Schering Stiftung

Prize winner 

Prof. Dr. Michael J. Berridge - Ernst Schering Prize 1999

Prof. Dr. Michael J. Berridge - Ernst Schering Prize 1999

Michael J. Berridge

Ernst Schering Prize 1999

Prof. Dr. Michael J. Berridge - Ernst Schering Prize 1999

Michael J. Berridge

Ernst Schering Prize 1999


Professor Sir Michael J. Berridge from The Babraham Institute in Cambridge, will receive the Ernst Schering Prize 1999. The renowned scientist is awarded the DM 75,000 prize by the Ernst Schering Research Foundation for his fundamental work in the field of calcium signal transduction. Berridge had an important part in studying the mechanisms that control the signal effects of calcium inside the cell. He elucidated the role of calcium as a transmitter in the internal communication network of cells.

What makes a dairy meal more substantial than a steak? Every mother knows the solution and is familiar with the importance of calcium for her child’s healthy growth. But calcium is not only the main structural component of bones. It can do much more: From the moment when life starts until the natural death of cells there is hardly any physiological process that is not influenced by the transmitter calcium. Directly after an egg and a sperm have fused, calcium ions pulse through the fertilised egg at regular intervals, thus starting the developmental programme. Professor Berridge has for many years researched the various properties of calcium as a transmitter at the molecular level.

Inside the cell, an unbelievable number of biochemical reactions, all happening at the same time, must be managed and controlled. In order to allow a practicable organisation of these processes, cells are divided into specialised “compartments.” Any incoming news is registered first via specific signal trigger molecules (receptors) on the cell surface. For informations through the cellular “news agency,” calcium is very often the key.
How can such a simple and ubiquitous substance influence such diverse processes as fertilisation, cell division, cell breathing, contraction of muscles or memory?

Every cell contains calcium depots that are separate from the other compartments. Berridge has shown that via external signals calcium can be mobilised from these depots. Using imaging techniques he observed that at first calcium is released locally, in defined amounts and short pulses. This is sufficient for sending “local news” inside the cell over short distances. But what about “world news”? Just like a VHF radio signal, the power of the signal derives from the number of calcium pulses over time, i.e. the frequency. High frequencies induce the release of calcium in adjacent regions and thus relay the signal throughout the cell.

Altogether, this versatile signalling system offers innumerable possibilities for managing cell processes. Calcium signals can be selectively sent to a specific cell compartment, resulting in a local control process. Or they can trigger additional calcium signals which then spread over the whole cell like a wave.

Professor Berridge’s work offers the foundation for answering many unsolved questions in basic research. In the future, it could also help to develop new ideas for therapy. Calcium pulses in healthy tissue are tightly regulated in both time and space. If this regulation fails, e.g. after a stroke, the result will be an uncontrolled increase of calcium concentration, leading to cell death in the affected region of the brain.

Read more

Side events 

Award Ceremony

September 23, 1999
Ernst Schering Prize 1999

Turku, Finnland

Downloads 

Curriculum Vitae

Michael J. Berridge

Download File

You might also be interested in

September 30, 2020

Jens Claus Brüning

Ernst Schering Prize 2020

September 24, 2019

Patrick Cramer

Ernst Schering Prize 2019

September 26, 2018

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Prize 2018

September 25, 2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Prize 2017

September 26, 2016

Franz-Ulrich Hartl

Ernst Schering Prize 2016

September 28, 2015

David MacMillan

Ernst Schering Prize 2015

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Preisträger*in 

Prof. Dr. Michael J. Berridge - Ernst Schering Preis 1999

Prof. Dr. Michael J. Berridge - Ernst Schering Preis 1999

Michael J. Berridge

Ernst Schering Preis 1999

Prof. Dr. Michael J. Berridge - Ernst Schering Preis 1999

Michael J. Berridge

Ernst Schering Preis 1999


Professor Sir Michael J. Berridge vom Babraham Institute in Cambridge, erhält den Ernst Schering Preis 1999. Der renommierte Forscher erhält den von der Schering Forschungsgesellschaft (SFG) verliehenen und mit 75.000 DM dotierten Preis für seine grundlegenden Arbeiten auf dem Gebiet der Signalübertragung durch Calcium. Berridge war maßgeblich an der Erforschung der Mechanismen beteiligt, die die Signalwirkung von Calcium im Innern von Zellen steuern. Er klärte die Rolle von Calcium als Übermittler im internen Kommunikationsnetzwerk von Zellen auf.

Was macht eine Milchmahlzeit wertvoller als ein kleines Steak? Jede Mutter kennt die Lösung und weiß, wie wichtig Calcium für die Gesundheit und das Wachstum ihres Kindes ist. Calcium ist nicht nur strukturbildender Bestandteil der Knochen. Es kann viel mehr: Von dem Moment an, in dem Leben entsteht, bis zum natürlich gesteuerten Zelltod gibt es kaum einen physiologischen Vorgang, der nicht durch den Botenstoff Calcium beeinflusst wird. Unmittelbar nachdem Samen und Eizelle miteinander verschmolzen sind, durchfluten Calcium-Ionen in regelmäßigen Abständen die befruchtete Eizelle und starten so das Entwicklungsprogramm. Seit vielen Jahren erforscht Professor Berridge auf molekularer Ebene die Vielseitigkeit von Calcium als Botenstoff.

Innerhalb von Zellen muss eine unvorstellbare Anzahl von biochemischen Reaktion gleichzeitig verwaltet und gesteuert werden. Um dies sinnvoll organisieren zu können, sind Zellen in spezialisierte Abteilungen eingeteilt, sogenannte Kompartimente. Eingehende Nachrichten werden von einer Zelle zunächst durch spezifische Andockstellen (Rezeptoren) an ihrer Oberfläche registriert. Bei der Weiterleitung der Signale innerhalb der Nachrichtenagentur Zelle kommt häufig Calcium ins Spiel. Wie aber kann eine so einfache und überall vorkommende Substanz so verschiedenartige Vorgänge wie Befruchtung, Zellteilung, Zellatmung, Muskelkontraktion oder Gedächtnisleistung beeinflussen?

Jede Zelle enthält in ihrem Innern Calcium-Speicher, die von den anderen Kompartimenten abgegrenzt sind. Berridge zeigte, dass Calcium durch äußere Signale aus diesen Speichern mobilisiert werden kann. Mit Hilfe moderner bildgebender Verfahren beobachtete er, dass die Freisetzung von Calcium zunächst lokal begrenzt und in definierten Mengen in Form von kurzen Pulsen erfolgt. Dies reicht, um Lokalnachrichten gezielt über kurze Entfernungen innerhalb der Zelle zu übermitteln. Doch was ist mit überregionalen Nachrichten? Wie bei einem UKW-Radiosignal ergibt sich die Signalstärke aus der zeitlichen Abfolge von einzelnen Calcium-Pulsen, der Frequenz. Hohe Frequenzen regen die Calciumfreisetzung in benachbarten Regionen an, und führen so zu einer Signalausbreitung.
Insgesamt eröffnen sich so zahllose Möglichkeiten für die Steuerung von Zellprozessen: Calcium-Signale können gezielt an eine Abteilung in der Zelle „gefunkt“ werden, also lokal begrenzt wirken. Oder sie lösen weitere Calcium-Signale aus, die sich wie eine Welle über die gesamte Zelle ausbreiten.

Die Arbeiten von Professor Berridge bilden die Basis zur Beantwortung zahlreicher Fragestellungen in der Grundlagenforschung. In Zukunft könnten sie auch bei der Entwicklung neuer Therapieansätze Bedeutung gewinnen: So unterliegen die Calcium-Pulse im gesunden Gewebe einer genauen zeitlichen und räumlichen Kontrolle. Bricht diese, etwa bei einem Schlaganfall, zusammen und steigt in Folge die Calcium-Konzentration unkontrolliert an, wird so der Zelltod in dieser Gehirnregion ausgelöst.

Weiterlesen

Begleitveranstaltungen 

Preisverleihung

23.09.1999
Ernst Schering Preis 1999

Turku, Finnland

Downloads 

Lebenslauf

Michael J. Berridge

Datei laden

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

24.09.2019

Patrick Cramer

Ernst Schering Preis 2019

26.09.2018

Bonnie L. Bassler

Ernst Schering Preis 2018

25.09.2017

Elly Tanaka

Ernst Schering Preis 2017

26.09.2016

Franz-Ulrich Hartl

Ernst Schering Preis 2016

28.09.2015

David MacMillan

Ernst Schering Preis 2015

23.09.2014

Magdalena Götz

Ernst Schering Preis 2014

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram