Schering Stiftung

Panel discussion 

Salon at the Komische Oper Berlin

Salon at the Komische Oper Berlin
Photo: Jan Windszus Photography

Salon of the Komische Oper Berlin and of the Schering Stiftung: Attraction

A salon on the power of coming and being together

Salon at the Komische Oper Berlin
Photo: Jan Windszus Photography

Salon of the Komische Oper Berlin and of the Schering Stiftung: Attraction

A salon on the power of coming and being together

Date:

March 13, 2023, 7:30 p.m.

Venue:

Komische Oper
Behrenstraße 55-57,
10117 Berlin

Tickets via Komische Oper Berlin


Man is a social being, a “zoon politikon,” as Aristotle said. Since time immemorial, our species likes to band together. Previously herd animals, we today mostly pair up as couples – embedded in familial and social structures. But what is it that draws us together and that keeps us together?

Are we not (anymore) capable of being by ourselves – or is it that we don’t want to? And what happens when seemingly consistent relationships no longer hold? Why can we be so shaken by (the lack of) relationships with other people? Do love and attachment last beyond death? And what is family these days – shouldn’t we be free to choose those closest to us, rather like we choose our oat milk from the supermarket’s cooling shelf? If so, what would be the consequences?

Read more

Professor Peter Kappeler is Chair of Sociobiology & Anthropology at the University of Göttingen. After studying biology in Tübingen and earning a PhD in zoology at Duke University (USA), he habilitated in tropical ecology in Würzburg. His research deals with questions of social evolution, which he studies mainly in Malagasy primates, but also in predators, birds and reptiles. Other research topics include the relationship between the sexes and how and why human social behavior differs from that of non-human primates. He has published over 300 scientific papers on these topics, edited numerous books, and authored a textbook on behavioral biology.

Close

Prof. Dr. habil Tatiana Zimenkova was born in 1977 in Leningrad, Russia. After graduating with a degree in sociology from St. Petersburg State University, she completed her doctorate and habilitation at the Faculty of Sociology at Bielefeld University. She is a professor of sociology at the Rhine-Waal University of Applied Sciences in Kleve, where she also holds the position of vice president for internationalization and diversity. Her work focuses on cohesion in urban spaces, participation and citizenship (also at the municipal level), political participation and civic education, sexual citizenship, diversity and norming. She is also active in many transfer projects in the field of LGBTQI*/school/police as well as NGOs and the executive, advocates for the rights of the LGBTQI* community and works as a consultant in the context of municipalities, authorities, and NGOs.

Close

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the following partners:

Komische Oper Berlin

You might also be interested in

October 12, 2020

Intoxication and Ecstasy

Salon about the Art and Chemistry of the Dionysian

November 09, 2020

Cancelled: Images of Nature

Salon about the Relationship between Artificiality and Naturalness

February 12, 2018

“Quo Vadis, Democracy?”

On the Future of an Age-Old Form of Government

April 23, 2018

“Micro, Macro, Market?”

On the Effects of a Globalized Market Economy

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49.30.20 62 29 62
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Podiumsdiskussion 

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Foto: Jan Windszus Photography

Salon der Komischen Oper Berlin und der Schering Stiftung: Anziehung

Salon über die Macht des Zu- und Miteinander

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Foto: Jan Windszus Photography

Salon der Komischen Oper Berlin und der Schering Stiftung: Anziehung

Salon über die Macht des Zu- und Miteinander

Termin:

13.03.2023, 19:30 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Komische Oper
Behrenstraße 55-57,
10117 Berlin

Karten erhalten Sie über die Komische Oper Berlin.


Der Mensch ist ein „zoon politikon“, ein soziales Wesen, wie es bei Aristoteles steht. Seit Menschengedenken rottet sich unsere Lebensform gerne zusammen. Früher Herdentier, so finden wir uns heutzutage meist bestenfalls paarweise zusammen – eingebettet in familiäre und soziale Strukturen. Doch was zieht uns eigentlich zueinander, und was hält uns zusammen?

Können wir gar nicht (mehr) allein sein – oder wollen wir es nicht? Und was passiert, wenn scheinbar konsistente Verbindungen nicht mehr halten? Warum können uns die (fehlenden) Verbindungen mit anderen Menschen so erschüttern? Gehen Liebe und Verbundenheit auch über den Tod hinaus? Und was ist heutzutage eigentlich Familie – sollten wir uns nicht unsere engsten Mitmenschen frei aussuchen können wie die Hafermilch im Kühlregal? Wenn ja, mit welchen Folgen?

Weiterlesen

Professor Peter Kappeler ist Lehrstuhlinhaber für Soziobiologie & Anthropologie an der Universität Göttingen. Nach einem Studium der Biologie in Tübingen und Promotion in Zoologie an der Duke University (USA) habilitierte er sich in Würzburg in Tropenökologie. Seine Forschung beschäftigt sich mit Fragen der sozialen Evolution, die er vor allem an madagassischen Primaten, aber auch an Raubtieren, Vögeln und Reptilien untersucht. Weitere Forschungsthemen befassen sich mit der Beziehung zwischen den Geschlechtern sowie den Fragen wie und warum sich menschliches Sozialverhalten von dem nicht-menschlicher Primaten unterscheidet. Er hat zu diesen Themen über 300 wissenschaftliche Arbeiten publiziert, zahlreiche Bücher herausgegeben und ein Lehrbuch über Verhaltensbiologie verfasst.

Schliessen

Prof. Dr. habil Tatiana Zimenkova wurde 1977 in Leningrad, Russland, geboren. Nach einem Diplomabschluss in Soziologie an der Staatlichen Universität St. Petersburg promovierte und habilitierte sie an der Fakultät für Soziologie der Universität Bielefeld. Sie ist Professorin für Soziologie an der Hochschule Rhein-Waal in Kleve und hat dort auch das Amt der Vizepräsidentin für Internationalisierung und Diversität inne. Ihre Arbeitsschwerpunkte sind Zusammenhalt im urbanen Raum, Teilhabe und Bürgerschaft (auch auf der kommunalen Ebene), politische Partizipation und politische Bildung, sexual citizenship, Diversität und Normierungen. Sie ist ferner in vielen Transferprojekten im Bereich LSBTQI*/Schule/Polizei sowie NGOs und Exekutive aktiv, setzt sich für die Rechte der LSBTQI* community ein und ist im Kontext von Kommunen, Behörden und NGOs als Beraterin tätig.

Schliessen

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert: Komische Oper

Komische Oper Berlin

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

12.10.2020

Rausch und Ekstase

Salon über die Kunst und Chemie des Dionysischen

09.11.2020

ABGESAGT: Bilder von Natur

Salon zum Verhältnis von Künstlichkeit und Natürlichkeit

12.02.2018

„Wohin mit der Demokratie?“

Zur Zukunft einer uralten Staatsform

23.04.2018

„Mikro, Makro, Markt?“

Zu den Auswirkungen einer globalisierten Marktwirtschaft

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49.30.20 62 29 62
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram