Schering Stiftung

Project 

Photo: Gesine Born | Die Debatte

Photo: Gesine Born | Die Debatte

Photo: Gesine Born | Die Debatte

Photo: Gesine Born | Die Debatte

Geoengineering – Manipulating the Climate

The debate

Geoengineering – Manipulating the Climate

The debate

Date:

November 28, 2018, 6 p.m.

Venue:

Spreepalais
Anna-Louisa-Karsch-Str. 2, 10178 Berlin

Online-Debate at www.die-debatte.org

Join us for the discussion on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram!


Climate change keeps progressing. The most recent report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) warns that even a warming of an average 1.5 degrees Celsius would result in unstoppable climate changes in parts of the Earth. So what should we do? Besides conventional methods of reducing CO2 emissions, active technological interventions in the climate, so-called geoengineering, are also under discussion.

The idea of artificially manipulating the climate is not new. But how far has the technology really evolved? Is it ethical to experiment with our climate, or are there limits to research? What are the opportunities and risks of the various methods and approaches?

These and other questions around the topic of “Geoengineering – Manipulating the Climate” will be discussed by experts during “The Debate” on November 28, 2018, at 6 p.m., at the Spreepalais in Berlin.

Panelists include the physicist Prof. Dr. Andreas Oschlies from the Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research in Kiel, Jan Christoph Minx, PhD at the Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change and Lili Fuhr, Department Head Ecology and Sustainable Development at Heinrich Böll Stiftung. The event will be moderated by Christoph Koch (Stern) and Dr. Mai Thi Nguyen-Kim (freelance science journalist).

Read more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Podiumsdiskussion 

Geoengineering – das Klima manipulieren

Die Debatte

Geoengineering – das Klima manipulieren

Die Debatte

Termin:

28.11.2018, 18 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Spreepalais
Anna-Louisa-Karsch-Str. 2, 10178 Berlin

Online-Debatte auf www.die-debatte.org

Diskutieren Sie mit auf Twitter, Facebook und Instagram!


Der Klimawandel schreitet immer weiter voran. Der jüngste Bericht des Weltklimarats (IPCC) warnt: Bereits wenn sich der Globus auch nur um durchschnittlich 1,5 Grad Celsius erwärmt, werden in Teilen der Erde unaufhaltsame Klimaveränderungen in Gang gesetzt. Was also tun? Neben herkömmlichen Methoden zur Verringerung des CO2-Austoßes wird auch über einen aktiven technischen Eingriff in das Klima diskutiert, das sogenannte Geoengineering.

Die Idee, das Klima künstlich zu manipulieren ist nicht neu. Doch wie weit ist die technische Entwicklung tatsächlich? Und ist es überhaupt ethisch vertretbar mit unserem Klima zu experimentieren oder gibt es Grenzen für die Forschung? Welche Chancen und Risiken sind mit den einzelnen Methoden verbunden?

Diese und weitere Fragen rund um das Thema „Geoengineering – das Klima manipulieren“ diskutieren ExpertInnen bei “Die Debatte” am 28. November 2018, um 18 Uhr, im Spreepalais in Berlin.

Es diskutieren der Physiker Prof. Dr. Andreas Oschlies vom Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung in Kiel, Jan Christoph Minx, PhD am Mercator Research Institute on Global Commons and Climate Change und Lilli Fuhr, Leiterin der Abteilung für Ökologie und Nachhaltige Entwicklung der Heinrich Böll Stiftung. Christoph Koch (Stern) und Dr. Mai Thi Nguyen-Kim (freie Wissenschaftsjournalistin) moderieren die Veranstaltung.

Weiterlesen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

20.09.2018

Intelligenz

Schlau geboren oder schlau geworden?

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube