Schering Stiftung

Panel discussion 

Salon at the Komische Oper Berlin

Salon at the Komische Oper Berlin
Photo: Jan Windszus Photography

Make Room!

Salon about Space and Spatial Design

Salon at the Komische Oper Berlin
Photo: Jan Windszus Photography

Make Room!

Salon about Space and Spatial Design

Date:

April 15, 2019, 7:30–9:30 p.m.

Venue:

Komische Oper Berlin
Behrenstr. 55, 10117 Berlin

Tickets:
Tickets for €12 / €8 (reduced) are available via the ticket service of the Komische Oper Berlin.


The stage is an empty space, where, however, the most varied spaces and places – realistic, fantastical, psychological, symbolic, abstract or very concrete – can emerge. The sheer endless possibilities of the opera stage make us aware that any space can be designed and that we can create fantastical worlds and realize utopias also beyond the stage.

What can these utopias look like today? In what spaces and cities do we want to live? Which processes are used by set designers, which processes are used by architects and by urban planners? How do their strategies and concepts impact our lives? Is spatial design synonymous with shaping society? On the occasion of the centenary of the Bauhaus and in light of the various housing, gentrification, and urban development debates, these old questions are worth asking anew.

We look forward to discussing these complex and rich issues with the cultural studies scholar Prof. Dr. Susanne Hauser and the set and light designer Klaus Grünberg. The evening will be moderated by Simon Berger and Rainer Simon and accompanied by singers and musicians of the Komische Oper Berlin.

Read more

Download 

Program of the salon

Download File

Die Sprecher 

Susanne Hauser has been professor of art history and cultural studies in the Department of Architecture at the Berlin University of the Arts since 2005. She completed her PhD in 1989 (Der Blick auf die Stadt , 1990) and, after postdocs in France and the United States, her habilitation in 1999 with a study on rehabilitating brownfields (Metamorphosen des Abfalls, 2001). In 1995/96, she was a fellow at the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin and, from 2000 until 2003, visiting professor for landscape aesthetics at the University of Kassel. From 2003 until her appointment at the UdK, she was professor and head of the Institute for Art and Cultural Studies at the Faculty of Architecture at the Graz University of Technology. Since 2010, she has been a member of the German Academy for Urban and Regional Spatial Planning (Deutsche Akademie für Städtebau und Landesplanung, DASL). Her research and teaching focus on history and theory of the city and of the landscape as well as on issues related to the cultural studies of architecture.

Close

Klaus Grünberg was born in Hamburg and studied set design with Erich Wonder in Vienna. He is working as a freelance set and light designer at theaters and opera houses in Europe as well as in Kuwait and in Buenos Aires.
He has been working for a long time with the composer and director Heiner Goebbels as well as the directors Tatjana Gürbaca and Barrie Kosky. His most recent projects are “Pelléas et Mélisande” at the Komische Oper Berlin, “The Nose” at the Royal Opera House London, “Macbeth” at the Zurich Opera House, and “Simplicius Simplicissimus” at the Theater Bremen. In 1999, Klaus Grünberg launched the MOMOLMA (Museum of More or Less Modern Art ).

Close

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the following partners:

Komische Oper Berlin
Gegenbauer

You might also be interested in

February 12, 2018

“Quo Vadis, Democracy?”

On the Future of an Age-Old Form of Government

April 23, 2018

“Micro, Macro, Market?”

On the Effects of a Globalized Market Economy

June 04, 2018

“Holocene or Anthropocene?”

On the Significance of Man in Nature

November 05, 2018

Raise Your Voice!

Salon about the Human Production of Sounds

January 07, 2019, Berlin

Let It Rip!

Salon about Invisible Forces in Physics and Onstage

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Follow us!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube

Schering Stiftung

Podiumsdiskussion 

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Foto: Jan Windszus Photography

Platz da!

Salon über Raum und Raumgestaltung

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Foto: Jan Windszus Photography

Platz da!

Salon über Raum und Raumgestaltung

Termin:

15.04.2019, 19:30–21:30 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Komische Oper Berlin
Behrenstraße 55-57
10117 Berlin

Tickets:
Karten zu 12 EUR / 8 EUR ermäßigt erhalten Sie über den Ticketverkauf der Komischen Oper Berlin.


Die Bühne ist ein leerer Raum, in dem jedoch die unterschiedlichsten Räume und Orte entstehen können
– realistische, fantastische, psychologische, symbolische, abstrakte oder aber sehr konkrete. Die nahezu endlosen Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten der Opernbühne rufen ins Bewusstsein, dass jeglicher Raum ein gestaltbarer ist, dass wir auch jenseits der Bühne fantastische Welten schaffen und Utopien realisieren können.

Wie könnten diese Utopien heute aussehen? In welchen Räumen und Städten möchten wir leben? Welche Verfahren wenden BühnenbildnerInnen, welche ArchitektInnen und welche StadtplanerInnen an? Und wie wirken sich deren Strategien und Konzepte auf unser Leben aus? Heißt Raum gestalten zugleich auch Gesellschaft gestalten? Anlässlich des 100. Geburtstags des Bauhauses und angesichts diverser Miet-, Wohnraum-, Gentrifizierungs- und Stadtentwicklungs-debatten lohnt es sich, diese alten Fragen neu zu stellen.

Wir freuen uns auf die Diskussion dieser reichhaltigen Themenkomplexe mit der Kulturwissenschaftlerin Prof. Dr. Susanne Hauser und dem Bühnenbildner und Lichtdesigner Klaus Grünberg. Simon Berger und Rainer Simon moderieren den Abend, der von SängerInnen und MusikerInnen der Komischen Oper Berlin begleitet wird.

Weiterlesen

Download 

Programmflyer zum Salon

Datei laden

Die Sprecher 

Susanne Hauser ist seit 2005 Professorin für Kunst- und Kulturgeschichte im Studiengang Architektur der Universität der Künste Berlin. Sie wurde 1989 promoviert („Der Blick auf die Stadt“, 1990) und habilitierte sich, nach Forschungsaufenthalten in Frankreich und in den USA, 1999 mit einer Untersuchung zur Umgestaltung von Industriebrachen („Metamorphosen des Abfalls“, 2001). 1995/96 war sie Fellow am Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin und von 2000 bis 2003 Gastprofessorin für Landschaftsästhetik an der Universität Kassel. Von 2003 bis zu ihrer Berufung an die UdK hatte sie die Professur und Leitung des Instituts für Kunst- und Kulturwissenschaften an der Fakultät für Architektur der TU Graz inne. Seit 2010 ist sie Mitglied der Deutschen Akademie für Städtebau und Landesplanung (DASL). Ihre Schwerpunkte in Forschung und Lehre sind Geschichte und Theorie der Stadt und der Landschaft sowie Themen der kulturwissenschaftlichen Architekturforschung.

Schliessen

Klaus Grünberg stammt aus Hamburg, studierte Bühnenbild bei Erich Wonder in Wien und arbeitet seitdem als freier Bühnenbildner und Lichtdesigner an Theatern und Opernhäusern in Europa sowie in Kuwait und Buenos Aires. Seit langem arbeitet er mit dem Komponisten und Regisseur Heiner Goebbels sowie den RegisseurInnen Tatjana Gürbaca und Barrie Kosky zusammen. Seine neuesten Arbeiten waren „Pelléas et Mélisande“ an der Komischen Oper Berlin, „The Nose“ am Royal Opera House London, „Macbeth“ am Zürcher Opernhaus und „Simplicius Simplicissimus“ am Theater Bremen. 1999 eröffnete Klaus Grünberg das MOMOLMA (Museum of More or Less Modern Art).

Schliessen

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert:

Komische Oper Berlin
Gegenbauer

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

12.02.2018

„Wohin mit der Demokratie?“

Zur Zukunft einer uralten Staatsform

23.04.2018

„Mikro, Makro, Markt?“

Zu den Auswirkungen einer globalisierten Marktwirtschaft

04.06.2018

„Holozän oder Anthropozän?“

Zur Bedeutung des Menschen in der Natur

05.11.2018

Erhebet die Stimme!

Salon über die menschliche Erzeugung von Klängen

07.01.2019, Berlin

Lasst es krachen!

Salon über unsichtbare Kräfte in der Physik und auf der Bühne

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube