Schering Stiftung

Panel discussion 

Tomás Saraceno: Solitary semi-social mapping of EPIC 205071984 c by a solo Nephila senegalensis - two weeks and a quartet of Cyrtophora citricola - five weeks, Courtesy the artist's personal collection

Tomás Saraceno: Solitary semi-social mapping of EPIC 205071984 c by a solo Nephila senegalensis - two weeks and a quartet of Cyrtophora citricola - five weeks, Courtesy the artist's personal collection
Photo: Studio Tomás Saraceno, 2016

Tomás Saraceno: Hybrid solitary semi-social solitary Instrument Amalthea 0.498 built by: a solo Argiope anasuja - two weeks, a trio of Cyrtophora citricola - one week,  a solo Cyrtophora moluccensis - three weeks, and a solo Tegenaria domestica - ten weeks, Courtesy the artist's personal collection

Tomás Saraceno: Hybrid solitary semi-social solitary Instrument Amalthea 0.498 built by: a solo Argiope anasuja - two weeks, a trio of Cyrtophora citricola - one week, a solo Cyrtophora moluccensis - three weeks, and a solo Tegenaria domestica - ten weeks, Courtesy the artist's personal collection
Photo: Studio Tomás Saraceno, 2016

Tomás Saraceno and Guests

Hybrid Encounters. Art meets Science

Tomás Saraceno and Guests

Hybrid Encounters. Art meets Science

Date:

May 25, 2018, 7–9 p.m.

Venue:

Konzertsaal der UdK
Hardenbergstr. 33
10623 Berlin

Free Admission.

Talks are given in English language.


With “Hybrid Encounters”, the Hybrid Plattform and the Schering Foundation have created an event series that facilitates dialogue between the realms of art and science. Exceptional international guests from the worlds of art and science will be given a free hand in organizing each event, inviting important figures who are active as artists or researchers. For the second event in the series the Argentinean artist Tomás Saraceno has invited experts from the fields of bionics, biorobotics and biology to a discussion. The dialogue will be complemented by a so-called “Arachnid Jam Session” in which the musician David Rothenberg will perform with a spider.

Tomás Saraceno will speak with Professor Tim Landgraf, head of the BioRobotics Lab of the Freie Universität Berlin; Alex Jordan, PhD and head of the research group Mechanisms and Evolutionary Ecology of Social Interaction at the Max Planck Institute for Ornithology in Konstanz; and Prof. Ingo Rechenberg, a co-creator of evolutionary-biological algorithms in the engineering sciences.

In the course of the conversation the limitations of and points of intersection between nature and culture will be examined. Tomás Saraceno is interested in the question as to whether and how artificial intelligence and machine learning will in the future render differentiations in nature and culture obsolete. What consequences will the intersection of computer technology and biology have? Will it open up new possibilities for interspecies communication?

On this evening the musician David Rothenberg’s “Arachnid Jam Session” with a spider in its web will make it possible for guests to experience a fascinating form of interspecies communication beyond traditional boundaries by means of music.

Tomás Saraceno is among the most well-known international contemporary artists. His work often involves close collaboration with scientists. In his studio he maintains a so-called “Spider Lab”, which has allowed him to put together the world’s largest archive of spider webs. For years the artist has explored the construction of webs by social and quasi-social spider species. For some time he has also been studying the communication mechanisms of spiders. Since he began working as an artist Saraceno has developed a method that defies traditional boundaries. His works have been exhibited all over the world, including at the Venice Biennale, at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York and at the Hamburger Bahnhof in Berlin. In the fall a solo exhibition of his works will open at the Palais de Tokyo in Paris.

Tim Landgraf is professor for biorobotics and collective intelligence at the FU Berlin and head of the BioRobotics Lab at the Dahlem Center for Machine Learning and Robotics. He researches how the collective intelligence of social insects – for example in the cooperative construction of structures or the common search for food – can be utilized in artificial intelligence systems. As part of his research Tim Landgraf has developed a robot that can communicate with bees, thus making it possible to locate individual bees in a swarm.

Ingo Rechenberg is professor emeritus for bionics and evolutionary technology at the TU Berlin. He is co-creator of evolutionary-biological algorithms in the engineering sciences and studies the movement strategies of animals under extreme conditions. Research trips take him regularly to the Sahara, where in 2006 he discovered a spiders’ species that moves by rolling. He is currently constructing a robot that imitates this movement strategy.

Alex Jordan is head of a research group in the Collective Behaviour department of the Max Planck Institute for Ornithology and the University of Konstanz. He researches how social and sexual behaviour has evolved. He works with fish, insects and spiders and observes the effect of social hierarchies on the behaviour of the collective. The flow of information between social groups, the origins of specific behavioural patterns of species and the neurological basis of deviant forms of action are focuses of his research work.

David Rothenberg is a musician, composer and professor of philosophy and music at the New Jersey Institute of Technology. For quite some time he has been interested in the musical quality of animal sounds and has been composing pieces in collaboration with animals. Studies of the twittering of birds, whale songs and the chirping of grasshoppers and singing of cicadas form the basis of his most well-known books and musical productions.

Read more

Media library

Video — June 18, 2018

Videomitschnitt: Roboter & Spinnen

Hybrid Encounters

Go to video
Audio — June 08, 2018

Tomas Saraceno und Gäste

Audiomitschnitt

Go to audio

Partners 

The format »Hybrid Encounters« are organized and realized by Hybrid Plattform – a project platform of the Universität der Künste Berlin and the Technische Universität Berlin – and Ernst Schering Fondation.

Hybrid Plattform
Universität der Künste Berlin
Technische Universität Berlin

You might also be interested in

June 12, 2019

Hannah Monyer and Jens Harder

Hybrid Encounters. Art meets Science – Thinking in Pictures

November 24, 2017

Siobhan Davies and Arno Villringer

Hybrid Encounters. Art meets Science

October 18, 2018

Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht and DJ Westbam

Hybrid Encounters. Art meets Science

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Podiumsdiskussion 

Tomás Saraceno: Solitary semi-social mapping of EPIC 205071984 c by a solo Nephila senegalensis - two weeks and a quartet of Cyrtophora citricola - five weeks, Courtesy the artist's personal collection

Tomás Saraceno: Solitary semi-social mapping of EPIC 205071984 c by a solo Nephila senegalensis - two weeks and a quartet of Cyrtophora citricola - five weeks, Courtesy the artist's personal collection
Foto: Studio Tomás Saraceno, 2016

Tomás Saraceno: Hybrid solitary semi-social solitary Instrument Amalthea 0.498 built by: a solo Argiope anasuja - two weeks, a trio of Cyrtophora citricola - one week,  a solo Cyrtophora moluccensis - three weeks, and a solo Tegenaria domestica - ten weeks, Courtesy the artist's personal collection

Tomás Saraceno: Hybrid solitary semi-social solitary Instrument Amalthea 0.498 built by: a solo Argiope anasuja - two weeks, a trio of Cyrtophora citricola - one week, a solo Cyrtophora moluccensis - three weeks, and a solo Tegenaria domestica - ten weeks, Courtesy the artist's personal collection
Foto: Studio Tomás Saraceno, 2016

Tomás Saraceno und Gäste

Hybrid Encounters. Kunst trifft Wissenschaft

Tomás Saraceno und Gäste

Hybrid Encounters. Kunst trifft Wissenschaft

Termin:

25.05.2018, 19–21 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Konzertsaal der UdK
Hardenbergstr. 33
10623 Berlin

Eintritt frei.

Der Abend findet in englischer Sprache statt.


Die Hybrid Plattform und die Schering Stiftung haben mit den »Hybrid Encounters« eine Veranstaltungsreihe ins Leben gerufen, die Kunst und Wissenschaft in den Dialog bringt. Hochkarätige, internationale Gäste aus Kunst und Wissenschaft erhalten eine carte blanche für die Gestaltung des Abends und laden Persönlichkeiten ein, die komplementär zum eigenen Hintergrund künstlerisch oder wissenschaftlich tätig sind. In der zweiten Ausgabe lädt der argentinische Künstler Tomás Saraceno Experten aus der Bionik, Biorobotik und Biologie zum Gespräch. Die Diskussion wird ergänzt um eine »Arachnid Jam Session«, eine Performance des Musikers David Rothenberg mit einer Spinne.

Tomás Saraceno wird mit Prof. Dr. Tim Landgraf, Leiter des BioRobotics-Lab an der Freien Universität Berlin, Alex Jordan, PhD, Leiter der Arbeitsgruppe Mechanismen und evolutionäre Ökologie sozialer Interaktion am Max-Planck-Institut für Ornithologie in Konstanz und Prof. em. Dr. Ingo Rechenberg, einem Mitbegründer des Einsatzes von evolutionsbiologischen Algorithmen in den Ingenieurswissenschaften diskutieren.

Im Gespräch sollen die Grenzen und Übergänge zwischen Natur und Kultur erörtert werden. Tomás Saraceno interessiert die Frage, ob und wie künstliche Intelligenz und Maschinenlernen die Differenzierungen in Natur und Kultur zukünftig obsolet werden lassen. Welche Konsequenzen bringt der Einzug der Informatik in die Biologie mit sich? Eröffnet dieser neue Möglichkeiten einer artenübergreifenden Kommunikation?

Die »Arachnid Jam Session« des Musikers David Rothenberg mit einer Spinne in ihrem Netz wird an diesem Abend auf faszinierende Weise die artenübergreifende Kommunikation mit Hilfe von Musik und jenseits traditioneller Grenzen erlebbar machen.

Tomás Saraceno zählt zu den international bekanntesten zeitgenössischen Künstlern. Sein Schaffen ist geprägt von einer engen Zusammenarbeit mit WissenschaftlerInnen. In seinem Studio unterhält er ein sogenanntes »Spider Lab«, mit dem er das weltweit größte Spinnwebenarchiv aufgebaut hat. Seit Jahren setzt sich der Künstler mit dem Netzbau sozialer und quasisozialer Spinnenarten auseinander. Zudem untersucht er seit einiger Zeit die Kommunikationsmechanismen von Spinnen. Seit Beginn seines künstlerischen Schaffens hat Saraceno eine Praxis entwickelt, die jenseits traditioneller Grenzen verläuft. Seine Werke wurden weltweit ausgestellt, unter anderem auf der Biennale in Venedig, im Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York oder im Hamburger Bahnhof in Berlin. Im Herbst eröffnet er eine Einzelausstellung im Palais de Tokyo in Paris.

Tim Landgraf ist Professor für Biorobotik und Schwarmintelligenz an der FU Berlin und Leiter des BioRobotics-Labs am Dahlem Center for Machine Learning and Robotics. Er erforscht, wie man das Schwarmverhalten von sozialen Insekten, z.B. beim kooperativen Bau von Strukturen oder der gemeinsamen Futtersuche, in Systeme der künstlichen Intelligenz übertragen kann. Im Zuge dieser Forschung hat Tim Landgraf einen Roboter entwickelt, der mit Bienen kommunizieren kann und damit eine Ortung einzelner Bienen im Schwarm ermöglicht.

Ingo Rechenberg ist Professor Emeritus für Bionik und Evolutionstechnik an der TU Berlin. Er ist Mitbegründer von evolutionsbiologischen Algorithmen in den Ingenieurswissenschaften und untersucht die Bewegungsstrategien von Tieren unter Extrembedingungen. Forschungsreisen führen ihn regelmäßig in die Sahara, wo er 2006 eine Spinnenart entdeckte, die sich rollend fortbewegt. Aktuell baut er einen Roboter, der diese Bewegungsstrategie imitiert.

Alex Jordan ist Arbeitsgruppenleiter in der Abteilung »Collective Behaviour« am Max-Planck-Institut für Ornithologie und der Universität Konstanz. Er untersucht wie sich Sozial- und Sexualverhalten evolutionär entwickelt hat. Er arbeitet mit Fischen, Insekten und Spinnen und beobachtet den Effekt von sozialen Hierarchien auf das Verhalten des Kollektivs. Der Informationsfluss zwischen sozialen Gruppen, die Ursprünge von bestimmten Verhaltensmustern der Arten und die neurologische Grundlage für abweichende Formen des Agierens stehen im Zentrum seiner Untersuchungen.

David Rothenberg ist Musiker, Komponist und Professor für Philosophie und Musik am New Jersey Institute of Technology. Er interessiert sich seit langem für die musikalische Qualität von Tierlauten und komponiert Stücke, in denen er zusammen mit Tieren musiziert. Untersuchungen von Vogelgezwitscher, Walgesängen, dem Zirpen der Grillen und Singen der Zikaden bilden die Grundlage seiner bekanntesten Bücher und Musikproduktionen.

Weiterlesen

Mediathek

Video — 18.06.2018

Videomitschnitt: Roboter & Spinnen

Hybrid Encounters

Zum Video
Audio — 08.06.2018

Tomas Saraceno und Gäste

Audiomitschnitt

Zum Audio

Partner 

Konzipiert und durchgeführt werden die »Hybrid Encounters« durch die Hybrid Plattform – eine gemeinsame Einrichtung der Universität der Künste Berlin und der Technischen Universität Berlin – und die Schering Stiftung.

Hybrid Plattform
Universität der Künste Berlin
Technische Universität Berlin

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

24.11.2017

Siobhan Davies und Arno Villringer

Hybrid Encounters. Kunst trifft Wissenschaft

18.10.2018

Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht und DJ Westbam

Hybrid Encounters. Kunst trifft Wissenschaft

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube