Schering Stiftung

Project 

Tejal Shah, Video Still from Channel II, Between the Waves, Multi-Channel Video Installation, HD, TRT 88 min, 2012.

Tejal Shah, Video Still from Channel II, Between the Waves, Multi-Channel Video Installation, HD, TRT 88 min, 2012.
Photo: Courtesy the artist and Project 88, Mumbai.

Master-Symposium: On Nature, Race and Gender

The Next Society

Tejal Shah, Video Still from Channel II, Between the Waves, Multi-Channel Video Installation, HD, TRT 88 min, 2012.
Photo: Courtesy the artist and Project 88, Mumbai.

Master-Symposium: On Nature, Race and Gender

The Next Society

Date:

May 09 – May 11, 2017

Venue:

Institut Kunst Basel
Freilager-Platz 1
4023 Basel

More information is available here.


The symposium entitled “On Nature, Race and Gender – The politics of the contemporary debates around art, culture and research” will be held at the Institut Kunst in Basel. It aims on introducing some critical perspectives on the current political, economical and scientific situations. From the Trump election, to the new interest on activism and nature, we will go through current debates in the arts and their relation with science. The symposium takes place as part of the professorship “The Next Society,” which is dedicated to the sciences at the Institut Kunst in Basel. Appointees are visiting scholars from a variety of disciplines who present their work and collaborate with the art students on selected topics.

“The Next Society” Professorship

The professorship aims to rethink the society of the future – beyond the ideas traditionally provided by art history and art theory. By linking different ideas about research and a new understanding of form, development and cause in the sciences and arts, it wants to break down the functional division of the disciplines. The program strives to bring art closer to scientific topics and ideas and wants to build an ongoing relationship between the arts and the sciences. After all, the scientific debates on emotions and the brain, the role of genetics in human memory, the origins of the cosmos do not just concern scientists, but also artists. To achieve the program objectives and to intensify the dialogue between science and art, the professorship will be accompanied by seminars, days-with-a-scientist, days of science, and a public lecture series.

The Schering Stiftung supports “The Next Society” professorship, since it is convinced that the boundaries and barriers between the disciplines hamper both artistic and scientific research. It is only through curiosity and an openness beyond one’s own discipline that something new can emerge. “The Next Society” helps create new forms of communication and teaching that have the potential of serving as a model for other art academies.

Read more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

Tejal Shah, Video Still from Channel II, Between the Waves, Multi-Channel Video Installation, HD, TRT 88 min, 2012.

Tejal Shah, Video Still from Channel II, Between the Waves, Multi-Channel Video Installation, HD, TRT 88 min, 2012.
Foto: Courtesy the artist and Project 88, Mumbai.

Master-Symposium: On Nature, Race and Gender

The Next Society

Tejal Shah, Video Still from Channel II, Between the Waves, Multi-Channel Video Installation, HD, TRT 88 min, 2012.
Foto: Courtesy the artist and Project 88, Mumbai.

Master-Symposium: On Nature, Race and Gender

The Next Society

Termin:

09.05. – 11.05.2017

Veranstaltungsort:

Institut Kunst Basel
Freilager-Platz 1
4023 Basel

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie hier.


Am Institut Kunst in Basel findet das Symposium „On Nature, Race and Gender – The politics of the contemporary debates around art, culture and research“ statt. Das Symposium wird kritische Perspektiven auf die gegenwärtige politische, ökonomische und wissenschaftliche Lage vorstellen. Ausgehend von der Wahl Trumps und dem neu erwachten Interesse am Aktivismus sowie an der Natur, werden Fragen, mit denen sich KünstlerInnen aktuell auseinandersetzen, erarbeitet und mit den Wissenschaften in Beziehung gesetzt. Das Symposium wird im Rahmen des Lehrstuhls „The Next Society“ veranstaltet, der den Wissenschaften am Institut Kunst in Basel gewidmet ist. Der Lehrstuhl wird mit Gastwissenschaftlern besetzt, die sich und ihre Forschung vorstellen und gemeinsam mit den Kunststudierenden zu den jeweiligen Themenkomplexen arbeiten.

Der Lehrstuhl „The Next Society“

Ziel des Lehrstuhls ist es, die Gesellschaft der Zukunft neu zu denken – jenseits der herkömmlichen Vorstellungen aus Kunstgeschichte und Kunsttheorie. Unterschiedliche Vorstellungen von Forschung und ein neues Verständnis von Form, Entwicklung und Ursache in den Wissenschaften und den Künsten sollen zueinander in Beziehung gesetzt und die funktionale Trennung der Disziplinen aufgehoben werden. Das Programm strebt eine Annäherung an wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen und Ideen innerhalb des Bereichs der Künste an und möchte eine kontinuierliche Beziehung zwischen den Künsten und den Wissenschaften aufbauen. Denn die Forschungsdiskussionen über Emotionen und das Gehirn, über die Bedeutung der Genetik für die Erinnerung, über die Ursprünge des Kosmos – sie alle betreffen nicht nur Wissenschaftler sondern auch Künstler. Um die Ziele des Programms zu erreichen und den Austausch von Wissenschaft und Kunst zu intensivieren, werden im Rahmen des Lehrstuhls Seminare, Days-with-a-Scientist, Tage der Wissenschaft und eine öffentliche Vortragsreihe angeboten.

Die Schering Stiftung ermöglicht die Professur „The Next Society“ in der Überzeugung, dass Grenzen zwischen den Disziplinen sowohl künstlerische als auch wissenschaftliche Forschung behindern. In der Neugierde auf das Andere, mit offenem Blick über die eigene Disziplin hinaus, kann etwas Neues entstehen. Mit „The Next Society“ entstehen neue Kommunikations- und Lehrformen, die das Potenzial haben, als Vorbild für andere Kunsthochschulen zu dienen.

Weiterlesen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram