Schering Stiftung

Salon 

Salon at the Komische Oper Berlin

Salon at the Komische Oper Berlin
Photo: Jan Windszus Photography

Forget Me Not – Salon about Forgetting and Remembering

Salon at the Komische Oper Berlin
Photo: Jan Windszus Photography

Forget Me Not – Salon about Forgetting and Remembering

Date:

May 03, 2021, 7:30–9 p.m.

Now available as stream here


The right to be forgotten is a topic that has been around since before the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). But is it actually that simple? How does one delete one’s data and footprint in the (digital) world? Are we instead not constantly being asked to remember our own history?

The human brain is not that different from the Internet: In our heads, too, old knowledge lingers obstinately, and we permanently need to forget automatisms that we have become fond of and replace them with new ones. Are we even capable of forgetting or is it really more a matter of blocking the retrieval of information? But then again: How permanent are the physiological and digital storage options? Isn’t the half life of a digitally saved manuscript much shorter than that of an analog book? And do these limited digital memory capacities perhaps influence our cultural memory, or even the memory power of our brain? What remains of life – without cultural memory? And is or was theater perhaps the most transitory and fleeting storage medium ever?

 

 

Read more

Video

"Forget me not"
Digital salon about forgetting and remembering at Komische Oper Berlin

May 3, 2021

Visit the media library

Download 

Program Flyer Season 2019/20

Download File

The speakers 

Prof. Dr. Aleida Assmann

Literary and Cultural Studies scholar

Aleida Assmann is a literary and cultural studies scholar. She studied English literature and Egyptology in Heidelberg and Tuebingen, was Professor of English and Literary Studies at the University of Konstanz from 1993 until 2014, and held numerous visiting professorships both in Germany and abroad. Together with her husband Jan Assmann, she received the Balzan Prize 2017 for their research on cultural memory and the Friedenspreis des Deutschen Buchhandels in 2018. Her most recent publications are Formen des Vergessens (2016); Menschenrechte und Menschenpflichten: Schlüsselbegriffe für eine humane Gesellschaft (2018); and Der europäische Traum: Vier Lehren aus der Geschichte (2018).

Prof. Dr. Nikolai Axmacher

Professor of Neuropsychology

Nikolai Axmacher studied philosophy at the Freie Universität Berlin and medicine at the Charité Berlin, where he earned his doctorate in 2005 at the Institute of Physiology. From 2004 until 2011, he was a clinical researcher at the Department for Epileptology at the University Hospital Bonn and in 2009 concluded his habilitation in cognitive neurosciences. Since 2011, he has directed an Emmy Noether group on epileptology and a junior scientist group at the German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases in Bonn. In 2014 he was appointed professor of neuropsychology at Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB). Nikolai Axmacher is an appointed member of the Memory Disorders Research Society, advisory board member of the Transfaculty Research Platform Molecular and Cognitive Neurosciences (MCN) at the University of Basel, and board member of the Research Department of Neuroscience at Ruhr-Universität Bochum.

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the following partners:

Komische Oper Berlin
Gegenbauer Facility Management

You might also be interested in

April 23, 2018

“Micro, Macro, Market?”

On the Effects of a Globalized Market Economy

June 04, 2018

“Holocene or Anthropocene?”

On the Significance of Man in Nature

November 05, 2018

Raise Your Voice!

Salon about the Human Production of Sounds

January 07, 2019, Berlin

Let It Rip!

Salon about Invisible Forces in Physics and Onstage

April 15, 2019

Make Room!

Salon about Space and Spatial Design

June 03, 2019

That Bowls You Over!

Salon about Emotions in the Theater and the Sports Stadium

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Salon 

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Foto: Jan Windszus Photography

Vergiss mein nicht – Salon über Vergessen und Erinnern

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Foto: Jan Windszus Photography

Vergiss mein nicht – Salon über Vergessen und Erinnern

Termin:

03.05.2021, 19:30–21 Uhr

Jetzt als Stream hier abrufbar


Nicht erst seit der Datenschutz-Grundverordnung sprechen wir von einem Recht darauf, vergessen zu werden. Doch geht das überhaupt so einfach – vergessen werden? Wie löscht man seine Daten und seinen Fußabdruck in der (digitalen) Welt aus? Werden wir nicht stattdessen ständig aufgefordert, uns an unsere eigene Geschichte zu erinnern?

Und mit dem menschlichen Gehirn ist es nicht viel anders als mit dem Internet: Auch in unserem Kopf ist altes Wissen hartnäckig, permanent müssen wir liebgewonnene Automatismen vergessen und durch neue ersetzen. Können wir überhaupt vergessen, oder müssen wir vielmehr den Abruf der Information hemmen? Andererseits: Wie dauerhaft sind die physiologischen und digitalen Speichermöglichkeiten tatsächlich? Ist die Halbwertszeit eines digital gespeicherten Manuskripts nicht viel geringer als die eines analogen Buches? Und haben diese beschränkten digitalen Erinnerungskapazitäten womöglich Einfluss auf unser kulturelles Gedächtnis, ja gar auf das Erinnerungsvermögen unseres Gehirns? Was bleibt vom Leben – ohne kulturelle Erinnerung? Und ist bzw. war Theater nicht sogar das vergänglichste Speichermedium aller Zeiten?

 

Weiterlesen

Video

"Vergiss mein nicht"
Digitaler Salon über Vergessen und Erinnern in der Komischen Oper Berlin

3. Mai 2021

Mediathek besuchen

Download 

Programmflyer zum Salon 2020/21

Datei laden

Die Sprecher*innen 

Prof. Dr. Aleida Assmann

Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaftlerin

Aleida Assmann ist Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaftlerin. Studium der Anglistik und Ägyptologie in Heidelberg und Tübingen, 1993 - 2014 Professorin für Anglistik und Allgemeine Literaturwissenschaft an der Universität Konstanz, zahlreiche Gastprofessuren im In- und Ausland. Sie erhielt zusammen mit ihrem Mann Jan Assmann den Balzan Preis 2017 für ihre Forschungen zum Kulturellen Gedächtnis und 2018 ebenfalls zusammen mit Jan Assmann den Friedenspreis des Deutschen Buchhandels. Zuletzt erschienen: Formen des Vergessens (2016), Menschenrechte und Menschenpflichten. Schlüsselbegriffe für eine humane Gesellschaft (2018), Der europäische Traum. Vier Lehren aus der Geschichte (2018).

Prof. Dr. Nikolai Axmacher

Professor für Neuropsychologie

Nikolai Axmacher studierte Philosophie an der Freien Universität Berlin und Medizin an der Charité Berlin und promovierte dort 2005 am Institut für Physiologie. Von 2004 bis 2011 war er als klinischer Forscher in der Abteilung für Epileptologie der Universitätsklinik Bonn tätig und schloss 2009 seine Habilitation in Kognitiver Neurowissenschaft ab. Seit 2011 leitete er eine Emmy-Noether-Gruppe in der Epileptologie und eine Nachwuchsgruppe am Deutschen Zentrum für Neurodegenerative Erkrankungen in Bonn. 2014 folgte er dem Ruf auf die Professur für Neuropsychologie an die Ruhr-Universität Bochum. Nikolai Axmacher ist gewähltes Mitglied der Memory Disorders Research Society, Advisory Board Member der Transfakultären Forschungsplattform Molekulare und Kognitive Neurowissenschaften der Universität Basel und Vorstandsmitglied im Research Department of Neuroscience der Ruhr-Universität Bochum.

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert:

Komische Oper Berlin
Gegenbauer Facility Management

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

23.04.2018

„Mikro, Makro, Markt?“

Zu den Auswirkungen einer globalisierten Marktwirtschaft

04.06.2018

„Holozän oder Anthropozän?“

Zur Bedeutung des Menschen in der Natur

05.11.2018

Erhebet die Stimme!

Salon über die menschliche Erzeugung von Klängen

07.01.2019, Berlin

Lasst es krachen!

Salon über unsichtbare Kräfte in der Physik und auf der Bühne

15.04.2019

Platz da!

Salon über Raum und Raumgestaltung

03.06.2019

Das haut euch weg!

Salon über Emotionen im Theater und im Stadion

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram