Schering Stiftung

Panel discussion 

Salon at the Komische Oper Berlin

Salon at the Komische Oper Berlin
Photo: Jan Windszus Photography

That Bowls You Over!

Salon about Emotions in the Theater and the Sports Stadium

Salon at the Komische Oper Berlin
Photo: Jan Windszus Photography

That Bowls You Over!

Salon about Emotions in the Theater and the Sports Stadium

Date:

June 03, 2019, 7:30–9:30 p.m.

Venue:

Komische Oper Berlin
Behrenstr. 55, 10117 Berlin

Tickets:
Tickets for €12 / €8 (reduced) are available via the ticket service of the Komische Oper Berlin.


Opera without emotion is impossible – and so is soccer. Onstage and on the soccer field, bodies are singing, playing, walking, crawling, and dancing – while the audience is sweating, feeling, thinking, swaying, and gripping their seats. What characterizes the bodily experience at the opera? What draws so many people to the sports stadiums? And what do both share with other performances, events, and rituals? How does collective experience work, and what are the commonalities and the differences between the theater and the stadium when it comes to emotions? Since when has the opera been such a dignified setting? Why does the audience sing along in the stadium but not in the opera? And what setting makes for better cheering or crying?

The last salon conversation in the 2018/2019 season features the theater studies scholar Jens Roselt and the sociologist Christian von Scheve. The evening will be moderated by Maximilian Hagemeyer and Sina Dotzert and musically accompanied by singers and artists of the Komische Oper Berlin.

Read more

Download 

Program of the salon

Download File

Die Sprecher 

Christian von Scheve is professor of sociology at the Freie Universität Berlin’s Institute of Sociology, where he heads the Research Group “Sociology of Emotions.” In addition, he is a member of the executive board of the Collaborative Research Center “Affective Societies – Dynamics of Social Coexistence in Mobile Worlds” and a Research Fellow at the German Institute for Economic Research (DIW) in Berlin. His research focuses on the sociology of emotions, the sociology of knowledge, the sociology of culture, and economic sociology, as well as social psychology.

Close

Jens Roselt is Professor of Theory and Practice of Theatre at the University of Hildesheim. His research focuses on the aesthetics of contemporary theatre, the history and theory of the art of acting and directing, and performance analysis.
Selected Publications: Phänomenologie des Theaters. München 2008; Schauspielen heute. Die Bildung des Menschen in den performativen Künsten, hrsg. zus. mit Christel Weiler, Bielefeld 2011; Regie im Theater. Geschichte-Theorie-Praxis, (Hrsg.), Berlin 2015; Aufführungsanalyse. Eine Einführung, zus. mit Christel Weiler, Tübingen 2017.

Close

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the following partners:

Komische Oper Berlin
Gegenbauer

You might also be interested in

February 12, 2018

“Quo Vadis, Democracy?”

On the Future of an Age-Old Form of Government

April 23, 2018

“Micro, Macro, Market?”

On the Effects of a Globalized Market Economy

June 04, 2018

“Holocene or Anthropocene?”

On the Significance of Man in Nature

November 05, 2018

Raise Your Voice!

Salon about the Human Production of Sounds

January 07, 2019, Berlin

Let It Rip!

Salon about Invisible Forces in Physics and Onstage

April 15, 2019

Make Room!

Salon about Space and Spatial Design

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Follow us!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube

Schering Stiftung

Podiumsdiskussion 

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Foto: Jan Windszus Photography

Das haut euch weg!

Salon über Körperlichkeit und Körperkultur im Theater und im Stadion

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Foto: Jan Windszus Photography

Das haut euch weg!

Salon über Körperlichkeit und Körperkultur im Theater und im Stadion

Termin:

03.06.2019, 19:30–21:30 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Komische Oper Berlin
Behrenstraße 55-57
10117 Berlin

Tickets:
Karten zu 12 EUR / 8 EUR ermäßigt erhalten Sie über den Ticketverkauf der Komischen Oper Berlin.


Oper ohne Körper geht nicht – Fußball ebenso wenig. Auf der Bühne und auf dem Feld singen, spielen, gehen, kriechen und tanzen trainierte Körper – parallel dazu schwitzen, fühlen, denken, wippen, fiebern die Zuschauermassen mit. Was zeichnet die körperliche Erfahrung in der Oper aus? Was zieht so viele Menschen in die Sportstadien? Und was verbindet beides mit anderen Aufführungen, Ereignissen und Ritualen? Wie funktioniert kollektives Erleben und wo liegen die Gemeinsamkeiten, wo die Unterschiede zwischen Theater und Stadion im Hinblick auf Emotionen? Seit wann geht es in der Oper so gesittet zu? Wieso singen die Zuschauenden im Stadion mit, in der Oper aber nicht? Und wo lässt es sich schöner jubeln oder weinen?

Zum letzten Salongespräch in der Spielzeit 2018/19 begrüßen wir die Theaterwissenschaftlerin Erika Fischer-Lichte und den Soziologen Christian von Scheve. Maximilian Hagemeyer und Sina Dotzert führen als Moderatoren durch den Abend. Das Gespräch wird musikalisch begleitet von SängerInnen und KünstlerInnen der Komischen Oper Berlin.

Weiterlesen

Download 

Programmflyer zum Salon

Datei laden

Die Sprecher 

Erika Fischer-Lichte ist Professorin für Theaterwissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin und Direktorin des Internationalen Forschungskollegs „Verflechtungen von Theaterkulturen“. Ihre Arbeitsgebiete umfassen Ästhetik und Theorie des Theaters, europäische Theatergeschichte, Theater und Gesellschaft. Sie ist Mitglied in verschiedenen Wissenschaftsakademien und lehrte als Gastprofessorin u.a. in den USA, Russland, Japan, Norwegen, Portugal und Brasilien. Ihre jüngste Monografie ist „Tragedy’s Endurance: Performances of Greek Tragedies and Cultural Identity in Germany since 1800“ (2017).

Schliessen

Christian von Scheve ist Professor für Soziologie am Institut für Soziologie der Freien Universität Berlin und leitet dort den Arbeitsbereich „Soziologie der Emotionen“. Zudem ist er Vorstandsmitglied des Sonderforschungsbereichs „Affective Societies – Dynamiken des Zusammenlebens in bewegten Welten“ und Research Fellow am Deutschen Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung (DIW) Berlin. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte sind die Soziologie der Emotionen, die Wissens-, Kultur- und Wirtschaftssoziologie sowie die Sozialpsychologie.

Schliessen

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert:

Komische Oper Berlin
Gegenbauer

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

12.02.2018

„Wohin mit der Demokratie?“

Zur Zukunft einer uralten Staatsform

23.04.2018

„Mikro, Makro, Markt?“

Zu den Auswirkungen einer globalisierten Marktwirtschaft

04.06.2018

„Holozän oder Anthropozän?“

Zur Bedeutung des Menschen in der Natur

05.11.2018

Erhebet die Stimme!

Salon über die menschliche Erzeugung von Klängen

07.01.2019, Berlin

Lasst es krachen!

Salon über unsichtbare Kräfte in der Physik und auf der Bühne

15.04.2019

Platz da!

Salon über Raum und Raumgestaltung

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube