Schering Stiftung

Project 

KLAS – Knowledge Link through Art and Science

Artist-in-Residence program at the Max Planck Institutes

KLAS – Knowledge Link through Art and Science

Artist-in-Residence program at the Max Planck Institutes

Date:

January 31, 2017

For more information see the project’s website: https://klas.mpikg.mpg.de/


The Max Planck Institutes of Molecular Plant Physiology and of Colloids and Interfaces have established the international artist-in-residence program “Knowledge Link through Art and Science” (KLAS) that brings two innovative artists to the Potsdam-Golm Science Park. From June 2017, the selected artists will work for two weeks each side by side with researchers from the host institutions in Potsdam-Golm and the University of Groningen.

The topic of the program is Synthetic Biology and hence the name, AESTHETIC get SYNTHETIC: Knowledge Link through Art and Science (KLAS). At the Potsdam-Golm Science Park several research groups from two Max Planck Institutes address this timely and innovative research field.

This innovative program will bring artists into these research groups. In doing so, it will build a strong link between science and society and will provide additional insight into the timely and highly debated research field of Synthetic Biology. Such art and science encounters are particularly powerful when they are able to bridge the gap between the fields, and may provide a fresh look into our daily tasks and working methodologies.

The program will take place in the Max Planck Campus in Potsdam-Golm. In a collaborative effort, four research groups of the Max Planck Institutes of Molecular Plant Physiology (MPIMP) and of Colloids and Interfaces (MPIKG) and the University Groningen (GBB) have joined the initiative and will host an artist:

Read more

KLAS@MPI

Exhibition — September 12 – October 12, 2018

KLAS artists-in-residence Otavio Schipper/Sergio Krakowski and Agnes Meyer-Brandis will present the works developed throughout their residency at the interface of Synthetic Biology.

Learn more

AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC

Workshop — November 27, 2017

The workshop is an opportunity to bring together scholars and practitioners to jointly discuss and reflect on contents, approaches and methodologies that draw the link between synthetic biology and artistic research.

Learn more

Artists-in-Residence

The decision for the participating artists has been made. Otavio Schipper/Sergio Krakowski and Agnes Meyer-Brandis.

Learn more

Partners 

KLAS is the first artist-in-residence program at a Max Planck Institute in the natural sciences, with the backing and funding of the Max Planck Society. It is made possible by the Schering Stiftung and supported by the UNESCO Chair in International Relations at the TU Dresden, the "Klangkunst" program of DeutschlandRadio Kultur, and Ars Electronica. The transdisciplinary project was implemented by Rodrigo Perez-Garcia (MPIKG/TU-Berlin), Caterina Benincasa (Polyhedra.eu), Arnau Horta (Independent Curator), Guillermo Santamaria (CienciaXLibre) and Katja Schulze (MPIKG).

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

KLAS – Knowledge Link through Art and Science

„Artist-in-Residence“-Programm an Max-Planck-Instituten

KLAS – Knowledge Link through Art and Science

„Artist-in-Residence“-Programm an Max-Planck-Instituten

Termin:

31.01.2017

Weitere Informationen auf der Website des Projekts: https://klas.mpikg.mpg.de/


Die Max-Planck-Institute für Molekulare Pflanzenphysiologie und Kolloid- und Grenzflächenforschung in Potsdam haben das „Artist-in-Residence“-Programm „Knowledge Link through Art and Science“, kurz KLAS, etabliert, das mithilfe eines internationalen Wettbewerbs zwei innovative KünstlerInnen in den Wissenschaftspark Potsdam-Golm bringt. Im Rahmen des Programms arbeiten die ausgewählten KünstlerInnen ab Juni 2017 für jeweils zwei Wochen Seite an Seite mit ForscherInnen der Gastinstitutionen in Golm und der Universität Groningen.

Das Thema des Programms, die „Synthetische Biologie“, spiegelt sich im Namen wieder: AESTHETIC get SYNTHETIC: Knowledge Link through Art and Science (KLAS). Die Synthetische Biologie ist eines der jüngsten und spannendsten Forschungsfelder im 21. Jahrhundert. Im Wissenschaftspark Potsdam-Golm beschäftigen sich mehrere Arbeitsgruppen aus zwei Max-Planck-Instituten mit diesem innovativen Wissenschaftsgebiet.

Das „Artist-in-Residence“-Programm bringt KünstlerInnen in die „Labore“ dieser Arbeitsgruppen und schlägt so eine Brücke zwischen Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft innerhalb des stark diskutierten Forschungsfeldes der synthetischen Biologie. Der direkte Austausch von KünstlerInnen und WissenschaftlerInnen bedeutet unweigerlich, die eigene Arbeit mit den Augen des Anderen zu sehen und in einen Austausch zu treten – Synthese im Sinne einer Verknüpfung.

Das Programm wird auf dem Max-Planck-Campus im Wissenschaftspark Potsdam-Golm durchgeführt.

Vier Arbeitsgruppen der Max-Planck-Institute für Molekulare Pflanzenphysiologie (MPIMP) und Kolloid- und Grenzflächenforschung (MPIKG) sowie der Universität Groningen, Groningen Biomolecular Sciences and Biotechnology Institute (GBB) sind Gastgeber:

Weiterlesen

KLAS@MPI

Ausstellung — 12.09. – 12.10.2018

Die KLAS-Künstler Otavio Schipper/Sergio Krakowski und Agnes Meyer-Brandis präsentieren die während ihrer Künstlerresidenz entstandenen Arbeiten an der Schnittstelle zur Synthetischen Biologie.

Mehr erfahren

AESTHETICS get SYNTHETIC

Workshop — 27.11.2017

Der Workshop bietet Forschern und Praktikern die Gelegenheit, gemeinsam über Inhalte, Ansätze und Methoden der Zusammenarbeit zwischen Synthetischer Biologie und künstlerischer Forschung zu diskutieren und reflektieren.

Mehr erfahren

Artists-in-Residence

Die Auswahl für das Residency-Programm ist auf die KünstlerInnen Otavio Schipper/Sergio Krakowski and Agnes Meyer-Brandis gefallen.

Mehr erfahren

Partner 

KLAS ist das erste von der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft getragene und mitfinanzierte “Artist-in-Residence“-Programm in einem naturwissenschaftlichen Max-Planck-Institut. Es wird von der Schering Stiftung ermöglicht und von dem UNESCO Chair in International Relations at the TU Dresden, der Sendung „Klangkunst“ vom DeutschlandRadio Kultur und Ars Electronica gefördert. Ins Leben gerufen wurde das interdisziplinäre Programm von Rodrigo Perez-Garcia (MPIKG/TU-Berlin), Caterina Benincasa (Polyhedra.eu), Arnau Horta (Unabhängiger Kurator), Guillermo Santamaria (CienciaXLibre) und Katja Schulze (MPIKG).

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram