Schering Stiftung

Panel discussion 

WUNDERKAMMER

Mushrooms – Why we are not individuals

WUNDERKAMMER

Mushrooms – Why we are not individuals

Date:

September 09 – September 11, 2021

Venue:

Neuer St. Jacobi Friedhof and Kiezkapelle Neukölln
Hermannstr. 99-105
12051 Berlin

Tickets à 15 Euro/8 Euro (reduced) via Neuköllner Oper


We meet fascinating creatures at the autumnal Prinzessinnen-Garten. They make us marvel, sing, and see the world differently. Whatever you thought about mushrooms: mushrooms and humans are an inseparable team.

They are everywhere: in, around and between us. They keep us alive, break down pollutants in the atmosphere, change animal and plant behavior, and influence how humans feel and think. What’s more, mushrooms and expecially mycelia, their subterranean network of filaments, show fascinating patterns of intelligence, communication, and organization – including the fact that we are not individuals in the classical sense of the word. Do they offer inspiration to cope with the challenges of our time?

Together with the mycologist, microbiologist, and artist Vera Meyer and Jens Krause, an expert on swarm and organizational forms, as well as musicians, we embark on a journey through gardens, a chapel and a cemetery, becoming part of structures and a music that – from simply canons to complex polyphony – is a sensual mirror of what we experience.

 

Read more

WUNDERKAMMER 

Panel discussion — Series

The WUNDERKAMMER series of events combines music, science, and philosophy with a somewhat different view of the world, starting from selected everyday phenomena.

Learn more

Program flyer 

The speakers 

Vera Meyer is a biotechnologist and professor at the Technical University of Berlin, where she heads the Department of Applied and Molecular Microbiology. In her scientific research with fungi, she combines methods from the field of synthetic biology and systems biology in order to be able to produce drugs, proteins, platform chemicals and, more recently, building materials from fungi in the sense of a sustainable bioeconomy.  In addition, Vera Meyer is active as an artist under the pseudonym V. meer. In her artistic works, she translates the transformation and metabolic potential of her research objects into mushroom sculptures whose philosophical tone is subtle but unmistakable: nothing disappears in nature, everything is transformation.

Close

After a diploma degree at FU Berlin and a PhD thesis at the University of Cambridge, Jens Krause spent several years doing research at Mount Allison University in Canada and Princeton University in the USA before taking up a professorship at Leeds University in England. Since 2009, Jens Krause has been a professor of fish ecology at HU Berlin and at the Leibniz Institute of Freshwater Ecology and Inland Fisheries. He has been a member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities since 2014.

 

Close

Partners 

In Cooperation with Neuköllner Oper

Neuköllner Oper

You might also be interested in

November 12, 2021, Berlin

WUNDERKAMMER

The Marvel of the Human Body

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Podiumsdiskussion 

WUNDERKAMMER

Pilze – Warum wir keine Individuen sind

WUNDERKAMMER

Pilze – Warum wir keine Individuen sind

Termin:

09.09. – 11.09.2021

Veranstaltungsort:

Neuer St. Jacobi Friedhof und Kiezkapelle Neukölln
Hermannstr. 99-105
12051 Berlin

Tickets à 15 Euro/8 Euro (ermäßigt) über die Neuköllner Oper


Im herbstlichen Prinzessinnen-Garten begegnen wir faszinierenden Lebewesen. Sie lassen uns staunen, singen und die Welt anders sehen. Was auch immer Sie über Pilze dachten: Pilze und Menschen sind ein untrennbares Team.

Sie sind überall, in, um und zwischen uns. Sie halten uns am Leben, bauen Schadstoffe in der Atmosphäre ab, verändern das Verhalten von Tieren und Pflanzen und beeinflussen, wie wir Menschen fühlen und denken. Und: Pilze und vor allem Myzelien, ihr unterirdisches Geflecht aus fadenförmigen Ausläufern, zeigen faszinierende Muster von Intelligenz, Kommunikation und Organisation – auch, dass wir keine Individuen im klassischen Wortsinn sind. Inspirationen zur Bewältigung der Herausforderungen unserer Zeit?

Mit der Pilzexpertin, Mikrobiologin und Künstlerin Vera Meyer, dem Fachmann für Schwarm- und andere Organisationsformen Jens Krause und Musiker*innen begeben wir uns auf eine Reise durch Gärten, Kapelle und Friedhof, werden selbst Teil von Strukturen und einer Musik, die über einfache Kanons bis zu komplexer Polyphonie sinnliche Widerspiegelungen des Erlebten sind.

Weiterlesen

WUNDERKAMMER 

Podiumsdiskussion — Reihe

In der Veranstaltungsreihe WUNDERKAMMER verbinden sich Musik, Wissenschaft und Philosophie mit einem etwas anderen Blick auf die Welt, ausgehend von ausgewählten Phänomenen aus unserem Alltag.

Mehr erfahren

Programmflyer 

Die Sprecher*innen 

Vera Meyer ist Biotechnologin und Professorin an der Technischen Universität Berlin und leitet dort das Fachgebiet für Angewandte und Molekulare Mikrobiologie. In ihrer wissenschaftlichen Forschung mit Pilzen kombiniert sie Methoden aus dem Feld der synthetischen Biologie und der Systembiologie, um Medikamente, Proteine, Plattformchemikalien und neuerdings auch Baustoffe aus Pilzen im Sinne einer nachhaltigen Bioökonomie produzieren zu können.  Zudem ist Vera Meyer als Künstlerin unter dem Pseudonym V. meer aktiv. In ihren künsterlerischen Arbeiten übersetzt sie das Verwandlungs- und Stoffwechselpotential ihrer Forschungsobjekte in Pilzskulpturen, deren philosophischer Ton subtil aber unüberhörbar ist: nichts verschwindet in der Natur, alles ist Transformation.

Schliessen

Nach einem Diplomstudium an der Freien Universität Berlin und einer Doktorarbeit an der Universität in Cambridge, folgten mehrjährige Forschungsaufenthalte an der Mount Allison University in Kanada und an der Princeton University in den USA bevor Jens Krause eine Professur an der Leeds University in England übernahm. Seit 2009 ist Jens Krause ist Professor für Fischökologie an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und am Leibniz-Institut für Gewässerökologie und Binnenfischerei. Seit 2014 ist er Mitglied der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften.

Schliessen

Partner 

Die Veranstaltung wird in Kooperation mit der Neuköllner Oper realisiert.

Neuköllner Oper

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

12.11.2021, Berlin

WUNDERKAMMER

Wunderwerk Körper

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram