Schering Stiftung

Dialogue 

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Photo: Jan Windszus Photography

Boundaries/Boundlessness – Salon about the Sense and Purpose of Restrictions

Salon of Komische Oper Berlin and Schering Stiftung

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Photo: Jan Windszus Photography

Boundaries/Boundlessness – Salon about the Sense and Purpose of Restrictions

Salon of Komische Oper Berlin and Schering Stiftung

Date:

November 08, 2021, 7:30–9 p.m.

Venue:

Komische Oper Berlin
Behrenstraße 55-57
10117 Berlin


Boundlessness seems to be the synonym for a desirable freedom without any restrictions. But does human life even work without setting certain boundaries?
Who defines these boundaries? When do the boundaries become restrictive? When can they be liberating? Isn’t it the boundlessness of modern society that drives many people to promote radical ideologies that come with clearly defined boundaries? And what about boundaries in art?
Read more

Simone Schürle is researching in the field of biomedical engineering and Assistant Professor for Responsive Biomedical Systems at ETH Zurich. She graduated in 2009 from the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology in Industrial Engineering and Management with specialization in micro/nanosystems. She then joined the Institute of Robotics and Intelligent Systems at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (ETHZ) where she focused on magnetic manipulation techniques for biomedical applications. She was awarded with the ETH medal for her doctoral thesis and with fellowships from the SNSF, DAAD and the Society in Science for her postdoctoral studies at the Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where she was researching as postdoctoral fellow from 2014-​2017. Besides activities in public outreach work and education, she is serving as Global Future Council for the World Economic Forum. She is also co-​founder of MagnebotiX, a young spin-​off from ETHZ.

Close

Prof. Dr. Marianne Braig

Professor for Political Science, FU Berlin

University Professor Dr. Marianne Braig studied at the Free University of Berlin and at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México in Mexico City; she has held a professorship in political science with a focus on Latin America since 2002. Her research interests are: Political Sociology; Political Culture of the State in Latin America; Social Transformation and Development; Interdependent Inequalities in a Global Context; Processes of Violence and Governance; Gender Relations, Labor Market, and and Social and Educational Policy in Latin America. From 2009 - 2020, she was vice chair of the Board of Trustees and a member of the Excellence Council of Freie Universität; since January 2021, she has been vice president for research and promotion of young scholars. In 2013 she received the Margherita von Brentano Award of Freie Universität for outstanding achievements in promoting women's studies and gender research.

Close

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the following partners:

Komische Oper Berlin
Berlin Science Week

You might also be interested in

February 12, 2018

“Quo Vadis, Democracy?”

On the Future of an Age-Old Form of Government

April 23, 2018

“Micro, Macro, Market?”

On the Effects of a Globalized Market Economy

June 04, 2018

“Holocene or Anthropocene?”

On the Significance of Man in Nature

November 05, 2018

Raise Your Voice!

Salon about the Human Production of Sounds

January 07, 2019, Berlin

Let It Rip!

Salon about Invisible Forces in Physics and Onstage

April 15, 2019

Make Room!

Salon about Space and Spatial Design

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Podiumsdiskussion 

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Foto: Jan Windszus Photography

"Grenzen/Grenzenlosigkeit"

Salon über Sinn und Nutzen von Beschränkungen

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Foto: Jan Windszus Photography

"Grenzen/Grenzenlosigkeit"

Salon über Sinn und Nutzen von Beschränkungen

Termin:

08.11.2021, 19:30–21 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Komische Oper Berlin
Behrenstraße 55-57
10117 Berlin


Grenzenlosigkeit scheint das Synonym für eine erstrebenswerte Freiheit ohne jede Einschränkung zu sein. Aber funktioniert menschliches Leben überhaupt ohne die Setzung gewisser Grenzen?

Wer definiert diese Grenzen? Wo werden die Grenzen zur Einengung, wo können sie aber wiederum auch befreiend sein? Ist es nicht die Grenzenlosigkeit der modernen Gesellschaft, die manchen in die Verirrung radikaler Ideologien mit ihren klar beschriebenen Grenzen treibt? Und wie sieht es mit den Grenzen in der Kunst aus?

Weiterlesen

Simone Schürle forscht auf dem Gebiet der Biomedizintechnik und ist Assistenzprofessorin für Responsive Biomedizinische Systeme an der ETH Zürich. Sie schloss ihr Studium 2009 am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie in Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen mit dem Schwerpunkt Mikro/Nanosysteme ab. Danach wechselte sie an die Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich (ETHZ), wo sie sich mit magnetischen Manipulationstechniken für biomedizinische Anwendungen beschäftigte. Für ihre Doktorarbeit erhielt sie die ETH-Medaille und für ihre Postdocs am Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research am Massachusetts Institute of Technology, wo sie von 2014-2017 als Postdoc forschte, Stipendien vom SNF, DAAD und der Society in Science. Neben Aktivitäten in der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Bildung ist sie als Global Future Council für das Weltwirtschaftsforum tätig. Sie ist auch Mitbegründerin von MagnebotiX, einem jungen Spin-off der ETHZ.

Schliessen

Prof. Dr. Marianne Braig

Professorin für Politikwissenschaft, Freie Universität Berlin

Universitätsprofessorin Dr. Marianne Braig studierte an der Freien Universität Berlin und an der Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México in Mexiko Stadt; sie hat seit 2002 eine Professur für Politikwissenschaft mit Schwerpunkt Lateinamerika. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte sind: Politische Soziologie; politische Kultur des Staates in Lateinamerika; soziale Transformation und Entwicklung; interdependente Ungleichheiten im globalen Kontext; Gewaltprozesse und Governance; Geschlechter-verhältnisse, Arbeitsmarkt sowie und Sozial- und Bildungspolitik in Lateinamerika. Von 2009 – 2020 war sie stellvertretende Vorsitzende des Kuratoriums und Mitglied des Exzellenzrats der Freien Universität, seit Januar 2021 ist sie Vizepräsidentin für Forschung und Nachwuchsförderung. 2013 erhielt sie den Margherita von Brentano Preis der Freien Universität für herausragende Leistungen bei der Förderung der Frauenstudien und Genderforschung.

Schliessen

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert:

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

23.04.2018

„Mikro, Makro, Markt?“

Zu den Auswirkungen einer globalisierten Marktwirtschaft

04.06.2018

„Holozän oder Anthropozän?“

Zur Bedeutung des Menschen in der Natur

05.11.2018

Erhebet die Stimme!

Salon über die menschliche Erzeugung von Klängen

07.01.2019, Berlin

Lasst es krachen!

Salon über unsichtbare Kräfte in der Physik und auf der Bühne

15.04.2019

Platz da!

Salon über Raum und Raumgestaltung

03.06.2019

Das haut euch weg!

Salon über Emotionen im Theater und im Stadion

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram