Schering Stiftung

Salon 

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Photo: Jan Windszus Photography

Old but Sexy?

Digital Salon about Aging

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Photo: Jan Windszus Photography

Old but Sexy?

Digital Salon about Aging

Date:

May 04, 2020, 7:30–9 p.m.

Broadcast on May 4, 2020, at 7:30 p.m. on Youtube, acces via the website of Komische Oper Berlin


“Old age is a massacre,” said the writer Philip Roth. But what is age and aging all about? How do elderly people live? What does it mean to be part of the majority in an allegedly aging society that wants to look youthful all the time? How are elderly people perceived and represented? How do other societies look at getting older?

How do our images of aging relate to medical insights? What does aging mean at the molecular level, and what is the relationship between biological and psychological age? What is the potential, what is the beauty of aging? The opera house, which presents largely old, even ancient works and caters for an on average “older” generation, seems to be the right place to answer these kinds of questions.

These questions will be discussed at a salon entitled “Old but Sexy? Salon about Aging” by Prof. Dr. Silke van Dyk (sociologist, University of Jena) and Prof. Dr. Vjera Holthoff-Detto (head physician, Alexianer Hospital Hedwigshöhe Berlin).

The Salon of the Komische Oper Berlin and the Schering Stiftung will take place digitally on May 4 at 7:30 pm. You can follow the discussion live via YouTube. More information on the access via the column on the left.

Read more

Video

"Old, but sexy?"
Digital salon about Aging at Komische Oper Berlin

May 4, 2020

Visit the media library

Download 

Program Flyer Season 2019/20

Download File

The speakers 

Silke van Dyk has been Professor of Political Sociology at the Friedrich Schiller University of Jena since 2016. She studied sociology, political science, economics and labor law at the Universities of Göttingen and Helsinki and received her doctorate at the University of Göttingen with a thesis on consensus and hegemony in processes of social and economic crisis management. In 2014, she completed her habilitation with a thesis entitled "Die Regierung des Alter(n)s. Zeitdiagnostische und theoretische Perspektiven“ (The governance of age(ing): contemporary and theoretical perspectives). She teaches and conducts research in the fields of political sociology, sociology of old age and demography, sociology of social policy and the welfare state, and perspectives of social criticism. She is the author of the introduction "Soziologie des Alters" (Sociology of aging; transcript 2015) as well as co-author of the monograph "Leben im Ruhestand. Zur Neuverhandlung des Alters in der Aktivgesellschaft" (Life in retirement: On renegotiating age in the active society; transcript 2014).

Close

Vjera Holthoff-Detto is a specialist in neurology, psychiatry and psychotherapy, and clinical geriatrics, as well as a psychoanalyst. Her interest in neurobiological and intra-psychic processes and their importance for medical and psychotherapeutical treatment took her to the Max Planck Institute for Neurological Research in Cologne, the University of Michigan Medical School, USA, and the university hospitals in Cologne and Dresden. Her clinical focus is on the treatment and prevention of mental disorders at an older age and on psychotherapy with older adults. Following her habilitation and her appointment at the Technical University of Dresden, she has since 2014 directed the Clinic for Psychiatry, Psychotherapy, and Psychosomatics at the Alexianer Hospital Hedwigshöhe Berlin.

Close

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the following partners:

Komische Oper Berlin
Gegenbauer Facility Management

You might also be interested in

June 03, 2019

That Bowls You Over!

Salon about Emotions in the Theater and the Sports Stadium

November 11, 2019, 10117 Berlin

“Of Humans and Animals”

Salon about an Age-Old Relationship

January 13, 2020

A very special kind of juice

Salon about Blood

February 12, 2018

“Quo Vadis, Democracy?”

On the Future of an Age-Old Form of Government

April 23, 2018

“Micro, Macro, Market?”

On the Effects of a Globalized Market Economy

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Salon 

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Foto: Jan Windszus Photography

Alt, aber sexy?

Digitaler Salon über das Älterwerden

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Foto: Jan Windszus Photography

Alt, aber sexy?

Digitaler Salon über das Älterwerden

Termin:

04.05.2020, 19:30–21 Uhr

Übertragung am 4. Mai 2020 um 19:30 Uhr auf Youtube, Zugang über die Website der Komischen Oper Berlin


„Alter ist ein Massaker!“, meint der Autor Philip Roth. Aber was heißt Alter und Altern? Wie leben Senior*innen? Was bedeutet es, Teil der Mehrheit einer angeblich alternden Gesellschaft zu sein, die doch immer jugendlich aussehen will? Wie werden Senior*innen wahrgenommen und repräsentiert? Wie bewerten andere Gesellschaften das Älterwerden?

Wie hängen unsere Bilder vom Älterwerden mit medizinischen Erkenntnissen zusammen? Was bedeutet Altern auf molekularer Ebene und wie hängt das biologische mit dem psychologischen Alter zusammen? Welches Potential, welche Schönheit liegt im Altern? Lauter Fragen für deren Beantwortung ein Opernhaus, dessen Publikum im Durchschnitt zur »älteren« Generation gehört und das zu einem großen Teil alte, ja uralte Werke spielt, der richtige Ort zu sein scheint.

Als Gäste erwarten Sie Frau Prof. Dr. Silke van Dyk (Soziologin, Universität Jena) und Prof. Dr. Vjera Holthoff-Detto (Chefärztin, Alexianer-Krankenhaus Hedwigshöhe Berlin).

Der Salon der Komischen Oper Berlin und der Schering Stiftung wird am 4. Mai um 19:30 Uhr digital stattfinden. Sie können die Diskssion live über YouTube verfolgen. Nähere Informationen zum Zugang finden Sie in der Randspalte.

Weiterlesen

Video

"Alt, aber sexy?"
Digitaler Salon über das Älterwerden in der Komischen Oper Berlin

4. Mai 2020

Mediathek besuchen

Download 

Programmflyer zum Salon 2019/20

Datei laden

Die Sprecher*innen 

Silke van Dyk ist seit 2016 Professorin für Politische Soziologie an der Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena. Sie studierte Soziologie, Politikwissenschaft, Volkswirtschaftspolitik und Arbeitsrecht an den Universitäten Göttingen und Helsinki und wurde an der Universität Göttingen mit einer Arbeit zu Konsens und Hegemonie in Prozessen sozial- und wirtschaftspolitischen Krisenmanagements promoviert. 2014 erfolgte die Habilitation mit der Arbeit „Die Regierung des Alter(n)s. Zeitdiagnostische und theoretische Perspektiven". Sie lehrt und forscht zu den Themenfeldern Politische Soziologie, Soziologie des Alters und der Demografie, Soziologie der Sozialpolitik und des Wohlfahrtsstaats sowie Perspektiven der Gesellschaftskritik. Sie ist Autorin der Einführung „Soziologie des Alters“ (transcript 2015) sowie Mitautorin der Monografie „Leben im Ruhestand. Zur Neuverhandlung des Alters in der Aktivgesellschaft“ (transcript 2014).

Schliessen

Vjera Holthoff-Detto ist Fachärztin für Neurologie, Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie und klinische Geriatrie sowie Psychoanalytikerin. Ihr Interesse an dem Wissen über neurobiologische und innerpsychische Prozesse und ihrem Stellenwert in der ärztlichen und psychotherapeutischen Behandlung führte sie an das Max-Planck Institut für neurologische Forschung Köln, die University of Michigan Medical School, USA, sowie die Universitätskliniken in Köln und Dresden. Ihr Klinischer Schwerpunkt liegt in der Behandlung und Prävention von psychischen Erkrankungen des höheren Alters und in der Alterspsychotherapie. Nach ihrer Habilitation und einem Ruf an die TU Dresden leitet sie seit 2014 die Klinik für Psychiatrie, Psychotherapie und Psychosomatik im Alexianer-Krankenhaus Hedwigshöhe Berlin.

Schliessen

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert:

Komische Oper Berlin
Gegenbauer Facility Management

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

12.02.2018

„Wohin mit der Demokratie?“

Zur Zukunft einer uralten Staatsform

23.04.2018

„Mikro, Makro, Markt?“

Zu den Auswirkungen einer globalisierten Marktwirtschaft

04.06.2018

„Holozän oder Anthropozän?“

Zur Bedeutung des Menschen in der Natur

05.11.2018

Erhebet die Stimme!

Salon über die menschliche Erzeugung von Klängen

07.01.2019, Berlin

Lasst es krachen!

Salon über unsichtbare Kräfte in der Physik und auf der Bühne

15.04.2019

Platz da!

Salon über Raum und Raumgestaltung

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram