Schering Stiftung

Symposium 

BacNet17 Conference

Science and Society Sessions 2017

BacNet17 Conference

Science and Society Sessions 2017

Date:

September 09, 2017

Venue:

Sant Feliu de Guixols, Spanien


The Bacterial Networks Conference (short: “BacNet”) is one of the most important science conferences: Every two years, it brings together leading representatives from the fields of molecular microbiology, systems biology, and synthetic biology from Europe and beyond. This year’s conference takes place in Sant Feliu de Guíxols north of Barcelona. On September 11, 2017, the conference hosts a Science & Society Session on “Bio-Fiction,” which aims to look at the conference’s key topics from an artistic and ethical perspective and to broaden the horizons of the conference participants. Invited guest speakers are Dr. Bang Wong and Dr. Markus Schmidt.

Dr. Bang Wong is creative director of the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard (USA). Trained in both science and art, he is able to develop strategies to visualize complex data. To this end, he develops new approaches to processing and communicating information, which go beyond words and numbers and can be transformed into images. In his lecture, Dr. Wong will present key principles of effective visual communication of complex biological phenomena and artistically illustrate them with examples. In addition, he will talk about his experiences with a current genome exhibition and his public outreach activities.

Dr. Markus Schmidt is a scientist at the Division of Microbial Ecology at the University of Vienna, Austria, and an experienced science communicator in the field of synthetic biology, who has for years dealt critically with this field. In his lecture, he will discuss potentials and risks, such as the release of modified (micro-)organisms into the environment or unforeseen damages, as well as ethical issues.

Bacterial Networks (BacNet17)
September 9–14, 2017
Sant Feliu de Guíxols, Spain

Further information, including program information, is available here. It is no longer possible to register for the conference.

The Schering Stiftung supports the Science & Society Session, since it is important to the foundation to introduce sociological, philosophical, ethical, and artistic perspectives into science and life science conferences. The Science & Society Sessions of the Schering Stiftung seek to inspire discussions that may help scientists gain new perspectives on their work and its broader impact and lead to novel interdisciplinary collaborations.

Read more

You might also be interested in

September 29, 2017

6th Max Planck “Visions in Science” Conference

Science and Society Session 2017

March 11, 2018

Big Data Means Big Responsibility

The Use of Data in the Healthcare Sector

October 24, 2016

Ethical Dimensions in Clinical Trials

Science and Society Sessions 2016

September 16, 2016

Pneumonia – A Common Disease

Science und Society Sessions 2016

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Follow us!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

Die BacNet17 Konferenz

Science und Society Sessions 2017

Die BacNet17 Konferenz

Science und Society Sessions 2017

Termin:

09.09.2017

Veranstaltungsort:

Sant Feliu de Guixols, Spanien


Die Bacterial-Networks-Konferenz (kurz „BacNet“) ist eine der wichtigsten wissenschaftlichen Konferenzen, die alle zwei Jahre die führenden VertreterInnen der Molekularen Mikrobiologie, Systembiologie und Synthetischen Biologie aus Europa und Übersee zusammenbringt. In diesem Jahr findet die Konferenz im spanischen Sant Feliu de Guíxols nördlich von Barcelona statt. Im Rahmen der Konferenz wird am 11. September 2017 die Science & Society Session „Bio-Fiction“ veranstaltet, um die zentralen Themen der Konferenz auch aus künstlerischer und ethischer Perspektive zu betrachten und den Blickwinkel der Konferenzteilnehmer zu erweitern. Als Gastreferenten werden Dr. Bang Wong und Dr. Markus Schmidt erwartet.

Dr. Bang Wong ist Kunstdirektor am Broad Institute des MIT Boston und Harvard, USA. Dank seiner naturwissenschaftlichen und künstlerischen Ausbildung ist er in der Lage, Strategien zur Visualisierung komplexer Daten auszuarbeiten. Dazu entwickelt er neue Ansätze, Zusammenhänge illustrativ zu verarbeiten und zu vermitteln, die über Wörter und Zahlen hinausgehen und in Bilder transformiert werden. In seinem Vortrag wird Dr. Wong Schlüsselprinzipien der effektiven visuellen Kommunikation komplexer biologischer Phänomene darstellen und diese mit Beispielen künstlerisch illustrieren. Darüber hinaus wird er von seinen Erfahrungen mit einer aktuellen Genomausstellung und der Kommunikation mit einem breiten Publikum berichten.

Dr. Markus Schmidt ist Wissenschaftler im Department für Mikrobielle Ökologie der Universität Wien, Österreich, und ein erfahrener Vermittler der Synthetischen Biologie, der sich seit Jahren kritisch mit diesem Fachgebiet auseinandersetzt. In seinem Vortrag wird er die Potenziale und Risiken, wie die Freisetzung von veränderten (Mikro-)Organismen in die Umwelt bzw. unvorhergesehene Schäden, sowie ethische Fragen diskutieren.

Bacterial Networks (BacNet17)
9. bis 14. September 2017
Sant Feliu de Guixols, Spanien

Weitere Informationen, insbesondere zum Programm, erhalten Sie hier. Eine Anmeldung zur Konferenz ist nicht mehr möglich.

Die Schering Stiftung fördert die Science & Society Session, da es ihr ein Anliegen ist soziologische, philosophische, ethische oder künstlerische Perspektiven in natur- und lebenswissenschaftliche Konferenz einzubringen. Ziel der Science & Society Sessions der Schering Stiftung ist es, Diskussionen anzuregen, die den Naturwissenschaftlern neue Blickwinkel auf ihre Arbeit und deren Außenwirkung eröffnen und zu neuartigen interdisziplinären Kooperationen führen können.

Weiterlesen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram