Schering Stiftung

Project 

Interdisciplinary Conference on “Body Images in Art and Science”

Interdisciplinary Conference on “Body Images in Art and Science”


On September 7-11, 2011, the Young Academy at the Berlin Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities and the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina held an interdisciplinary conference on “Body Images in Art and Science” at the Rondo Convention Center in Pontresina (Switzerland). The Schering Stiftung supported the conference as an interdisciplinary dialogue platform on body images in art and science.

 

The conference on “Body Images in Art and Science” aims to bring together insights from the various disciplines and to examine them in an interdisciplinary manner, in order to identify concrete discursive overlaps and possibilities for connection. By establishing a dialogue between art and science, it also seeks to foster productive conversations around the body images in both fields. Since the late 20th century, the body discourse has become a topic in many areas of research. It has virtually become a fashionable subject in the humanities and social sciences, and has recently also moved center stage in the cognitive and neurosciences. In the process, we can see a marked departure from Cartesian dualism and towards the notion that physical experience organizes our thinking and helps us develop our cognitive faculties as well as an awareness of self.

In addition to internationally renowned scientists from a variety of disciplines, speakers include famous personalities such as baritone Wolfgang Brendel, conductor Peter Gülke, writer Hans Pleschinski, actor Jens Wawrczeck and Harald Schmid, multiple European champion and Olympic medal winner in track and field. Initiated by the AG Klang(welten) of the YoungAcademy, the conference is organized and directed by PD Dr. Wolf Gerhard Schmidt (Catholic University of Eichstätt-Ingolstadt) and Dr. Simone Schütz-Bosbach (Max Planck Institute for Human Cognitive and Brain Sciences, Leipzig).

The Schering Stiftung sponsors the conference on “Body Images,” because it is a project that explores issues at the intersection of art and science and inspires an interdisciplinary dialogue.

The full conference program is available here.

For more information about the YoungAcademy, please click here.

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

Interdisziplinäre Tagung »Körperbilder in Kunst und Wissenschaft«

Interdisziplinäre Tagung »Körperbilder in Kunst und Wissenschaft«


Die Junge Akademie an der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Deutschen Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina veranstaltete vom 7. – 11. September 2011 im Kongresszentrum Rondo, Pontresina (Schweiz) eine interdisziplinäre Tagung zum Thema »Körperbilder in Kunst und Wissenschaft«. Die Schering Stiftung unterstützte die Tagung als Plattform des interdisziplinären Dialogs über Körpervorstellungen in Kunst und Wissenschaft

Ziel der Tagung »Körperbilder in Kunst und Wissenschaft« ist es, die Erkenntnisse der Einzeldisziplinen zusammenzuführen und interdisziplinär zu reflektieren, um auf diese Weise konkrete diskursive Überschneidungspunkte und Anschlussmöglichkeiten benennen zu können. Darüber hinaus soll an der Schnittstelle zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft ein Dialog etabliert werden, der die Körpervorstellungen beider Bereiche produktiv in Beziehung setzt. Der Körperdiskurs wird seit dem späten 20. Jahrhundert von vielen Forschungsbereichen thematisiert. Für die Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften ist er geradezu ›Modethema‹ geworden, und auch in den Kognitions- und Neurowissenschaften steht der Körper neuerdings im Fokus der Aufmerksamkeit. Dabei zeichnet sich eine deutliche Abkehr vom cartesianischen Dualismus, der Trennung von Geist und Körper, ab zugunsten der Auffassung, dass körperliche Erfahrung unser Denken organisiert und unsere Erkenntnisfähigkeit sowie das Bewusstsein unserer selbst ermöglicht.

Neben international renommierten Wissenschaftlern verschiedener Fachrichtungen referieren u.a. auch bekannte Persönlichkeiten wie der Bariton Wolfgang Brendel, der Dirigent Peter Gülke, der Schriftsteller Hans Pleschinski, der Schauspieler Jens Wawrczeck sowie der mehrfache Leichtathletik-Europameister und Olympia-Medaillengewinner Harald Schmid. Die von der AG Klang(welten) der Jungen Akademie initiierte Tagung wird von PD Dr. Wolf Gerhard Schmidt (Katholische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt) und Dr. Simone Schütz-Bosbach (Max-Planck-Institut für Kognitions- und Neurowissenschaften, Leipzig) organisiert und geleitet.

Die Schering Stiftung fördert die Tagung »Körperbilder« als ein Projekt, welches den Grenzbereich an der Schnittstelle von Kunst und Wissenschaft auslotet und zu einem Diskurs zwischen den Disziplinen anregt.

Das komplette Tagungsprogramm zur Information finden sie hier

Weitere Informationen zur Jungen Akademie finden Sie hier.

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram