Schering Stiftung

Panel discussion 

Let It Rip!

Salon about Invisible Forces in Physics and Onstage

Let It Rip!

Salon about Invisible Forces in Physics and Onstage

Date:

January 07, 2019, 7:30–9:30 p.m.

Venue:

Komische Oper Berlin
Behrenstraße 55-57
10117 Berlin

Tickets:
Tickets for €12 / €8 (reduced) are available via the ticket service of the Komische Oper Berlin.


Onstage energy and physical energy seem to be two different phenomena. Or is stage energy more than a metaphor, after all? What does it consist of exactly? What connects it with its cognate in physics? How can we even grasp these two immaterial phenomena? And why do we use the notion of energy almost exclusively in discourses of economizing (waste of energy vs. saving energy)? May notions such as “chi,” “ki,” or “prana” help us reveal the secret of energy?

These questions will be discussed during a salon evening entitled “Let It Rip!” by Prof. Dr. Barbara Gronau (professor of theater studies at the Berlin University of the Arts) and Prof. Dr. Klaus Lips (experimental physician at FU Berlin, research on renewable energies). The evening will be moderated by Ulrich Lenz and Rainer Simon. Musical accompaniment will be provided by singers and musicians of the Komische Oper Berlin.

Read more

Download 

Program of the salon

Download File

Barbara Gronau is Professor of Theater Theory and History at the Berlin University of the Arts and spokesperson of the DFG Research Training Group “Knowledge in the Arts.” Her research and publications focus on interfaces of art and theater, theories of agency and performance, and epistemologies of aesthetics. In addition, Barbara Gronau has served as a dramaturg on various theater productions and has curated theater festivals.

Close

Klaus Lips is a professor for Experimental Physics at the Freie Universität Berlin and researches renewable energies, with a focus on photovoltaics. He heads a department for materials research at the Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, using new analytical methods. Recently, he built the EMIL infrastructure at the Berlin-based synchrotron BESSY II, whose highly brilliant radiation allows insights into the thin layer of modern solar cells, which is only a few atoms thin, thus making it possible to observe the cells’ process of generating electricity.

Close

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the following partners:

Komische Oper Berlin
Gegenbauer Facility Management

You might also be interested in

November 11, 2019, 10117 Berlin

“Of Humans and Animals”

Salon about an Age-Old Relationship

January 13, 2020

A very special kind of juice

Salon about Blood

May 04, 2020

Old but Sexy?

Digital Salon about Aging

October 12, 2020

Intoxication and Ecstasy

Salon about the Art and Chemistry of the Dionysian

February 12, 2018

“Quo Vadis, Democracy?”

On the Future of an Age-Old Form of Government

April 23, 2018

“Micro, Macro, Market?”

On the Effects of a Globalized Market Economy

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Podiumsdiskussion 

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Foto: Jan Windszus Photography

Lasst es krachen!

Salon über unsichtbare Kräfte in der Physik und auf der Bühne

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Foto: Jan Windszus Photography

Lasst es krachen!

Salon über unsichtbare Kräfte in der Physik und auf der Bühne

Termin:

07.01.2019, 19:30–21:30 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Komische Oper Berlin
Behrenstraße 55-57
10117 Berlin

Tickets
Karten zu 12 EUR / 8 EUR ermäßigt erhalten Sie über den Ticketverkauf der Komischen Oper Berlin.


Energie auf der Bühne und physikalische Energie scheinen zwei verschiedene Phänomene zu sein. Oder ist die theatrale Energie doch mehr als eine Metapher? Worin genau besteht sie? Was verbindet sie mit ihrer physikalischen Begriffsverwandten? Wie lassen sich diese beiden immateriellen Phänomene überhaupt fassen? Und warum wird der Energiebegriff in unseren Breitengraden fast ausschließlich in Diskursen der Ökonomisierung (Energieverschwendung versus Energiesparen) gebraucht? Helfen womöglich Begriffe wie »Chi«, »Ki«, »Prana« weiter, um dem Geheimnis der Energie auf die Schliche zu kommen?

Diesen Fragen geht der Salon „Lasst es krachen!“ nach. Als Gäste begrüßen wir Prof. Dr. Barbara Gronau (Theaterwissenschaftlerin an der Universität der Künste Berlin) und Prof. Dr. Klaus Lips (Experimentalphysiker an der Freien Universität Berlin, Forschung zu Erneuerbaren Energien). Moderiert wird der Abend von Ulrich Lenz und Rainer Simon. Für die passende musikalische Untermalung sorgen SängerInnen und MusikerInnen der Komischen Oper Berlin.

Weiterlesen

Download 

Programmflyer zum Salon

Datei laden

Barbara Gronau ist Professorin für Theorie und Geschichte des Theaters an der Universität der Künste Berlin und Sprecherin des DFG-Graduiertenkollegs „Das Wissen der Künste“. Zu ihren Forschungs- und Publikationsschwerpunkten gehören Schnittstellen von Bildender Kunst und Theater, Theorien der Agency und Performanz sowie Epistemologien des Ästhetischen. Darüber hinaus war Barbara Gronau als Dramaturgin für verschiedene Theaterproduktionen und als Kuratorin von Theaterfestivals tätig.

Schliessen

Klaus Lips ist Professor für Experimentalphysik an der Freien Universität Berlin und forscht zum Thema „Erneuerbare Energien“, mit dem Schwerpunkt Photovoltaik. Am Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin leitet er eine Abteilung für Materialforschung mit neuen analytischen Methoden. Vor kurzem hat er die EMIL-Infrastruktur am Berliner Synchrotron BESSY II aufgebaut, dessen hochbrillantes Röntgenlicht Einblicke in die wenige Atome dünnen Schichten von modernen Solarzellen erlaubt und so deren stromerzeugende Arbeit beobachtbar macht.

Schliessen

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert:

Komische Oper Berlin
Gegenbauer Facility Management

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

12.02.2018

„Wohin mit der Demokratie?“

Zur Zukunft einer uralten Staatsform

23.04.2018

„Mikro, Makro, Markt?“

Zu den Auswirkungen einer globalisierten Marktwirtschaft

04.06.2018

„Holozän oder Anthropozän?“

Zur Bedeutung des Menschen in der Natur

05.11.2018

Erhebet die Stimme!

Salon über die menschliche Erzeugung von Klängen

22.05.2017

„Wer hat Angst vorm fremden Mann?“

Salon zum Thema Fremdheit und Fremderfahrung

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube