweise zur 6-Jahres-Promotionsfrist

Datei laden

Young Investigator Fund 

Nachwuchsförderung — Reihe

Anschubfinanzierung für Forschungsvorhaben junger Wissenschaftler*innen in der biochemischen, neurowissenschaftlichen oder immunologischen Grundlagenforschung.

Mehr erfahren

Partner 

Fritz Thyssen Stiftung

Stipendiat*innen 

Sebastian Balbach studierte Chemie und Medizin an der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster und promovierte in beiden Fächern am Max-Planck-Institut für molekulare Biomedizin bei Prof. Hans Schöler. Mit einem Postdoc-Fellowship der Deutschen Krebshilfe kam er in das Labor von Prof. Stuart Orkin an der Harvard Medical School in Boston, USA. Jetzt ist er als Arzt in der Kinderonkologie bei Prof. Claudia Rössig an der Uniklinik Münster tätig und leitet zudem ein Forschungsprojekt zu neuen Behandlungsmethoden für Kinder mit Krebs, welches durch den Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas der Schering Stiftung und der Fritz Thyssen gefördert wird. Weitere Informationen zum Forschungsprojekt finden Sie hier.

Schliessen

Sofia-Iris Bibli, geboren in Griechenland, erwarb ihren MSc in Pharmakologie (2013) und ihren PhD mit Auszeichnung in Molekularer Pharmakologie (2016) an der Universität Athen. Nach Abschluss ihrer Promotion wurde sie von der Europäischen Gesellschaft für Kardiologie für zwei Postdoc-Fellowships (ESC Basic Research Fellowship 2016 und Research Grant 2016) nominiert und wechselte als Postdoc an das Institute for Vascular Signalling an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt unter der Leitung von Prof. Ingrid Fleming. Ihr aktuelles Forschungsprojekt zielt darauf ab, die Rolle von Cystathionin-γ-Lyase-abgeleitetem Schwefelwasserstoff in der Homöostase von Endothelzellen in Gesundheit und Krankheit aufzuklären. Die Schering Stiftung und die Fritz Thyssen Stiftung fördern das Projekt im Rahmen des Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas. Weitere Informationen zum Forschungsprojekt finden Sie hier.

Schliessen

Dr. Ayelén González Montoro

Nachwuchsgruppenleiterin an der Universität Osnabrück

Boost - Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas 2018

Ayelén González Montoro ist Nachwuchsgruppenleiterin am Institut für Biologie/Chemie der Universität Osnabrück. Sie forscht im Bereich Zellbiologie, Biochmie und Genetik zu Organellen, Membranen und Intrazellulärem Transport.
Ayelén González Montoro promovierte in Córdoba, Argentinien. Mit einem Postdoc-Fellowship der European Molecular Biology Organization kam sie in das Labor von Dr. Christian Ungermann an der Universität Osnabrück. Hier studiert sie Strukturen, die es verschiedenen spezialisierten Zellregionen ermöglichen, miteinander zu kommunizieren. Dieses Forschungsprojekt wurde von der Schering Stiftung und der Fritz Thyssen Stiftung im Rahmen des Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas gefördert. Weitere Informationen zum Projekt finden Sie hier.

Schliessen

Laleh Haghverdi studierte Physik an der Sharif-Universität für Technologie in Teheran, Iran, und an der Universität Köln und promovierte in Mathematik an der TU München. Von 2016 bis 2017 hatte sie eine Postdoc-Stelle am European Bioinformatics Institute, Cambridge, UK. Seit September 2017 ist Laleh Haghverdi als Postdoc am European Molecular Biology Laboratory in Heidelberg tätig.
Die Schering Stiftung und die Fritz Thyssen Stiftung fördern im Rahmen des Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas ein Forschungsprojekt von Laleh Haghverdi, weitere Informationen zum Projekt finden Sie hier.

Schliessen

Cordelia Imig forscht als Neurowissenschaftlerin am Max-Planck-Institut für Experimentelle Medizin in Göttingen. Sie studierte Biologie und absolvierte anschließend den internationalen Studiengang „Neurowissenschaften“ in Göttingen. Sie promovierte 2013 am MPI für experimentelle Medizin bei Nils Brose. Die Schering Stiftung und die Fritz Thyssen Stiftung fördern im Rahmen des Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas ein Forschungsprojekt von Cordelia Emig, weitere Informationen zum Projekt finden Sie hier.

Schliessen

Simone Mader promovierte in Neurowissenschaften an der Medizinischen Universität Innsbruck, Österreich, um anschließend ihre Forschungsarbeit ab 2012 als Postdoc in der Gruppe von Dr. Betty Diamond am Feinstein Institute for Medical Research in New York fortzusetzen. Dort erhielt sie u.a. ein Postdoc-Fellowship von der S.L.E. Lupus Foundation und wurde 2017 zum Instructor befördert. Seit ihrer Rückkehr nach Europa im Juni 2018 ist sie an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München in der Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Dr. Edgar Meinl am Institut für Klinische Neuroimmunologie tätig. Die Schering Stiftung und die Fritz Thyssen Stiftung fördern im Rahmen des Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas ein Forschungsprojekt von Simone Mader, weitere Informationen zum Projekt finden Sie hier.

Schliessen

Konstantin Sparrer ist Nachwuchsgruppenleiter des Institut für Molekulare Virologie an der Universität Ulm. Er forscht im Bereich der Immunologie, Virologie und molekularen Biologie zu Innate Immunity, Autophagie und RNA Viren.
Konstantin Sparrer erwarb seinen Master-Abschluss in Biochemie an der Ludwig-Maximilans-Universität München und promovierte in molekularer Virologie im Labor von Prof. Karl-Klaus Conzelmann. Anschließend war er als Postdoc in der Gruppe von Prof. Michaela Gack tätig, zuerst an der Harvard Medical School und dann an der University of Chicago. Im Januar 2018 kehrte er nach Deutschland zurück und ist derzeit Junior Group Leader an dem von Prof. Dr. Frank Kirchhoff und Prof. Dr. Jan Münch geleiteten Institut für Molekulare Virologie an der Universität Ulm. Die Schering Stiftung und die Fritz Thyssen Stiftung fördern im Rahmen des Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas ein Forschungsprojekt von Konstantin Sparrer, weitere Informationen zum Projekt finden Sie hier.

Schliessen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram