Schering Stiftung

Panel discussion 

Siobhan Davies and Arno Villringer

Hybrid Encounters. Art meets Science

Siobhan Davies and Arno Villringer

Hybrid Encounters. Art meets Science

Date:

November 24, 2017, 7–9 p.m.

Venue:

UdK-Probensaal
Bundesallee 1-12
10719 Berlin

Performance & talk (in English).

Free Admission.


With “Hybrid Encounters”, the Hybrid Plattform and the Schering Foundation begin a new series of events devoted to the dialogue between art and science in hybrid forms of presentation. Eminent international guests from the arts and sciences get a carte blanche to organise an evening event with a Berlin personality who is either artistically or scientifically active in a way that is complementary to their own background.

The opening event is organised by the choreographer and dancer Siobhan Davies and the neurologist Arno Villringer. They inquire the interaction between body and brain, the embodied knowledge and the emotional effects of neuronal functions. Dance has benefi­cial effects on our brain. How can neuroscientists and dancers cooperate in exploring the complex mental coordination that dance requires. How does dance activate our body awareness? Is dance the earliest non-verbal language?

The starting point for the evening is the performance “Figuring” by Siobhan Davies and Helka Kaski. They present three choreographic situations in which the focus is on their own embodied archives of knowledge and the ‘gestural language’ that is inherent to the latter. This will be followed by an exchange between Siobhan Davies and Arno Villringer.

Siobhan Davies, one of Great Britain’s most influential choreographers, is herself a crosser of borders. Trained as an artist, she first worked as a dancer and in 1988, she founded her own dance company, Siobhan Davies Dance. Today, she is active not only as choreographer, but also as visual artist and her dance performances, for instance, also take place in art exhibits sometimes. They are distinguished by the wide repertoire of artistic and interdisciplinary approaches used to tear down the border between stage and public. Her works have been shown in, among others, the Barbican Centre and the Victoria Miro Gallery (London), the Kunstbau im Lehnbachhaus (Munich), and the Leopold Museum (Vienna).

Prof. Dr Arno Villringer is Member of the Board of Directors of the Max Planck Institute for Human Cognitive and Brain Sciences in Leipzig and speaker at the Berlin School of Mind and Brain. Due to his international reputation as an expert on issues surrounding strokes, it can sometimes be overlooked that he also has an eye on the emotional element of our cognitive and neurological actions. Thus his research topics include the interaction between music and strong emotions (“Blame it on the bossa nova: Transfer of perceived sexiness from music to touch” and “The Band Effect – Physically strenuous music making increases aesthetic appreciation of music”). He also considers the neural processing of emotions in terms of physical properties, as well as analyses of eating habits.

Read more

Partners 

The format »Hybrid Encounters« are organized and realized by Hybrid Plattform – a project platform of the Universität der Künste Berlin and the Technische Universität Berlin – and Ernst Schering Fondation.

Hybrid Plattform
Universität der Künste Berlin
Technische Universität Berlin

You might also be interested in

May 25, 2018

Tomás Saraceno and Guests

Hybrid Encounters. Art meets Science

October 18, 2018

Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht and DJ Westbam

Hybrid Encounters. Art meets Science

June 12, 2019

Hannah Monyer and Jens Harder

Hybrid Encounters. Art meets Science – Thinking in Pictures

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Podiumsdiskussion 

Siobhan Davies und Arno Villringer

Hybrid Encounters. Kunst trifft Wissenschaft

Siobhan Davies und Arno Villringer

Hybrid Encounters. Kunst trifft Wissenschaft

Termin:

24.11.2017, 19–21 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

UdK-Probensaal
Bundesallee 1-12
10719 Berlin

Eintritt frei.

Der Abend findet in englischer Sprache statt.


Die Hybrid Plattform und die Schering Stiftung starten mit »Hybrid Encounters« eine neue Veranstaltungsreihe zum Dialog zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft in hybriden Darstellungsformen: Hochkarätige, internationale Gäste aus Kunst und Wissenschaft erhalten eine carte blanche für die Gestaltung eines Abends mit einer Berliner Persönlichkeit, die komplementär zu ihrem eigenen Hintergrund entweder künstlerisch oder wissenschaftlich tätig ist.

Den Auftakt gestalten die Choreografin und Tänzerin Siobhan Davies und der Neurologe Arno Villringer. Sie fragen nach dem Zusammenspiel von Körper und Gehirn, nach verkörpertem Wissen und den emotionalen Auswirkungen neuronaler Funktionen. Tanz hat förderliche Auswirkungen auf unser Gehirn. Wie können Neurowissenschaftler und Tänzer beim Erforschen von Tanz kooperieren und dessen komplexe geistig-körperliche Koordination adressieren? Wie aktiviert Tanz unser körperliches Bewusstsein? Ist Tanz die ursprünglichste non-verbale Sprache?

Ausgangspunkt des Abends ist die Performance »Figuring« von Siobhan Davies und Helka Kaski. Sie präsentieren drei choreographische Situationen, in denen ihre eigenen, im Körper gespeicherten Wissensarchive (embodied archives) und deren inhärente ›Sprache der Gesten‹ im Mittelpunkt stehen. Es folgt ein Gespräch zwischen Siobhan Davies und Arno Villringer.

Siobhan Davies, die zu den einflussreichsten Choreografinnen Großbritanniens gehört, ist selbst Grenzgängerin. Als studierte Künstlerin, arbeitete sie zunächst als Tänzerin und gründete 1988 ihre eigene Tanzcompagnie Siobhan Davies Dance. Heute ist sie nicht nur als Choreografin sondern auch als bildende Künstlerin tätig und ihre Tanzaufführungen finden auch schon mal in Kunstausstellungen statt. Ihre Arbeiten zeichnen sich durch ein weites Repertoire an künstlerischen und interdisziplinären Ansätzen aus, mit dem Ziel, die Grenzen zwischen Bühne und Publikum einzureißen. Die Werke von Siobhan Davies wurden u. a. im Barbican Centre und in der Victoria Miro Gallery (London), im Kunstbau im Lehnbachhaus (München) und im Leopold Museum (Wien) gezeigt.

Prof. Dr. Arno Villringer ist Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Kognitions- und Neurowissenschaften in Leipzig und Sprecher der Berlin School of Mind and Brain. Sein internationaler Ruf als Experte für Sachverhalte rund um Schlaganfälle lässt manchmal übersehen, dass er auch die emotionale Komponente unserer kognitiven und neurologischen Aktionen im Auge hat. So beinhaltet seine Forschung die Wechselwirkung von Musik und starken Emotionen (»Schuld war nur der Bossa Nova: Wie Musik unsere Wahrnehmung von Berührung verändert« und »Band-Effekt: mehr Einsatz, mehr musikalischer Genuss«). Und auch die neurale Verarbeitung von Emotionen nach physischen Eigenschaften wird von ihm betrachtet ebenso wie die Analysen von Essverhalten.

Weiterlesen

Partner 

Konzipiert und durchgeführt werden die »Hybrid Encounters« durch die Hybrid Plattform – eine gemeinsame Einrichtung der Universität der Künste Berlin und der Technischen Universität Berlin – und die Schering Stiftung.

Hybrid Plattform
Universität der Künste Berlin
Technische Universität Berlin

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

25.05.2018

Tomás Saraceno und Gäste

Hybrid Encounters. Kunst trifft Wissenschaft

18.10.2018

Hans Ulrich Gumbrecht und DJ Westbam

Hybrid Encounters. Kunst trifft Wissenschaft

12.06.2019

Hannah Monyer und Jens Harder

Hybrid Encounters. Kunst trifft Wissenschaft – Denken in Bildern

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram