Schering Stiftung

Salon 

Salon at the Komische Oper Berlin

Salon at the Komische Oper Berlin
Photo: Jan Windszus Photography

“Of Humans and Animals”

Salon about an Age-Old Relationship

Salon at the Komische Oper Berlin
Photo: Jan Windszus Photography

“Of Humans and Animals”

Salon about an Age-Old Relationship

Date:

November 11, 2019, 7:30–9 p.m.

Venue:

Komische Oper Berlin, Foyer
Behrenstr. 55-57

Tickets

Tickets at 12 EUR / 8 EUR (reduced rate) are available at


Best friend, pest, or food source – humans assign a variety of functions to animals. How did this range – from equal partner to mere object – come about? Are dogs, because of their cognitive abilities and their genetic predisposition, closer to us than wasps? And what is ultimately the difference between apes and humans? The fact that the latter can sing, dance, and make music, while the former cannot? Or that humans can reflect on their actions and thus develop an understanding of ethics? In this case, are humans even justified to treat animals as mere products and cram cows, horses, and chicken into cowsheds, barns, and chicken-coops?

How did it happen that humans as a species consider themselves to be superior to all other species? And what can be offered in opposition to this speciesism? Civil rights for animals? Or bird song compositions?

These are some of the questions addressed by the salon “Of Humans and Animals – Salon about an Age-Old Relationship.” Guests will be Prof. Dr. Ursula Wolf (philosopher, University of Mannheim) and Dr. Rainer Hagencord (Philosophical-Theological University of Münster).

They will be accompanied by vocalists and instrumentalists of the Komische Oper Berlin.

Read more

Download 

Program Flyer Season 2019/20

Download File

The speakers 

Rainer Hagencord, born in Ahlen/Westphalia, studied theology in Münster and Fribourg (Switzerland) and biology in Münster. After his ordination in 1987, he established, as university chaplain in Münster, an interdisciplinary dialogue between theology and biology. He completed his doctorate in theology in 2004 with a dissertation entitled “Das Tier: Eine Herausforderung für die christliche Anthropologie. Theologische und verhaltensbiologische Argumente für einen Perspektivenwechsel” (The Beast: A Challenge for Christian Anthropology – Theological and Behavioral Arguments for a Change in Perspective). Since 2009, Dr. Rainer Hagencord has been director of the Institute of Theological Zoology at the Philosophical-Theological University of Münster.

Close

Ursula Wolf was born in 1951 in Karlsruhe. After studying philosophy and classics, she completed her dissertation at the University of Heidelberg (under the supervision of Ernst Tugend) and her habilitation at the Freie Universität Berlin. After working at the FU Berlin and the University of Frankfurt, she was appointed Chair of Philosophy at the University of Mannheim in 1998, where she has been teaching ever since – from summer 2019, as senior professor. In philosophy, she is particularly interested in ancient Greece as well as in action theory and theory of ethics. In her book Das Tier in der Moral (The Animal in Ethics, 1990), which was reissued in a much revised version in 2012 under the title Ethik der Mensch-Tier-Beziehung (The Ethics of Human-Animal Relations), she was one of the first to introduce a German reading public to the Anglo-Saxon debate on animal ethics.

Close

You might also be interested in

January 07, 2019, Berlin

Let It Rip!

Salon about Invisible Forces in Physics and Onstage

April 15, 2019

Make Room!

Salon about Space and Spatial Design

June 03, 2019

That Bowls You Over!

Salon about Emotions in the Theater and the Sports Stadium

January 13, 2020

A very special kind of juice

Salon about Blood

February 12, 2018

“Quo Vadis, Democracy?”

On the Future of an Age-Old Form of Government

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Salon 

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Foto: Jan Windszus Photography

„Von Menschen und Tieren“

Salon über ein uraltes Mit- und Gegeneinander

Salon in der Komischen Oper Berlin
Foto: Jan Windszus Photography

„Von Menschen und Tieren“

Salon über ein uraltes Mit- und Gegeneinander

Termin:

11.11.2019, 19:30–21 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Komische Oper Berlin, Foyer
Behrenstr. 55-57

Tickets
Karten zu 12 EUR / 8 EUR ermäßigt erhalten Sie über den Ticketverkauf der Komischen Oper Berlin.


Bester Freund, Schädling oder Nahrungsmittel – der Mensch weist Tieren die unterschiedlichsten Funktionen zu. Wie kommt es zu dieser Spannbreite vom ebenbürtigen Partner bis hin zum bloßen Objekt? Sind uns Hunde aufgrund ihrer kognitiven Fähigkeiten und ihrer genetischen Anlagen näher als Wespen? Und was unterscheidet den Affen dann letztlich vom Menschen? Dass der eine singen, tanzen und musizieren kann und der andere nicht? Oder dass Menschen ihr Tun und Handeln reflektieren können und dementsprechend ein Verständnis von Moral entwickeln? Dürfen Menschen dann überhaupt Tiere als bloße Produkte behandeln und Kühe, Schweine und Hühner in Ställe pferchen?

Wie kommt es dazu, dass der Mensch sich lediglich aufgrund der eigenen Artenzugehörigkeit allen anderen Spezies als überlegen begreift? Und was lässt sich diesem Speziezismus entgegensetzen? Bürgerrechte für Tiere? Oder komponierte Vogelstimmen?

Diesen Fragen geht der Salon „Von Menschen und Tieren – Salon über ein uraltes Mit- und Gegeneinander“ nach. Als Gäste erwarten Sie Frau Prof. Dr. Ursula Wolf (Philosophin, Universität Mannheim) und Dr. Rainer Hagencord (Philosophisch-Theologische Hochschule Münster).
Sie werden begleitet von Sänger*innen und Instrumentalist*innen der Komischen Oper Berlin.

Weiterlesen

Die Sprecher*innen 

Rainer Hagencord, geboren in Ahlen/Westfalen, studierte Theologie in Münster und Fribourg (Schweiz) sowie Biologie in Münster. Nach seiner Priesterweihe in 1987 etablierte er als Hochschulpfarrer in Münster schwerpunktmäßig das interdisziplinäre Gespräch zwischen Theologie und Biologie in der Gemeinde. Promotion in 2004 zum Dr. theol. mit dem Dissertationsthema „Das Tier: Eine Herausforderung für die christliche Anthropologie. Theologische und verhaltensbiologische Argumente für einen Perspektivenwechsel“. Dr. Rainer Hagencord ist seit 2009 Leiter des Instituts für Theologische Zoologie an der Philosophisch-Theologischen Hochschule Münster.

Schliessen

Ursula Wolf wurde 1951 in Karlsruhe geboren. Sie hat Philosophie und Klassische Philologie studiert, an der Universität Heidelberg bei Ernst Tugend promoviert und sich an der Freien Universität Berlin habilitiert. Nach Tätigkeiten an der FU Berlin und an der Universität Frankfurt nahm sie 1998 einen Ruf auf einen Lehrstuhl für Philosophie an der Universität Mannheim an, wo sie bis heute lehrt, ab Sommer 2019 als Seniorprofessorin. In der Philosophie interessiert sie sich besonders für die griechische Antike und für Handlungs- und Moraltheorie. Mit ihrem Buch Das Tier in der Moral (1990), das 2012 unter dem Titel Ethik der Mensch-Tier-Beziehung in stark überarbeiteter Form erneut erschienen ist, hat sie als eine der ersten die angelsächsische Debatte über Tierethik in Deutschland bekannt gemacht.

Schliessen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

12.02.2018

„Wohin mit der Demokratie?“

Zur Zukunft einer uralten Staatsform

23.04.2018

„Mikro, Makro, Markt?“

Zu den Auswirkungen einer globalisierten Marktwirtschaft

04.06.2018

„Holozän oder Anthropozän?“

Zur Bedeutung des Menschen in der Natur

05.11.2018

Erhebet die Stimme!

Salon über die menschliche Erzeugung von Klängen

07.01.2019, Berlin

Lasst es krachen!

Salon über unsichtbare Kräfte in der Physik und auf der Bühne

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram