Schering Stiftung

Salon 

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Photo: Jan Windszus Photography

A very special kind of juice

Salon about Blood

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Photo: Jan Windszus Photography

A very special kind of juice

Salon about Blood

Date:

January 13, 2020, 7:30–9 p.m.

Venue:

Komische Oper Berlin
Behrenstr. 55-57, 10117 Berlin

Tickets:

Tickets at 12 EUR / 8 EUR (reduced rate) are available via the ticket service of Komischen Oper Berlin.


“Blood,” says Goethe’s Mephisto, “is a very special kind of juice” – and he is right. Blood regulates the metabolism, transports nutrients and waste and is essential to immune defense. In short, it is of vital importance! Already in ancient times, blood was interpreted as the primal substance but also as the seat of the soul. The cult surrounding this symbol of life gave rise to fairy tales, myths and stories.

Blood runs like a thread through art, science and medicine – no matter what era or culture. While it is ascribed magical and healing powers, expressions such as “bad blood” also hint at fears connected with blood. Poetry written with one’s heart’s blood, blood-thirsty vampire movies, blood doping in sports or the medical research on blood stem cells – the substance is everywhere in our lives. How has the significance of blood changed in the arts, and in science? What role does it play in modern medicine – or has blood long lost its magic?

These questions will be discussed at a salon entitled “A very special kind of juice – Salon about Blood” by Prof. Dr. Christina von Braun (cultural studies scholar, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin) and PD Dr. Anne Flörcken (medical doctor, Charité Berlin). The conversation will be moderated by Simon Berger and Maximilian Hagemeyer.

They will be accompanied by singers and instrumentalists of the Komische Oper Berlin.

Read more

Download 

Program Flyer Season 2019/20

Download File

The speakers 

Christina von Braun, cultural theorist, author and filmmaker. Professor Emeritus of Cultural Studies at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Founding director and currently Senior Research Fellow of the Selma Stern Center for Jewish Studies Berlin-Brandenburg, established in 2012. Over fifty film documentaries, numerous books and essays on the history of media, culture and mentality. Co-founder and long-standing director of the Gender Studies program at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Sigmund Freud Culture Prize 2013. Publications include “Blutsbande. Verwandtschaft als Kulturgeschichte“, Berlin 2018; and, with Christoph Wulf (ed.), “Mythen des Blutes“, Frankfurt 2007. Films include “Böses Blut. Mythen und Wirkungsgeschichte der Syphilis“, WDR 1993/94.

Close

Anne Flörcken, born 1977, studied human medicine at the University of Witten/Herdecke. She is a specialist in internal medicine, haematology, internal oncology and palliative medicine, and senior physician at the Medical Clinic with a focus on haematology, oncology and tumor immunology at the Charité Berlin. She is also coordinator of the Clinical Research Unit at the Berlin Institute for Health Research (BIH) and member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the German Foundation for Young Adults with Cancer. She has written scientific papers in the field of tumor immunology and habilitated on "Immunotherapy in metastatic renal cell carcinoma".

Close

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the following partners:

Komische Oper Berlin
Gegenbauer Facility Management

You might also be interested in

February 12, 2018

“Quo Vadis, Democracy?”

On the Future of an Age-Old Form of Government

April 23, 2018

“Micro, Macro, Market?”

On the Effects of a Globalized Market Economy

June 04, 2018

“Holocene or Anthropocene?”

On the Significance of Man in Nature

November 05, 2018

Raise Your Voice!

Salon about the Human Production of Sounds

January 07, 2019, Berlin

Let It Rip!

Salon about Invisible Forces in Physics and Onstage

April 15, 2019

Make Room!

Salon about Space and Spatial Design

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Salon 

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Foto: Jan Windszus Photography

Ein ganz besonderer Saft

Salon über das Blut

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Foto: Jan Windszus Photography

Ein ganz besonderer Saft

Salon über das Blut

Termin:

13.01.2020, 19:30–21 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Komische Oper Berlin
Behrenstr. 55-57, 10117 Berlin

Tickets:
Karten zu 12 EUR / 8 EUR (ermäßigt) erhalten Sie über den Ticketverkauf der Komischen Oper Berlin.


Goethes Mephisto sagt: „Blut ist ein ganz besonderer Saft“, und damit hat er recht. Das Blut regelt den Stoffwechsel, transportiert Nähr- und Abfallstoffe und ist essentiell für die Immunabwehr. Kurzum: es ist lebenswichtig! Schon in der Antike wurde das Blut als Urstoff des Lebens, aber auch als Sitz der Seele interpretiert. Der Kult um dieses Symbol des Lebens gebar Märchen, Mythen und Erzählungen.

Das Blut zieht seine Spuren unabhängig von Epoche oder Kultur wie ein roter Faden durch Kunst, Wissenschaft und Medizin. Magische und heilende Kräfte werden ihm unterstellt, andererseits verweisen Ausdrücke wie „böses Blut“ auch auf Ängste, die mit dem Blut verbunden sind. Lyrik voller Herzblut, blutrünstige Vampirfilme, Techniken des Blutdopings beim Sport oder die Erforschung von Blutstammzellen in der Medizin – der Stoff ist in unserem Leben vielfach gegenwärtig. Welchem Wandel unterliegt die Bedeutung des Bluts in den Künsten, in der Wissenschaft? Welche Spielräume sieht in ihm die moderne Medizin – oder hat das Blut seine Magie längst schon verloren?

Diesen Fragen geht der Salon „Ein ganz besonderer Saft – Salon über das Blut“ nach. Als Gäste erwarten Sie Prof. Dr. Christina von Braun (Kulturwissenschaftlerin, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin) und PD Dr. Anne Flörcken (Medizinerin, Charité Berlin). Es moderieren Simon Berger und Maximilian Hagemeyer.

Sie werden begleitet von Sänger*innen und Instrumentalist*innen der Komischen Oper Berlin.

Weiterlesen

Download 

Programmflyer zum Salon 2019/20

Datei laden

Die Sprecher*innen 

Christina von Braun, Kulturtheoretikerin, Autorin und Filmemacherin. Professorin i.R. für Kulturwissenschaft an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Gründungsleiterin und jetzt Senior Research Fellow des 2012 eingerichteten Selma Stern Zentrums für Jüdische Studien Berlin-Brandenburg. Über fünfzig Filmdokumentationen, zahlreiche Bücher und Aufsätze zur Medien-, Kultur- und Mentalitätsgeschichte. Mitgründerin und langjährige Leiterin des Studiengangs Gender Studies an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Sigmund-Freud-Kulturpreis 2013. Zu ihren Publikationen gehören „Blutsbande. Verwandtschaft als Kulturgeschichte“, Berlin 2018; (Hg., mit Christoph Wulf), „Mythen des Blutes“, Frankfurt/M 2007; zu ihren Filmen „Böses Blut. Mythen und Wirkungsgeschichte der Syphilis“, WDR 1993/94.

Schliessen

Anne Flörcken, geboren 1977, studierte Humanmedizin an der Universität Witten/Herdecke. Sie ist Fachärztin für Innere Medizin, Hämatologie, internistische Onkologie und Palliativmedizin und Oberärztin der Medizinischen Klinik mit Schwerpunkt Hämatologie, Onkologie und Tumorimmunologie der Charité Berlin. Darüber hinaus ist sie Koordinatorin der Clinical Research Unit am Berliner Institut für Gesundheitsforschung (BIH) sowie Mitglied des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats der Deutschen Stiftung für junge Erwachsene mit Krebs. Sie verfasste u. a. wissenschaftliche Arbeiten auf dem Gebiet der Tumorimmunologie und habilitierte sich zum Thema „Immuntherapie beim metastasierten Nierenzell-Karzinom“.

Schliessen

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert:

Komische Oper Berlin
Gegenbauer Facility Management

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

12.02.2018

„Wohin mit der Demokratie?“

Zur Zukunft einer uralten Staatsform

23.04.2018

„Mikro, Makro, Markt?“

Zu den Auswirkungen einer globalisierten Marktwirtschaft

04.06.2018

„Holozän oder Anthropozän?“

Zur Bedeutung des Menschen in der Natur

05.11.2018

Erhebet die Stimme!

Salon über die menschliche Erzeugung von Klängen

07.01.2019, Berlin

Lasst es krachen!

Salon über unsichtbare Kräfte in der Physik und auf der Bühne

15.04.2019

Platz da!

Salon über Raum und Raumgestaltung

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram