Schering Stiftung

Panel discussion 

Kunst trifft Wissenschaft – Stimmungen/ Schwingungen

Kunst trifft Wissenschaft – Stimmungen/ Schwingungen

Westbam

Westbam
Photo: Oleg Babenko

Prof. Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht im Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin

Prof. Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht im Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin
Photo: Reno Klar

Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht and DJ Westbam

Hybrid Encounters. Art meets Science

Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht and DJ Westbam

Hybrid Encounters. Art meets Science

Date:

October 18 – October 18, 2018, 7–9 p.m.

Venue:

Georg-Neumann Saal
Einsteinufer 43 -53
10587 Berlin

Free Admission.

Talks are given in English language.


The bringing together of a literary theorist and a DJ may seem like a daring experiment. The renowned literary theorist and specialist in comparative literature Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht (Professor Emeritus, Stanford University) is known for his critical-philosophical writings on political and social reality; the DJ and musician Westbam is regarded as a founding instance of the German Techno scene. But both have one thing in common: they respond to moods and atmospheres.

But what does “mood” mean for each of the respective disciplines and how can a mood be steered and musically or intellectually reflected? How important are correct intuition and having an “antenna” in society? How do underground phenomena manage to reach a mass audience?

These and other questions will be addressed in the discussion. During the event, Westbam will play a set and comment upon the musical selection in the form of a performance lecture.

This is already the third event to be put on as part of the “Hybrid Encounters” series. Launched by the Hybrid Platform (an initiative of the Technische Universität Berlin and the Berlin University of the Arts) in cooperation with the Schering Foundation, the series brings art and science into dialogue. In it, eminent international guests meet personalities who, in addition to their own background, conduct research or are artistically active.

Read more

Flyer 

Hybrid Encounters

Moods/Vibes

Download File

Im Gespräch 

Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht is a German-American literary theorist, essayist and critic. Apart from his research on the literature of the Romance languages, he has written on the history of the humanities, philosophy and aesthetics. His spectrum of topics is vast: he deals both with topics in politics and the humanities and with figures from popular culture. For many years, he was the author of a blog for the website of the Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung, in which he commented on social issues. His publications have been translated into more than 20 languages, he has received honorary doctorates from numerous universities, and he has been a guest professor at institutions of higher learning in Germany, France and Canada. Up until his very recent retirement, he held the Chair in Comparative Literature at Stanford University.

Close

Westbam is one of the pioneers of electronic music in Germany. In the mid-1980s, he co-founded the German Techno label Low Spirit, and he was one of the initiators of both the Mayday indoor-rave and the Love Parade in Berlin. Maximilian Lenz, as he is known in civilian life, substantially contributed to Techno becoming a mass phenomenon. Today, some 30 years later, he is still filling concert halls all around the world. In 2015 he published an autobiography about his life as a DJ.

Close

Partners 

The format »Hybrid Encounters« are organized and realized by Hybrid Plattform – a project platform of the Universität der Künste Berlin and the Technische Universität Berlin – and Ernst Schering Fondation.

Hybrid Plattform
Universität der Künste Berlin
Technische Universität Berlin

You might also be interested in

May 25, 2018

Tomás Saraceno and Guests

Hybrid Encounters. Art meets Science

November 24, 2017

Siobhan Davies and Arno Villringer

Hybrid Encounters. Art meets Science

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Follow us!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube

Schering Stiftung

Podiumsdiskussion 

Kunst trifft Wissenschaft – Stimmungen/ Schwingungen

Kunst trifft Wissenschaft – Stimmungen/ Schwingungen

Westbam

Westbam
Foto: Oleg Babenko

Prof. Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht im Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin

Prof. Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht im Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin
Foto: Reno Klar

Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht und DJ Westbam

Hybrid Encounters. Kunst trifft Wissenschaft

Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht und DJ Westbam

Hybrid Encounters. Kunst trifft Wissenschaft

Termin:

18.10. – 18.10.2018, 19–21 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Georg-Neumann Saal
Einsteinufer 43 -53
10587 Berlin

Eintritt frei.

Der Abend findet in englischer Sprache statt.


Die Zusammenkunft eines Literaturwissenschaftlers und eines DJs mag als gewagtes Experiment erscheinen. Der renommierte Literaturwissenschaftler und Komparatist Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht (Prof. em, Stanford University) ist bekannt für seine kritisch-philosophischen Beiträge zur politischen und sozialen Realität, der Musiker und DJ Westbam gilt als Gründungsinstanz der Technoszene in Deutschland. Doch beide haben eines gemeinsam: Sie reagieren auf Stimmungen und Atmosphären.

Was aber bedeutet „Stimmung“ für die jeweilige Disziplin und wie lässt sie sich steuern und musikalisch oder intellektuell reflektieren? Wie wichtig sind das richtige Gespür und eine „Antenne“ in die Gesellschaft? Wie schaffen es Underground-Phänomene ein Massenpublikum zu erreichen?

Diese und weitere Fragen werden im Gespräch diskutiert. Während der Veranstaltung wird Westbam ein Set spielen und die Musikauswahl in Form einer Performance Lecture kommentieren.

Die Hybrid Plattform und die Schering Stiftung haben mit den »Hybrid Encounters« eine Veranstaltungsreihe ins Leben gerufen, die Kunst und Wissenschaft in den Dialog bringt. Hochkarätige, internationale Gäste aus Kunst und Wissenschaft erhalten eine carte blanche für die Gestaltung des Abends und laden Persönlichkeiten ein, die komplementär zum eigenen Hintergrund künstlerisch oder wissenschaftlich tätig sind.

Weiterlesen

Flyer 

Hybrid Encounters

Stimmungen/ Schwingungen

Datei laden

Im Gespräch 

Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht ist ein deutsch-amerikanischer Literaturwissenschaftler, Essayist und Kritiker. Neben seiner Forschung zur romanischen Literatur verfasst er Beiträge zur Geschichte der Geisteswissenschaften, Philosophie und Ästhetik. Sein Themenspektrum ist weit gefasst: er beschäftigt sich sowohl mit politischen oder geisteswissenschaftlichen Themen als auch mit Figuren aus der Populärkultur, darunter Janis Joplin. Er war lange Zeit Autor eines Blogs für die Webseite der Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung, in dem er gesellschaftliche Themen kommentierte. Seine Publikationen wurden in über 20 Sprachen übersetzt, er erhielt Ehrendoktorwürden von zahlreichen Universitäten und ist Gastprofessor an Hochschulen in Deutschland, Frankreich und Kanada. Er hatte bis zu seiner Emeritierung den Lehrstuhl für Komparatistik an der Stanford University inne.

Schliessen

WestBam ist einer der Wegbereiter der elektronischen Musik in Deutschland. Er war Mitte der achtziger Jahre Mitbegründer des deutschen Techno-Labels Low Spirit in Berlin, und einer der InitiatorInnen des Indoor-Rave Mayday sowie der Loveparade in Berlin. Maximilian Lenz, wie Westbam mit bürgerlichem Namen heißt, trug maßgeblich dazu bei, dass Techno zum Massenphänomen avancierte. Heute, 30 Jahre später, füllt er immer noch Konzerthallen auf der ganzen Welt. 2015 veröffentlichte er seine Autobiografie über das Leben als DJ.

Schliessen

Partner 

Konzipiert und durchgeführt werden die »Hybrid Encounters« durch die Hybrid Plattform – eine gemeinsame Einrichtung der Universität der Künste Berlin und der Technischen Universität Berlin – und die Schering Stiftung.

Hybrid Plattform
Universität der Künste Berlin
Technische Universität Berlin

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

25.05.2018

Tomás Saraceno und Gäste

Hybrid Encounters. Kunst trifft Wissenschaft

24.11.2017

Siobhan Davies und Arno Villringer

Hybrid Encounters. Kunst trifft Wissenschaft

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube