Schering Stiftung

Symposium 

Prof. Dr. Reinhard Kurth

Prof. Dr. Reinhard Kurth
Photo: RKI, Ossenbrink

From Viruses to Vaccines

Prof. Dr. Reinhard Kurth
Photo: RKI, Ossenbrink

From Viruses to Vaccines

Date:

November 30, 2012

Venue:

Robert Koch-Institut
Berlin

For more information, please contact:
Andrea Bölling
Project Manager Science
boelling@scheringstiftung.de
+49 (0)30-20 62 29 60


There are three types of human retroviruses: human immunodeficiency viruses (HIV), human T-lymphotropic viruses (HTLV) that are able to cause a special type of leukemia, and endogenous human retroviruses (HERV), which have become integrated into the human genome during evolution and, like genes, can be passed on from generation to generation. Retroviruses are different from other viruses. They insert their genes into the genetic material of infected cells and stay there until a signal triggers the proliferation of the virus. The best-known retrovirus is HIV, which causes the immunodeficiency disease AIDS.

All three retrovirus families have been studied, with different emphasis, by Prof. Dr. Reinhard Kurth and his staff. On November 30, 2012, Reinhard Kurth will celebrate his 70th birthday. On this occasion, friends and colleagues will come together for a symposium at the Robert Koch Institute entitled “From Viruses to Vaccines” to honor him and his scientific work. Kurth will be praised as well for his successful work in various federal institutions and for his years of advising ministries and health authorities.

At the center of Reinhard Kurth’s scientific interest was the functional characterization of endogenous human retroviruses, the development of an HIV vaccine, and the examination of endogenous retroviruses of pigs, which may potentially do damage during future xenotransplantations of pig tissues or organs to humans. The recipient of numerous scientific awards and prizes, Reinhard Kurth in 1998 was appointed a member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences in recognition of his scientific achievements. Since 2008, he has been a member of the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina. In 2005, he received the Commander’s Cross of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany for special achievements in science and for his work at several federal institutes, most notably the Paul Ehrlich Institute in Langen and the Robert Koch Institute in Berlin. Since 2008, Reinhard Kurth has served as chairman of the Foundation Council of the Schering Stiftung.

Read more

You might also be interested in

Hybrid Encounters

Art meets Science

October 01, 2018

With All Our Senses

How We Interact With One Another

December 11, 2019, 45131 Essen

ArtScience 101: How to Organize an Art-Science Collaboration

Workshop at the 12th Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation

March 21, 2020

CANCELLED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE

On Smell

Symposium at the Intersection of Art and Science

January 08, 2020

LITTLE JOE – Happiness is Business

Series of discussions with X Verleih

November 07, 2020

Zheng Bo: Botanical Comrades

Plants Practice Politics

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Symposium 

Prof. Dr. Reinhard Kurth

Prof. Dr. Reinhard Kurth
Foto: RKI, Ossenbrink

From Viruses to Vaccines

Prof. Dr. Reinhard Kurth
Foto: RKI, Ossenbrink

From Viruses to Vaccines

Termin:

30.11.2012

Veranstaltungsort:

Robert Koch-Institut
Berlin

Weitere Informationen zu dem Symposium erhalten Sie bei:
Andrea Bölling
Projektmanagerin Wissenschaft
boelling@scheringstiftung.de
030-20 62 29 60


Es gibt drei Retrovirusfamilien des Menschen: die Humanen Immundefizienzviren (HIV), die Humanen T-lymphotropen Viren (HTLV), die eine besondere Form von Blutkrebs auslösen können, und die Humanen Endogenen Retroviren des Menschen (HERV), die sich bereits während der Evolution in das Erbgut integriert haben und wie Gene von Generation zu Generation weitergegeben werden. Retroviren sind anders als andere Viren. Sie bauen ihre Gene in das Erbmaterial der infizierten Zellen ein und bleiben dort, bis ein Signal die Virusvermehrung anstößt. Das bekannteste Retrovirus ist HIV, das die Immunschwächeerkrankung AIDS auslöst.

Alle drei Retrovirusfamilien sind, mit unterschiedlicher Schwerpunktsetzung, von Prof. Dr. Reinhard Kurth und seinen Mitarbeitern untersucht worden. Am 30. November 2012 wird Reinhard Kurth 70. Freunde und Wegbegleiter, Kollegen und Mitstreiter treffen sich aus diesem Anlass zu einem Symposium im Robert Koch-Institut, um mit ihren Beiträgen sein wissenschaftliches Werk „From Viruses to Vaccines“ nachzuverfolgen und ihn zu ehren. Besonders gewürdigt werden auch sein erfolgreiches Wirken in mehreren Bundesinstituten sowie seine langjährige Tätigkeit in der Beratung von Ministerien und Gesundheitsbehörden.

Mittelpunkt von Kurth’s wissenschaftlichem Interesse war die funktionelle Charakterisierung der endogenen Retroviren des Menschen, die Entwicklung eines HIV-Impfstoffes und die Untersuchung von endogenen Retroviren des Schweins, die möglicherweise bei einer zukünftigen Xenotransplantation von Schweinegewebe oder -organen auf den Menschen Schaden anrichten könnten. Reinhard Kurth wurde mit zahlreichen wissenschaftlichen Preisen ausgezeichnet, 1998 wurde er in Anerkennung seiner wissenschaftlichen Leistungen in die Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften berufen, seit 2008 ist er Mitglied der Leopoldina. Im Jahr 2005 erhielt er das Große Verdienstkreuz des Verdienstordens der Bundesrepublik Deutschland für besondere Leistungen in der Wissenschaft und erfolgreiches Wirken in mehreren Bundesinstituten, insbesondere am Paul-Ehrlich-Institut in Langen und an dem Berliner Robert Koch-Institut. Seit 2008 ist Reinhard Kurth Stiftungsratsvorsitzenden der Schering Stiftung.

Weiterlesen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

11.12.2019, 45131 Essen

ArtScience 101: So organisiere ich eine Kunst-Wissenschafts-Kollaboration

Workshop auf dem 12. Forum Wissenschaftskommunikation

21.03.2020

BIS AUF WEITERES ABGESAGT

Über Geruch

Symposium an der Schnittstelle von Kunst und Wissenschaft

08.01.2020

LITTLE JOE – Glück ist ein Geschäft

Diskussionsreihe mit X-Verleih

05.11.2018, Berlin

Natur der Wahrnehmung - Kunst der Täuschung

Ringvorlesung an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

17.01.2019

Beat Furrer und das Quatuor Diotima

Kooperation am Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin und Konzert bei Ultraschall Berlin – Festival für neue Musik

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram