Schering Stiftung

Project 


Michael Müller, Self portrait, 2015 (Detail), pencil on paper, marble, colour

Michael Müller, Self portrait, 2015 (Detail), pencil on paper, marble, colour
Photo: © Michael Müller

WHO’S SPEAKING?

by Michael Müller

Michael Müller, Self portrait, 2015 (Detail), pencil on paper, marble, colour
Photo: © Michael Müller

WHO’S SPEAKING?

by Michael Müller

Duration:

October 21, 2014 – January 24, 2016

Opening hours:

Wed–Mon 11 am–7 pm, Thu 11 am–9 pm

Venue:

KW Institute for Contemporary Art
Auguststr. 69
10117 Berlin

Further information: www.kw-berlin.de


In continually changing formations cutting across all artistic genres, Michael Müller examines processes of composition and translation in visual art. Proceeding from the drawing medium and its specific strategies for visual invention at the boundary between line and form, idea and depiction, Müller transfers this tension from surface into space – and puts it to work as an installation. His first institutional solo exhibition “WHO’S SPEAKING?” at KW Institute for Contemporary Art Berlin brings together works from recent years with specifically-developed new productions which variously investigate the question of artistic authorship.

From Müller’s perspective, “who is speaking?” also means “what is being said?” and “why?” but also “who is listening?”; The exhibited works return time and again to the issue of how an artist becomes visible in his work. Each single piece stands at a pressure point between the application or transformation of historical and contemporary artistic codes, and the artist’s personal obsessions. For “WHO’S SPEAKING?” Müller has conceived new versions of two figures—Hermes and Hermaphroditos—who weave a web of references and connections between the individual works, and accompany the viewer throughout the exhibition. As the voice in a new sound installation, the protagonist of a video, or as a figurative sculpture that reverses the relationship between work and viewer, these two figures from Greek mythology appear in both expected and unexpected places, and link the content of exhibition’s two floors formally.

The exhibition is funded by Michael Heins (Herzogenrath), Geraldine Michalke, Ángel and Clara Nieto, Stephan Oehmen, Peppermint Holding GmbH, Schering Stiftung, Berlin, and Romina Polley. The catalog is funded by NATIONAL-BANK AG.

Read more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 


Michael Müller, SELBSTBILDNIS, 2015 (Detail), Bleistift auf Papier, Marmor, Farbe

Michael Müller, SELBSTBILDNIS, 2015 (Detail), Bleistift auf Papier, Marmor, Farbe
Foto: © Michael Müller

WER SPRICHT?

von Michael Müller

Michael Müller, SELBSTBILDNIS, 2015 (Detail), Bleistift auf Papier, Marmor, Farbe
Foto: © Michael Müller

WER SPRICHT?

von Michael Müller

Laufzeit:

21.10.2014 – 24.01.2016

Öffnungszeiten:

Mi–Mo 11–19 Uhr, Do 11–21 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

KW Institute for Contemporary Art
Auguststr. 69
10117 Berlin

Weitere Informationen: www.kw-berlin.de


In ständig sich verändernden Formationen und quer durch alle künstlerischen Genres thematisiert Michael Müller die Gestaltungs- und Übersetzungsprozesse Bildender Kunst. Ausgehend vom Medium Zeichnung und deren spezifischen Strategien der Bildfindung an der Grenze zwischen Linie und Gestalt, Idee und Abbild, überträgt der Künstler dieses Spannungsverhältnis aus der Fläche in den Raum und setzt es installativ ins Werk. Seine erste institutionelle Einzelausstellung „WER SPRICHT?“ in den KW Institute for Contemporary Art bringt Werke der vergangenen Jahre mit eigens entwickelten Neuproduktionen zusammen, die sich auf unterschiedliche Weise der Frage nach künstlerischer Autorschaft stellen.

„Wer spricht?“ bedeutet aus Müllers Perspektive auch: „was wird gesagt?“ und „warum wird gesprochen?“; aber auch „wer hört zu?“ Die gezeigten Arbeiten gehen immer wieder neu von der Frage aus, inwieweit ein Künstler in seinen Werken selbst sichtbar wird. Jedes einzelne Werk verortet sich im Spannungsverhältnis von Anwendung oder Umformung historischer wie gegenwärtiger künstlerischer Codes und den persönlichen Obsessionen des Künstlers. Für „WER SPRICHT?“ konzipiert Müller zwei Figuren – Hermes und Hermaphroditos – die ein Netz von Bezugnahmen und Verbindungen zwischen einzelnen Arbeiten weben und den Betrachter durch die Ausstellung begleiten. Sei es als Stimme in einer neuen Soundinstallation, als Protagonist eines Videos oder auch als figurative Skulptur, die das Werk-Betrachter-Verhältnis umkehrt – diese beiden Gestalten aus der griechischen Mythologie erscheinen an vermuteten wie unvermuteten Orten gleichermaßen.

Die Ausstellung wird gefördert durch Michael Heins (Herzogenrath), Geraldine Michalke, Ángel und Clara Nieto, Stephan Oehmen, Peppermint Holding GmbH, die Schering Stiftung, Berlin, sowie Romina Polley. Der Katalog wird gefördert durch die NATIONAL-BANK AG.

Weiterlesen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram