Schering Stiftung

Symposium 

On Display – An Artistic View on Computational Neuroscience

Science and Society Sessions 2018

On Display – An Artistic View on Computational Neuroscience

Science and Society Sessions 2018

In June 2017, the Bernstein Network Computational Neuroscience launched an open call inviting artists to approach cutting-edge research questions in computational neuroscience from an artistic perspective. The open call was headlined “On Display – An Artistic View on Computational Neuroscience. ” In October, the Berlin-based Japanese artist Yutaka Makino was selected by an international jury of renowned professionals in science and art. Makino has an extensive interdisciplinary artistic profile at the intersection of art, music, philosophy, architecture and not least science. Over the course of the next months, he will be working closely with researchers from the Bernstein Network. The project’s outcome will be presented to the public at a Science & Society Session, funded by the Schering Stiftung, at the Bernstein Conference in Berlin on September 26–28, 2018.

Makino’s proposed installation provides a multisensory experimental set-up. It focuses on the perception of motion and spatial orientation, in particular on the subjective perception of time as a key influential factor. Subjective time perception is altered when people are asked to perform a mentally demanding task. As a result, people tend to perceive the time they need as shorter than the actual elapsed time. To Makino, it is thus well worth exploring how this altered perception of time also affects our perception of space and our self-orientation. In his set-up, an installation without stable markers, the experienced behaviours and memories of the visitors will be constantly challenged.

In the weeks and months to come, Makino intends to collaborate with the clinical neuroscientist Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h.c. Thomas Brandt and the head of the Center for Sensorimotor Research Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Glasauer, both scientists at the Bernstein Center for Computational Neuroscience in Munich. The artist is excited about this prospect: “I believe my practice enormously benefits from their research in motion perception and the perception of spatial orientation. Together with them and their teams, I hope to discover a research subject, which holds significance for both science and art.”

About the artist
Yutaka Makino was born in Tochigi, Japan in 1976. He studied Earth science, computer music and visual arts in Japan, the Netherlands and the USA. Since 2010, he lives and works in Berlin. On the basis of research into areas such as phenomenology, experimental psychology, psychoacoustics, neuroscience and systems theory, Makino probes the processes of perception in experimental setups. His performances and installations provide acoustically and visually conditioned environments that make processes of perception tangible to the perceivers and provoke reflection on the acts of perception.

Further information
The project is funded by the Ernst Schering Foundation and the Bernstein Association for Computational Neuroscience.

http://www.yutakamakino.com
http://www.bernstein-network.de

Read more

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the following partners:

Bernstein Netzwerk Computational Neuroscience

You might also be interested in

September 09, 2017

BacNet17 Conference

Science and Society Sessions 2017

September 29, 2017

6th Max Planck “Visions in Science” Conference

Science and Society Session 2017

March 11, 2018

Big Data Means Big Responsibility

The Use of Data in the Healthcare Sector

October 24, 2016

Ethical Dimensions in Clinical Trials

Science and Society Sessions 2016

 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Follow us!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube

Schering Stiftung

Symposium 

Auf dem (Bild)schirm: Computational Neuroscience im Blickwinkel der Kunst

Science und Society Sessions 2018

Auf dem (Bild)schirm: Computational Neuroscience im Blickwinkel der Kunst

Science und Society Sessions 2018

Im Juni 2017 lud das Bernstein Netzwerk Computational Neuroscience Künstler aus aller Welt ein, sich mit aktuellen Forschungsfragen der Computational Neuroscience auseinanderzusetzen und diese künstlerisch umzusetzen. Das Motto der Ausschreibung war “Auf dem (Bild)schirm: Computational Neuroscience im Blickwinkel der Kunst“. Im Oktober entschied sich die international besetzte Expertenjury aus Wissenschaft und Kunst für den in Berlin lebenden japanischen Künstler Yutaka Makino, in dessen Arbeiten sich Kunst, Musik, Philosophie, Architektur und nicht zuletzt Naturwissenschaft miteinander verweben. In den kommenden Monaten wird er eng mit Forschern des Bernstein Netzwerks zusammen arbeiten. Die Öffentlichkeit wird das Ergebnis des Projekts auf einer von der Schering Stiftung geförderten „Science & Society Session“ auf der Bernstein Konferenz vom 26.-28. September 2018 in Berlin sehen und erleben können.

Makino möchte einen multi-sensorischen experimentellen Aufbau realisieren und sich in diesem Projekt ganz auf die Wahrnehmung von Bewegung und räumlicher Orientierung fokussieren. Dabei interessiert ihn vor allem der Einfluss des subjektiven Zeitempfindens. Dieses ändert sich, wenn Personen gleichzeitig eine Bewegung ausführen und eine mental anspruchsvolle Aufgabe erfüllen sollen: Die vergangene Zeit wird kürzer wahrgenommen als die real vergangene Zeit. Makino möchte mit künstlerisch-wissenschaftlichen Mitteln erforschen, wie sich diese veränderte Zeitwahrnehmung auf unsere räumliche Wahrnehmung und unsere Orientierung auswirkt. In einem Versuchsaufbau, einer Installation ohne stabile räumliche Orientierungspunkte, werden die Erfahrungswerte und der Erinnerungsmuster der Besucher ständig herausgefordert.

In den kommenden Monaten möchte Makino mit dem klinischen Neurowissenschaftler Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h.c. Thomas Brandt und dem Geschäftsführer des Zentrums für Sensomotorik, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan Glasauer, beide Wissenschaftler am Bernstein Zentrum Computational Neuroscience in München, zusammenarbeiten: “Ich glaube, dass ich hier enorm von Brandts und Glasauers Forschung und Expertise im Bereich der Bewegungswahrnehmung und der räumlichen Orientierung profitieren kann. Zusammen mit diesen Forschern und ihren Teams, würde ich gerne in ein neues Forschungsthema vorstoßen, das sowohl im wissenschaftlichen wie auch im künstlerischen Kontext bedeutsam ist.“

Der Künstler

Yutaka Makino wurde 1976 in Tochigi in Japan geboren. Er studierte Geowissenschaften, Computermusik und Bildende Kunst in Japan, den Niederlanden und den USA. Seit 2010 lebt und arbeitet er in Berlin. Makino erforscht Wahrnehmungsprozesse mittels experimenteller Setups basierend auf Forschung in Phänomenologie, experimenteller Psychologie, Psychoakustik, den Neurowissenschaften und der Systemtheorie. Seine Darbietungen und Installationen stellen akustisch und visuell konditionierte Erlebniswelten dar, die den Prozess der Wahrnehmung für die Besucher erfahrbar machen und sie dazu anregen über die eigene Wahrnehmung zu reflektieren.

http://www.yutakamakino.com

Weiterlesen

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert:

Bernstein Netzwerk Computational Neuroscience

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

09.09.2017

Die BacNet17 Konferenz

Science und Society Sessions 2017

29.09.2017

6. Max-Planck-Konferenz „Visions in Science“

Science und Society Session 2017

11.03.2018

Big Data means Big Responsibility

Datennutzung im Gesundheitsbereich

24.10.2016

Ethical Dimensions in Clinical Trials

Science und Society Sessions 2016

 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube