Schering Stiftung

Salon 

Salon at the Komische Oper Berlin

Salon at the Komische Oper Berlin
Photo: Jan Windszus Photography

Raise Your Voice!

Salon about the human production of sounds

Salon at the Komische Oper Berlin
Photo: Jan Windszus Photography

Raise Your Voice!

Salon about the human production of sounds

Date:

November 05, 2018, 7–9:30 p.m.

Venue:

Komische Oper Berlin
Behrenstr. 55, 10117 Berlin


To be in good or poor voice, to find one’s voice, to give voice to something – a powerful voice is a healthy first sign of life. Voice gives color to content and is of course last but not least an integral component of the art form of the opera! Two small muscle strands that are similar in every human being – but how does this simple yet mysterious “instrument” work? And why are we enchanted by somebody’s sonorous voice, while another person’s voice drives us up the wall? Why is one person taken with the dramatic Wagner singer, while another person is only stirred to the depths by listening to Tom Waits? And is it true that only the loudest voices are heard? What about the soft voices in politics and society? Can opera perhaps be a space to train a richer and more nuanced voice?

These questions will be explored by the salon “Raise Your Voice!,” which will be hosted by Prof. Dr. Julia Fischer, head of the Cognitive Ethology Lab at the German Primate Center in Göttingen, and Prof. Dr. Doris Kolesch, professor of theater studies at the Freie Universität (FU) Berlin.

Read more

Die Sprecher 

Julia Fischer is Professor for Primate Cognition at Georg-August-Universität Göttingen and head of the Cognitive Ethology Lab at the German Primate Center. Her research interest is in the social behavior, communication, and cognition of nonhuman primates. After completing her PhD in 1996 at the FU Berlin, she carried out research at the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia and at the Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology in Leipzig before being appointed professor in Göttingen.

Close

Doris Kolesch is Professor of Theater Studies at Freie Universität Berlin and a member of the Young Academy of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities. Since 2011, she has served as Dean of the Department of Philosophy and Humanities at the FU Berlin, where she previously was Dean of Studies between 2009 and 2011. She studied general and comparative literature, Romance philology, philosophy, and journalism in Mainz and Paris.

Close

You might also be interested in

February 12, 2018

“Quo Vadis, Democracy?”

On the Future of an Age-Old Form of Government

April 23, 2018

“Micro, Macro, Market?”

On the Effects of a Globalized Market Economy

June 04, 2018

“Holocene or Anthropocene?”

On the Significance of Man in Nature

May 22, 2017

“Who’s Afraid of Foreigners?”

Salon on Foreignness and Experiencing the Other

November 13, 2017

“Performing Yourself?”

On Self-Presentation in Everyday Life

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Follow us!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube

Schering Stiftung

Salon 

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Foto: Jan Windszus Photography

Erhebet die Stimme!

Salon über die menschliche Erzeugung von Klängen

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Foto: Jan Windszus Photography

Erhebet die Stimme!

Salon über die menschliche Erzeugung von Klängen

Termin:

05.11.2018, 19–21:30 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Komische Oper Berlin
Behrenstr. 55, 10117 Berlin


Da stimmt was, oder auch nicht, in Stimmung sein, einer Sache seine Stimme verleihen – eine kräftige Stimme ist ein gesundes erstes Lebenszeichen. Stimme verleiht dem Inhalt seine Farbe und ist natürlich nicht zuletzt integraler Bestandteil der Kunstform Oper! Zwei kleine Muskelstränge, die sich bei jedem Mensch ähneln – doch wie funktioniert dieses ebenso einfache wie rätselhafte „Instrument“ überhaupt? Und warum kann des einen sonorer Stimmklang betören, während einen des anderen Organ in den Wahnsinn treibt? Und warum entzückt den einen die dramatische Wagnersängerin, während der andere erschauernd einzig Tom Waits gelten lässt? Und stimmt es überhaupt, dass nur der gehört wird, der am lautesten schreit? Wie steht es derzeit um die leisen Stimmen in Politik und Gesellschaft? Kann die Oper vielleicht als Ort der differenzierten und nuancierten Stimmbildung fungieren?

Diesen Fragen geht der Salon „Erhebet die Stimme!“ nach. Als Gäste erwarten Sie Frau Prof. Dr. Julia Fischer, Leiterin der Abteilung Kognitive Ethologie am Deutschen Primatenzentrum in Göttingen, und Prof. Dr. Doris Kolesch, Professorin für Theaterwissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin.

 

Weiterlesen

Die Sprecher 

Julia Fischer ist Professorin für Primatenkognition an der Georg-August-Universität Göttingen und Leiterin der Abteilung Kognitive Ethologie am Deutschen Primatenzentrum. Ihr Forschungsinteresse gilt dem Sozialverhalten, der Kommunikation und Kognition nichtmenschlicher Primaten. Nach der Promotion 1996 an der FU Berlin forschte sie an der University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia und am Max-Planck-Institut für evolutionäre Anthropologie in Leipzig, bevor sie den Ruf nach Göttingen erhielt.

Schliessen

Doris Kolesch ist Professorin für Theaterwissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin und Mitglied der Jungen Akademie an der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften. Von 2009 bis 2011 war sie Studiendekanin des Fachbereichs Philosophie und Geisteswissenschaften der FU Berlin und hat seit 2011 das Amt der Dekanin inne. Sie studierte Allgemeine und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft, Romanistik, Philosophie und Publizistik in Mainz und Paris.

Schliessen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

12.02.2018

„Wohin mit der Demokratie?“

Zur Zukunft einer uralten Staatsform

23.04.2018

„Mikro, Makro, Markt?“

Zu den Auswirkungen einer globalisierten Marktwirtschaft

04.06.2018

„Holozän oder Anthropozän?“

Zur Bedeutung des Menschen in der Natur

22.05.2017

„Wer hat Angst vorm fremden Mann?“

Salon zum Thema Fremdheit und Fremderfahrung

13.11.2017

„Performing yourself?“

Zur Selbstinszenierung im Alltag

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube