Schering Stiftung

Project 


Christian Marclay: Screen Play, 2005

Christian Marclay: Screen Play, 2005
Photo: Courtesy the artist and Paula Cooper Gallery, New York

Saâdane Afif: Vice de forme, 2009

Saâdane Afif: Vice de forme, 2009
Photo: Afif Office, Courtesy of the artist and Mehdi Chouakri

Jorinde Voigt: Partitur Radical Relaxation (I) bis (VII) Stress + Freiheit (Rousseau), P. Sloterdijk, Berlin 2016:

Jorinde Voigt: Partitur Radical Relaxation (I) bis (VII) Stress + Freiheit (Rousseau), P. Sloterdijk, Berlin 2016:
Photo: Courtesy of the artist

SCORES

Saâdane Afif, Christian Marclay, Ari Benjamin Meyers, Jorinde Voigt

SCORES

Saâdane Afif, Christian Marclay, Ari Benjamin Meyers, Jorinde Voigt

Duration:

October 28 – November 13, 2016

Exhibition opening:

Thursday, 27. October 2016, 7–9 p.m.

Opening hours:

Tue, Wed, Fri 10 a.m. – 6 p.m., Thu 10 a.m. – 8 p.m., Sat + Sun 11 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Venue:

Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin
Invalidenstr. 50/51
10557 Berlin

Get tickets for concerts from: www.reservix.de

Curators:
Ingrid Buschmann / Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V.
Gabriele Knapstein / Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin

Further information:
http://www.freunde-guter-musik-berlin.de/
www.smb.museum/hbf


The exhibition and concert project SCORES in the series “Works of Music by Visual Artists,” which opens at Hamburger Bahnhof on October 27, 2016, at 7 p.m., is devoted to the subject of the musical score, which since the 1960s has been understood as a varied and versatile recording medium going well beyond traditional notation. The contributions by Saâdane Afif, Christian Marclay, Ari Benjamin Meyers, and Jorinde Voigt use different media – text and object, video and comic, drawing and concept – to make this subject the focus of an exhibition accompanied by concerts. Since 2005, the Schering Stiftung has repeatedly supported the series “Works of Music by Visual Artists,” which was initiated by the association Verein Freunde Guter Musik Berlin and has supported such important artists as Carsten Nicolai (2005), Ryoji Ikeda (2012), and Susan Philipsz (2014).

Despite their differing approaches, all the selected artists are interested in the transformation of one medium into another, a process that is accomplished in close collaboration with the participating musicians. The scores are presented as drawings, objects, lyrics, graphic-photographic-film notation, and as concepts that generate musical events and performances. Almost all of the works presented on a grand scale in the Rieckhallen of the Hamburger Bahnhof have been recently created on commission; they will be performed, piece by piece, in the spaces in which they are exhibited.

“Vice de forme: Das Kabarett,” a work developed by Saâdane Afif together with the composer Augustin Maurs, will be presented in both an opening event and a concert on the last day of the exhibition. A Yamaha player piano will play “First Notes,” recorded at the opening, during the exhibition.

Christian Marclay’s new comic book “To Be Continued” will be performed by ensemBle baBel. Also on view by the artist are a video film collage and a slideshow which serve as musical scores for the ensemble and the performer Shelley Hirsch and Elliott Sharp. All of these works are being presented for the first time in Berlin.

The first four chapters of “Song of the Earth,” a projected eight-part cycle of drawings currently being created by Jorinde Voigt, will be on view and partly performed by Ensemble zeitkratzer. Audio recordings from the concerts devoted respectively to the works of Marclay and Voigt will afterward play in their areas of the exhibition.

Ari Benjamin Meyers has developed a series of “Meta-Scores,” inspired by Sol LeWitt’s “Instruction Pieces;” each day, they will be newly translated and performed by the composer Wojtek Blecharz and the flautist Susanne Fröhlich. On the exhibition’s last day, all the interpretations created and rehearsed during the exhibition will be performed once more, now by heart.

A project by Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V. in cooperation with Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin. With support from Elektronisches Studio der TU Berlin – Fachgebiet Audiokommunikation. Made possible by funding from Hauptstadtkulturfonds and Schering Stiftung.

Read more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 


Christian Marclay: Screen Play, 2005

Christian Marclay: Screen Play, 2005
Foto: Courtesy the artist and Paula Cooper Gallery, New York

Saâdane Afif: Vice de forme, 2009

Saâdane Afif: Vice de forme, 2009
Foto: Afif Office, Courtesy of the artist and Mehdi Chouakri

Jorinde Voigt: Partitur Radical Relaxation (I) bis (VII) Stress + Freiheit (Rousseau), P. Sloterdijk, Berlin 2016:

Jorinde Voigt: Partitur Radical Relaxation (I) bis (VII) Stress + Freiheit (Rousseau), P. Sloterdijk, Berlin 2016:
Foto: Courtesy of the artist

SCORES

Saâdane Afif, Christian Marclay, Ari Benjamin Meyers, Jorinde Voigt

SCORES

Saâdane Afif, Christian Marclay, Ari Benjamin Meyers, Jorinde Voigt

Laufzeit:

28.10. – 13.11.2016

Ausstellungseröffnung:

Donnerstag, 27. Oktober 2016, 19–21 Uhr

Öffnungszeiten:

Di, Mi, Fr 10 – 18 Uhr, Do 10 – 20 Uhr, Sa + So 11 – 18 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin
Invalidenstr. 50/51
10557 Berlin

Ticketvorverkauf Konzerte: www.reservix.de

Kuratorinnen:
Ingrid Buschmann / Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V.
Gabriele Knapstein / Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof

Weitere Informationen:
www.freunde-guter-musik-berlin.de
www.smb.museum/hbf


Das Ausstellungs- und Konzertprojekt SCORES in der Reihe „Musikwerke Bildender Künstler“ widmet sich dem Thema der musikalischen Partitur, die seit den 1960er Jahren über die traditionelle Notation hinaus als vielfältiges Aufzeichnungsmedium verstanden wird. Die Beiträge von Saâdane Afif, Christian Marclay, Ari Benjamin Meyers und Jorinde Voigt rücken die Thematik in verschiedenen Medien – Text und Objekt, Video und Comic, Zeichnung und Konzept – in den Fokus einer Ausstellung, die von Konzerten begleitet wird. Bereits seit 2005 hat die Schering Stiftung wiederholt die Reihe „Musikwerke Bildender Künstler“ unterstützt, die vom Verein Freunde Guter Musik Berlin ins Leben gerufen wurde, und damit so bedeutende Künstler gefördert wie Carsten Nicolai (2005), Ryoji Ikeda (2012) und Susan Philipsz (2014).

Trotz unterschiedlicher Ansätze interessieren sich alle ausgewählten Künstler/innen für die Transformation eines Mediums in ein anderes, einen Prozess, der sich in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den beteiligten Musiker/innen vollzieht. Bei den vorgestellten Partituren handelt es sich um Zeichnungen, Objekte, Liedtexte, grafische-fotografische-filmische Notationen und Konzepte, die musikalische Ereignisse und Aufführungen generieren. Fast alle der in den Rieckhallen des Hamburger Bahnhofs großzügig präsentierten Werke sind als Auftragsarbeiten neu entstanden; sie werden Schritt für Schritt in den Räumen, in denen sie ausgestellt sind, aufgeführt.

Von Saâdane Afif wird die gemeinsam mit dem Komponisten Augustin Maurs entwickelte Arbeit „Vice de forme: Das Kabarett“ vorgestellt, die mit einer Performance zum Auftakt sowie einem Konzert am letzten Tag der Ausstellung verbunden ist. Während der Ausstellung lässt ein Yamaha Player Piano die beim Auftakt eingespielten „First Notes“ erklingen.

Von Christian Marclay wird das neu produzierte Comic-Heft „To Be Continued“ vom ensemBle baBel musikalisch umgesetzt. Außerdem sind eine Video-Film-Collage und eine Dia-Show des Künstlers zu sehen, die dem Ensemble und den Performern Elliott Sharp und Shelley Hirsch als musikalische Partituren dienen. Alle diese Werke sind erstmals in Berlin zu erleben.

Aus dem aktuell entstehenden achtteiligen Zeichnungszyklus „Song of the Earth“ von Jorinde Voigt werden die ersten vier Kapitel präsentiert und zum Teil vom Ensemble zeitkratzer musikalisch realisiert. Im Falle der Werke von Marclay und Voigt sind während der Laufzeit der Ausstellung Audiomitschnitte der Konzerte zu hören.

Ari Benjamin Meyers hat eine Serie von „Meta-Partituren“ entwickelt, inspiriert von Sol LeWitts „Instruction Pieces“, die täglich neu vom Komponisten Wojtek Blecharz und der Flötistin Susanne Fröhlich übersetzt und gespielt werden. Am letzten Tag der Ausstellung werden sämtliche vor Ort entstandenen und einstudierten Interpretationen aus der Erinnerung heraus vorgetragen.

Eine Veranstaltungsreihe von Freunde Guter Musik Berlin e.V. in Zusammenarbeit mit der Nationalgalerie, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin. Mit Unterstützung durch das Elektronische Studio der TU Berlin – Fachgebiet Audiokommunikation. Gefördert durch den Hauptstadtkulturfonds und die Schering Stiftung.

Weiterlesen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram