Schering Stiftung

Panel discussion 

Photo: By www.maxpixel.net under Creative Commons Zero - CC0.

Becoming Human: Human Consciousness and AI

A Transboundary Relationship?

Photo: By www.maxpixel.net under Creative Commons Zero - CC0.

Becoming Human: Human Consciousness and AI

A Transboundary Relationship?

In light of developments in the field of artificial intelligence (AI), the question of what defines human consciousness is gaining relevance. What distinguishes AI from human intelligence? Can a self-learning system develop consciousness? Do we learn new things about being human when we interact with machines, and what ethical questions does this raise?

The audience is warmly invited to discuss these and other questions, in the format of a fishbowl discussion, with artist Damjanski, brain researcher John-Dylan Haynes and philosopher Karen Joisten.

The event is a part of the Brain Awareness Week Berlin 2022.

 

Gallery

Becoming Human: Human Consciousness and AI, March 15, 2022, at Leibniz-Saal, BBAW
Becoming Human: Human Consciousness and AI, March 15, 2022, at Leibniz-Saal, BBAW
Becoming Human: Human Consciousness and AI, March 15, 2022, at Leibniz-Saal, BBAW
Becoming Human: Human Consciousness and AI, March 15, 2022, at Leibniz-Saal, BBAW
Becoming Human: Human Consciousness and AI, March 15, 2022, at Leibniz-Saal, BBAW
Becoming Human: Human Consciousness and AI, March 15, 2022, at Leibniz-Saal, BBAW
Becoming Human: Human Consciousness and AI, March 15, 2022, at Leibniz-Saal, BBAW
Becoming Human: Human Consciousness and AI, March 15, 2022, at Leibniz-Saal, BBAW
Becoming Human: Human Consciousness and AI, March 15, 2022, at Leibniz-Saal, BBAW
Becoming Human: Human Consciousness and AI, March 15, 2022, at Leibniz-Saal, BBAW
Becoming Human: Human Consciousness and AI, March 15, 2022, at Leibniz-Saal, BBAW
Becoming Human: Human Consciousness and AI, March 15, 2022, at Leibniz-Saal, BBAW
Becoming Human: Human Consciousness and AI, March 15, 2022, at Leibniz-Saal, BBAW
Becoming Human: Human Consciousness and AI, March 15, 2022, at Leibniz-Saal, BBAW
Becoming Human: Human Consciousness and AI, March 15, 2022, at Leibniz-Saal, BBAW

Gallery Becoming Human

Human Consciousness and AI

Visit the media library

Program 

Overview of all for events

Download File

Speakers 

Damjanski is a Yugoslavian artist living in a browser. Concerned with themes of power, poetry and participation, he investigates black box approaches in our everyday lives. He is a co-founder and member of the incubation collective Do Something Good. In 2018, he co-founded MoMAR, a gallery concept aimed at democratizing physical exhibition spaces, art institutions and curatorial processes within New York’s Museum of Modern Art. His work has appeared internationally, including exhibitions at NRW-Forum, König Galerie, Roehrs & Boetsch, Pioneer Works, Tropez, Import Projects, MoCDA and MoMAR @ MoMA New York.

Close

John-Dylan Haynes has been Professor of Theory and Analysis of Large-Scale Brain Signaling at the Bernstein Center for Computational Neuroscience at Charité Berlin since 2006. Since 2009, he has been director of the Berlin Center for Advanced Neuroimaging, and since 2018, he has been head of the Master's program Mind and Brain at HU Berlin. He studied psychology at the University of Bremen from 1992 to 1997, where he received his PhD on neural correlates of visual consciousness. After research stays in Magdeburg, Plymouth and London, he became head of a research group at the Max Planck Institute for Human Cognitive and Brain Sciences in Leipzig in 2005. His research focuses on the question of whether thoughts can be read out and predicted from brain activity. The focus is not only on the further development of machine decoding methods for reading out consciousness content, but also on the question of the technical and ethical limits of this research. Other research interests include consciousness, intentions, free will, and intelligence. In addition to over 100 articles in peer-reviewed journals, Haynes' research has been repeatedly reported in international media (including CNN, National Geographic, CBS, BBC, Guardian, NZZ, Spiegel, and DIE ZEIT).

Close

Karen Joisten has been Professor of Philosophy at the Technical University of Kaiserslautern since 2018. Since 2020, she has been spokesperson for the potential area CEDIS (Center for Ethics and the Digital Society) and subject leader of the certificate program Technoethics at DISC (Distance and Independent Studies Center) at the University of Kaiserslautern. The program was named the Outstanding and Innovative Program of the Year 2021 by the German Association of Distance Learning Providers. She is, among other things, head of the Narrative Ethics Research Group as well as head of the Wilhelm Schapp Research Unit at TU Kaiserslautern and a member of the Ethics Committee of Saarland University Hospital. Among other positions, Joisten has been a visiting professor at the University of Kassel and a fellow at the Max Weber College Advanced Cultural and Social Studies (Erfurt). Her current research focuses on the ethical challenges that arise in the course of digitalization and, more broadly, the technologization of the lifeworld. In this context, she has developed the integrative new approach of technoethics, which addresses, from a basic theoretical as well as an application-oriented perspective, in particular the ethical questions posed by the use of artificial systems. In fall 2022, her new book „Technoethik für neue digitale Systeme (TEDS). Eine Einführung“  (English: Technoethics for New Digital Systems (TEDS). An Introduction) will be published by Springer in the series Ethik-Mensch-Technik, which she edits.

Close

Partners 

In cooperation with Union der deutschen Akademien der Wissenschaften. Media partnership: taz, die tageszeitung. A part of Brain Awareness Week 2022.

You might also be interested in

August 31, 2021

Becoming Human: Evolution of the Senses

Shaping Cultural Evolution?

November 02, 2021

Becoming Human: Humans & Nature

How Do They Influence Each Other?

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Podiumsdiskussion 

Foto: By www.maxpixel.net under Creative Commons Zero - CC0.

Menschwerdung: Menschliches Bewusstsein und KI

Eine grenzüberschreitende Beziehung?

Foto: By www.maxpixel.net under Creative Commons Zero - CC0.

Menschwerdung: Menschliches Bewusstsein und KI

Eine grenzüberschreitende Beziehung?

Die Frage, was menschliches Bewusstsein auszeichnet, gewinnt angesichts der Entwicklungen auf dem Feld der Künstlichen Intelligenz besondere Brisanz. Wie lässt sich künstliche Intelligenz von menschlicher abgrenzen? Kann ein selbstlernendes System Bewusstsein entwickeln? Lernen wir in der Interaktion mit Maschinen Neues über unser Menschsein und welche ethischen Fragen werden dabei aufgeworfen?

Im Diskussionsformat der Fish Bowl ist das Publikum herzlich eingeladen, gemeinsam mit dem Künstler Damjanski, dem Hirnforscher John-Dylan Haynes und der Philosophin Karen Joisten diese und weitere Fragen zu bewegen.

Die Veranstaltung findet im Rahmen der Brain Awareness Week Berlin 2022 statt.

Galerie

Menschwerdung: Menschliches Bewusstsein und KI, 15 März 2022 im Leibniz-Saal der BBAW
Menschwerdung: Menschliches Bewusstsein und KI, 15 März 2022 im Leibniz-Saal der BBAW
Menschwerdung: Menschliches Bewusstsein und KI, 15 März 2022 im Leibniz-Saal der BBAW
Menschwerdung: Menschliches Bewusstsein und KI, 15 März 2022 im Leibniz-Saal der BBAW
Menschwerdung: Menschliches Bewusstsein und KI, 15 März 2022 im Leibniz-Saal der BBAW
Menschwerdung: Menschliches Bewusstsein und KI, 15 März 2022 im Leibniz-Saal der BBAW
Menschwerdung: Menschliches Bewusstsein und KI, 15 März 2022 im Leibniz-Saal der BBAW
Menschwerdung: Menschliches Bewusstsein und KI, 15 März 2022 im Leibniz-Saal der BBAW
Menschwerdung: Menschliches Bewusstsein und KI, 15 März 2022 im Leibniz-Saal der BBAW
Menschwerdung: Menschliches Bewusstsein und KI, 15 März 2022 im Leibniz-Saal der BBAW
Menschwerdung: Menschliches Bewusstsein und KI, 15 März 2022 im Leibniz-Saal der BBAW
Menschwerdung: Menschliches Bewusstsein und KI, 15 März 2022 im Leibniz-Saal der BBAW
Menschwerdung: Menschliches Bewusstsein und KI, 15 März 2022 im Leibniz-Saal der BBAW
Menschwerdung: Menschliches Bewusstsein und KI, 15 März 2022 im Leibniz-Saal der BBAW
Menschwerdung: Menschliches Bewusstsein und KI, 15 März 2022 im Leibniz-Saal der BBAW

Bildergalerie Menschwerdung

Menschliches Bewusstsein und Künstliche Intelligenz

Mediathek besuchen

Programmheft 

Alle vier Veranstaltungen im Überblick

Datei laden

Sprecher*innen 

Damjanski ist ein jugoslawischer Künstler der in einem Browser lebt. Er beschäftigt sich mit Themen wie Macht, Poesie und Partizipation und erforscht Black-Box-Ansätze in unserem Alltag. Er ist Mitbegründer und Mitglied des Inkubationskollektivs Do Something Good. Im Jahr 2018 war er Mitbegründer von MoMAR, einem Galeriekonzept, das darauf abzielt, physische Ausstellungsräume, Kunstinstitutionen und kuratorische Prozesse im New Yorker Museum of Modern Art zu demokratisieren. Seine Arbeiten international gezeigt, darunter in Ausstellungen im NRW-Forum, in der König Galerie, bei Roehrs & Boetsch, Pioneer Works, Tropez, Import Projects, MoCDA und im MoMAR @ MoMA New York.

Schliessen

John-Dylan Haynes ist seit 2006 Professor für Theorie und Analyse weiträumiger Hirnsignale am Bernstein Center for Computational Neuroscience der Charité Berlin. Seit 2009 ist er Direktor des Berlin Center for Advanced Neuroimaging und seit 2018 Leiter des Masterstudiengangs Mind and Brain an der HU Berlin. Er hat von 1992 bis 1997 Psychologie an der Universität Bremen studiert und dort über neuronale Korrelate des visuellen Bewusstseins promoviert. Nach Forschungsaufenthalten in Magdeburg, Plymouth und London wurde er 2005 Leiter einer Arbeitsgruppe am Max-Planck-Institut für Kognitions- und Neurowissenschaften in Leipzig. In seiner Forschung geht es um die Frage, ob Gedanken aus der Hirnaktivität ausgelesen und vorhergesagt werden können. Dabei steht nicht nur die Weiterentwicklung von maschinellen Dekodierungsverfahren zum Auslesen von Bewusstseinsinhalten im Zentrum, sondern auch die Frage der technischen und ethischen Grenzen dieser Forschung. Weitere Forschungsinteressen sind Bewusstsein, Absichten, Willensfreiheit und Intelligenz. Neben über 100 Artikeln in Fachzeitschriften ist über die Forschung von Haynes wiederholt in internationalen Medien berichtet worden (darunter CNN, National Geographic, CBS, BBC, Guardian, NZZ, Spiegel und DIE ZEIT).

Schliessen

Karen Joisten ist seit 2018 Professorin für Philosophie an der Technischen Universität Kaiserslautern. Seit 2020 ist sie Sprecherin des Potenzialbereichs CEDIS (Center for Ethics and the Digital Society) und fachliche Leiterin des Zertifikatsstudiengangs Technoethik am DISC (Distance and Independent Studies Center) der Technischen Universität Kaiserslautern. Der Studiengang wurde vom Bundesverband der Fernstudienanbieter zum herausragenden und innovativen Studienangebot des Jahres 2021 ausgezeichnet. Sie ist u.a. Leiterin der Forscher*innengruppe Narrative Ethik sowie Leiterin der Wilhelm-Schapp-Forschungsstelle an der TU Kaiserslautern und Mitglied im Ethikkomitee des Universitätsklinikums des Saarlandes. Joisten war u. a. Gastprofessorin an der Universität Kassel und Fellow am Max-Weber-Kolleg Advanced Cultural and Social Studies (Erfurt). Im Mittelpunkt ihrer gegenwärtigen Forschung stehen die ethischen Herausforderungen, die sich im Zuge der Digitalisierung und – weiter gefasst – der Technisierung der Lebenswelt ergeben. In diesem Zusammenhang hat sie den integrativen neuen Ansatz der Technoethik entwickelt, der sich aus grundlagentheoretischer sowie anwendungsorientierter Perspektive insbesondere mit den durch den Einsatz artifizieller Systeme bedingten ethischen Fragen auseinandersetzt. Im Herbst 2022 wird ihr neues Buch „Technoethik für neue digitale Systeme (TEDS). Eine Einführung“ in der von ihr herausgegebenen Reihe Ethik-Mensch-Technik bei Springer erscheinen.

Schliessen

Partner 

In Kooperation mit der Union der deutschen Akademien der Wissenschaften. Medienpartnerschaft: taz, die tageszeitung. Im Rahmen der Brain Awareness Week 2022.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

31.08.2021

Menschwerdung: Evolution der Sinne

Prägend für die kulturelle Evolution?

02.11.2021

Menschwerdung: Mensch & Natur

Wie beeinflussen sie sich gegenseitig?

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram