Schering Stiftung

Project 

NOVOFLOT, Kommander Kobyashi

NOVOFLOT, Kommander Kobyashi
Photo: © NOVOFLOT

Kommander Kobayashi – Première of the Operatic Saga

NOVOFLOT, Kommander Kobyashi
Photo: © NOVOFLOT

Kommander Kobayashi – Première of the Operatic Saga

Date:

January 21, 2005, 8–10 p.m.

Venue:

Sophiensæle
Sophienstraße 18
10178 Berlin

Performances in the Hamburg State Opera:
January 14, 15, 16, and February 4, 5, 6, 2005

Performances in the Sophiensæle, Berlin, as part of the UltraSchall Festival:
January 21, 22, 23 and 28, 29, 30, 2005


By bringing a science fiction plot to an opera house stage, the Berlin opera company NOVOFLOT took a courageous step. Based on an idea by Sebastian Bark and Sven Holm, “Kommander Kobayashi” pursues a new course both in terms of its contents and sequence of events. Thematically, the plot of the opera saga resembles that of a typical science fiction series: Kommander Kobayashi, the hero, leads the spaceship La Fenice and a handful of astronauts on a mysterious pursuit (or escape?) through space and time.

The saga is unfinished. It unfolds as a series of several short chamber operas written by different composers. Three operas together constitute a season and the program of an evening. The “operatic production thus becomes an odyssey through a hybrid and expanding universe of contemporary opera,” says the company NOVOFLOT of its production whose texts were written by Tobias Dusche. By supporting the “Kommander Kobayashi” project, the Schering Stiftung honors the opera company’s attempt to break the boundaries of standard musical theater productions and leave behind the “classic” form of opera.

The series, which was awarded the Ernst von Siemens Music Prize, opens with the pilot episode “4 Hermenauts.” The première of the first season will take place on January 14, 2005, in the Hamburg State Opera on the occasion of the opening of the Opera Stabile. “4 Hermenauts” consists of 4 scenes, with music written by the composers Moritz Eggert (Germany), Aleksandra Gryka (Poland), Ricardas Kabelis (Lithuania) and Juha T. Koskinen (Finland) respectively.

Further episodes of the operatic saga supported by the Schering Stiftung and the Federal Cultural Foundation (Bundeskulturstiftung) are “Kobayashi Sings (Under Foreign Stars),” composed by Helmut Oehring (Germany), and “Set Phasers on KILL!,” composed by Jennifer Walshe (Irleand), who will also assume a role on stage herself.

Read more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

NOVOFLOT, Kommander Kobyashi

NOVOFLOT, Kommander Kobyashi
Foto: © NOVOFLOT

Kommander Kobayashi – Uraufführung der Opernsaga

NOVOFLOT, Kommander Kobyashi
Foto: © NOVOFLOT

Kommander Kobayashi – Uraufführung der Opernsaga

Termin:

21.01.2005, 20–22 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Sophiensæle
Sophienstraße 18
10178 Berlin

Aufführungen Hamburgische Staatsoper:
14., 15., 16. Januar und 4., 5., 6. Februar 2005

Aufführungen Sophiensæle, Berlin, im Rahmen des UltraSchall Festivals:
21., 22., 23. und 28., 29., 30. Januar 2005


Mit ihrer Idee, eine Science-Fiction-Serie in ein Opernhaus zu versetzen, hat die Berliner Opernkompanie NOVOFLOT einen mutigen Schritt getan. Sowohl in Inhalt als auch im Ablauf geht „Kommander Kobayashi“, nach einer Idee von Sebastian Bark und Sven Holm, neue Wege. Thematisch orientiert sich die Opernsaga an für Science-Fiction-Serien typischen Plots: ihr Held Kommander Kobayashi führt das Raumschiff La Fenice und eine Handvoll Raumfahrer auf einer rätselhaften Suche (oder Flucht?) durch Raum und Zeit.

Die Saga ist unabgeschlossen. Sie entfaltet sich als Serie von mehreren kurzen Kammeropern von verschiedenen Komponisten. Drei Opern bilden zusammen eine Staffel und zugleich das Programm für einen Abend. „So wird die Opernsaga zur Odyssee durch ein hybrides und sich ausweitendes Universum zeitgenössischer Oper“, beschreibt die Kompanie NOVOFLOT ihre Produktion, deren Texte Tobias Dusche verfasst hat. Mit der Förderung des Projektes „Kommander Kobayashi“ honoriert die Schering Stiftung, dass diese Opernproduktion Grenzen des gewohnten Musiktheaters aufbricht und die „klassische Form“ der Oper zurücklässt.

Die mit dem Förderpreis der Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung ausgezeichnete Serie wird mit der Pilotfolge „4 Hermenauten“ eröffnet. Uraufführung der ersten Staffel ist am 14. Januar 2005 in der Hamburgischen Staatsoper anlässlich der Eröffnung der Opera Stabile. „4 Hermenauten“ besteht aus vier Szenen, von denen je eine von den Komponisten Moritz Eggert (Deutschland), Aleksandra Gryka (Polen), Ricardas Kabelis (Litauen) und Juha T. Koskinen (Finnland) vertont wurde.

Weitere Folgen der neben der Schering Stiftung durch die Bundeskulturstiftung geförderten Opernsaga sind „Kobayashi singt (unter fremden Sternen)“, komponiert von Helmut Oehring (Deutschland), sowie „set phasers on KILL!“, komponiert von Jennifer Walshe (Irland), die hierin selbst eine Gastrolle auf der Bühne übernehmen wird.

Weiterlesen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram