Schering Stiftung

Project 

Zheng Bo, After Science Garden, 2018. A collaborative project with Diane Willow. Katherine E. Nash Gallery, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis 2018.

Zheng Bo, After Science Garden, 2018. A collaborative project with Diane Willow. Katherine E. Nash Gallery, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis 2018.
Photo: Zheng Bo. Image courtesy of the artist and Edouard Malingue Gallery.

Zheng Bo: Botanical Comrades

Plants Practice Politics

Zheng Bo, After Science Garden, 2018. A collaborative project with Diane Willow. Katherine E. Nash Gallery, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis 2018.
Photo: Zheng Bo. Image courtesy of the artist and Edouard Malingue Gallery.

Zheng Bo: Botanical Comrades

Plants Practice Politics

Date:

November 07, 2020, 1–5 p.m.

Online event in English language. A link to the recording can be found here.


As this year’s Artist in Residence at the Gropius Bau, artist and theorist Zheng Bo explores how plants practice politics. Past and future are the central parameters of his politically and scientifically informed artistic practice, in which he deals with socio-economic themes and the relationship between humans and nature.

On 7 November, which marks the Solar Term Beginning of Winter (立冬) in the East Asian lunisolar calendar, artist and theorist Zheng Bo will be joined by biologists Regine Hengge, Roosa Laitinen and Matthias Rillig to speculate about how plants practice politics.

Zheng understands politics as a bodily practice that can only take place in exchange with others, particularly through interspecies relationships. For instance, trees are protected and nourished by fungi, while insects are responsible for pollination. Botanical Comrades 植物同志. Plants Practice Politics examines forms of interspecies communication and asks how hu-mans can take part in interspecies politics.

Program

13:00 – 14:00 Conversation and Live Diagramming with Regine Hengge & Zheng Bo

14:30 – 15:30 Walk with Roosa Laitinen & Zheng Bo

16:00 – 17:00 Round-Table-Discussion with Matthias Rillig, Roosa Laitinen, Regine Hengge & Zheng Bo

The event will be broadcast as a livestream. During the Round-Table-Discussion (16:00-17:00) viewers are invited to ask questions using the Vimeo Q&A tool.

Read more

Media library

Audio — September 10, 2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Episode 5: Zheng Bo and Tom Crowther

Go to audio

Podcast - Episode 5 

Zheng Bo: You are the 0.01% 

Artist talk — September 10, 2021

Based on the installation “You are the 0.01%”, the artist Zheng Bo and the ecologist Tom Crowther talk about the relationship between man and nature.

Learn more
Exhibition — June 22 – September 30, 2021

“We are the 99%. We are the 0.01%. We, the 99%, need the 99.99%. We humans must collaborate with nature and its life forms.” (Zheng Bo)

Learn more

As this year’s In House: Artist in Residence at the Gropius Bau, artist and theorist Zheng Bo explores how plants can become part of a political idea. Past and future are the central parameters of his politically and scientifically informed artistic practice, in which he deals with socio-economic themes and the relationship between humans and nature.

Close

Regine Hengge is a Professor of Microbiology and Principal Investigator at the excellence cluster Matters of Activity (MoA) at the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Using Escherichia coli as an example, her research group is investigating the genetic mechanisms and regulatory networks underlying the growth and morphogenesis of biofilms and their interaction with plants. In the context of MoA she works on the structure, form and function of biofilms with regard to design processes within and with “active matter”.

Close

Roosa Laitinen is head of the research group Molecular Mechanisms of Plant Adaptation at the Max Planck Institute in Potsdam. She investigates mechanisms of evolution in plants in order to understand how they respond to environmental changes. In her research, Laitinen uses the plant Arabidopsis thaliana, which grows naturally across the world in various habitats and is a model organism for genetics and molecular biology in plants.

Close

Matthias Rillig is Professor of Ecology at the Institute of Biology at the Freie Universität Berlin and head of the research group Ecology of Plants. Rillig is also director of the Berlin-Brandenburg Institute of Advanced Biodiversity Research. In his scientific work, he investigates the symbiosis of mycorrhizal fungi with plants as well as the effects of climate crisis and globalisation on soil processes and soil biodiversity. Rillig heads several joint projects, including µPlastic, which studies the effects of microplastics on agricultural soils.

Close

Partners 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

Zheng Bo, After Science Garden, 2018. Ein Projekt in Zusammenarbeit mit Diane Willow. Katherine E. Nash Gallery, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis 2018.

Zheng Bo, After Science Garden, 2018. Ein Projekt in Zusammenarbeit mit Diane Willow. Katherine E. Nash Gallery, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis 2018.
Foto: Zheng Bo. Courtesy der Künstler und Edouard Malingue Gallery.

Zheng Bo: Botanical Comrades

Plants Practice Politics

Zheng Bo, After Science Garden, 2018. Ein Projekt in Zusammenarbeit mit Diane Willow. Katherine E. Nash Gallery, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis 2018.
Foto: Zheng Bo. Courtesy der Künstler und Edouard Malingue Gallery.

Zheng Bo: Botanical Comrades

Plants Practice Politics

Termin:

07.11.2020, 13–17 Uhr

Online-Veranstaltung in englischer Sprache. Einen Link zur Aufzeichnung finden Sie hier.


Der Künstler und Theoretiker Zheng Bo beschäftigt sich 2020 als Artist in Residence im Gropius Bau mit Pflanzen als politischen Akteurinnen. Vergangenheit und Zukunft sind zentrale Parameter seiner politisch und wissenschaftlich informierten künstlerischen Praxis, in der er sich sozialökonomischen Themen und dem Verhältnis von Mensch und Natur widmet.

Am 7. November, der im ostasiatischen Lunisolarkalender den Winteranfang (立冬) einleitet, spekulierte der Künstler und Theoretiker Zheng Bo gemeinsam mit den Biolog*innen Regine Hengge, Roosa Laitinen und Matthias Rillig darüber, inwiefern wir Pflanzen als politische Akteurinnen begreifen können.

Zheng versteht Politik dabei als körperliche Praxis, die nur im Austausch mit anderen stattfinden kann. Dies wird vor allem in der Interaktion zwischen verschiedenen Arten deutlich: Bäume werden von Pilzen geschützt und ernährt, während Insekten für ihre Bestäubung verantwortlich sind. Botanical Comrades 植物同志. Plants Practice Politics untersucht daher unterschiedliche Formen der Kommunikation zwischen den Arten und stellt dabei zur Diskussion, wie Menschen an einer artenübergreifenden Form von Politik teilhaben können.

Programm

13:00 – 14:00 Gespräch und Live Diagramming mit Regine Hengge & Zheng Bo

14:30 – 15:30 Spaziergang mit Roosa Laitinen & Zheng Bo

16:00 – 17:00 Round-Table-Gespräch mit Matthias Rillig, Roosa Laitinen, Regine Hengge & Zheng Bo

Die Veranstaltung wurde als Livestream übertragen. Während des Round-Table-Gesprächs (16:00-17:00) konnten über die Vimeo Q&A-Funktion Fragen gestellt werden.

Weiterlesen

Mediathek

Audio — 10.09.2021

Schering Stiftung Podcast

Folge 5: Zheng Bo und Tom Crowther

Zum Audio

Podcast - Folge 5 

Zheng Bo: You are the 0.01% 

Künstlergespräch — 10.09.2021

Ausgehend von der Installation „You are the 0.01%“ sprechen der Künstler Zheng Bo und der Ökologe Tom Crowther über das Verhältnis von Mensch und Natur.

Mehr erfahren
Ausstellung — 22.06. – 30.09.2021

„Wir sind die 99 %. Wir sind das 0,01 %. Wir 99 % brauchen die 99,99 %. Wir Menschen müssen mit der Natur und ihren Lebensformen zusammenarbeiten.“ (Zheng Bo)

Mehr erfahren

Als diesjähriger In House: Artist in Residence im Gropius Bau beschäftigt sich Zheng Bo mit der Frage, wie wir Pflanzen als Teil einer politischen Idee begreifen können. Vergangenheit und Zukunft sind zentrale Parameter seiner politisch und wissenschaftlich informierten künstlerischen Praxis, in der er sich sozialökonomischen Themen und dem Verhältnis von Mensch und Natur widmet.

Schliessen

Regine Hengge ist Professorin für Mikrobiologie und Principal Investigator am Exzellenz-Cluster Matters of Activity (MoA) an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Am Beispiel von Escherichia coli untersucht ihre Forschungsgruppe u.a. die genetischen Mechanismen und regulatorischen Netzwerke, die dem Wachstum und der Morphogenese von Biofilmen und deren Interaktion mit Pflanzen zu Grunde liegen. Im Rahmen von MoA bearbeitet sie Struktur, Form und Funktion von Biofilmen im Hinblick auf Designprozesse in und mit „aktiver Materie“

Schliessen

Roosa Laitinen ist Leiterin der Forschungsgruppe Molekulare Mechanismen der Anpassung von Pflanzen am Max-Planck-Institut in Potsdam. Sie arbeitet zu Evolutionsmechanismen von Pflanzen und untersucht deren Reaktion auf Umweltveränderungen. Laitinens Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf der Pflanze Arabidopsis thaliana, die weltweit in verschiedenen Umgebungen vorkommt und als Modellorganismus für die Genetik und Molekularbiologie von Pflanzen gelten kann.

Schliessen

Matthias Rillig ist Professor für Ökologie am Institut für Biologie an der Freien Universität Berlin und leitet dort die Arbeitsgruppe Ökologie der Pflanzen. Er ist außerdem Direktor des Berlin-Brandenburgischen Instituts für Biodiversitätsforschung. In seiner wissenschaftlichen Arbeit beschäftigt er sich u.a. mit der Symbiose der Mykorrhizapilze mit Pflanzen sowie mit den Auswirkungen von Globalem Wandel auf Bodenprozesse und Bodenbiodiversität. Er leitet mehrere Verbundprojekte, unter anderem das Projekt µPlastic, das die Effekte von Mikroplastik auf landwirtschaftliche Böden untersucht.

Schliessen

Partner 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram