Schering Stiftung

Promotion of young researchers 

Image Knowledge Gestaltung

Theme Course 2015-2016

Image Knowledge Gestaltung

Theme Course 2015-2016

As part of its programs to promote young talents, the Schering Stiftung has participated in the Germany Scholarship program of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research since the 2012 summer term. The Humboldt University launched a pilot project called “theme courses” in the 2013 summer term. Students from a variety of disciplines meet regularly over the course of one year to work on a joint research project. After the big success of the 2013 and 2014 theme courses, the project will be continued in 2015 in cooperation with the “Image Knowledge Gestaltung” cluster of excellence.

Fifteen bachelor’s and master’s students from disciplines as diverse as biophysics/physics, the social sciences, cultural studies, art and image history, European ethnology, psychology, business informatics, and philosophy will meet regularly over the course of one year. In groups of up to three, the scholarship recipients will do research on one of seven base projects at the interdisciplinary “Image Knowledge Gestaltung” laboratory.

Situated at the disciplinary intersection of the cultural and natural sciences, the project Analog Storage Media investigates analogous memory processes to gain knowledge that might become productive for future storage technologies. Among other things, “historical” storage media such as records are tested experimentally using state-of-the-art technologies and knowledge.

The second base project is called “The Anthropocene Kitchen: A Laboratory Connecting Home and World.” The term “anthropocene” denotes the fact that human activity is changing the planet on a global scale. The base project links this topic with a key human activity, eating.The kitchen is the place where individuals shape global flows of material and energy as well as social, economic and cultural relations. The Anthropocene Kitchen is concerned with analyzing these connections and developing concepts on how to design, organize and configure these connections in the future.

The base project “The Epistemic Reverse Side of Instrumental Images” engages in research on, among other things, the analysis and recognition of facial expressions. A 3D facial expression archives forms the data basis for a statistical analysis, which makes it possible to identify relevant facial form and surface patterns. A key aspect is computing a similarity value between faces with the aid of an algorithm. Traditional mathematical similarity metrics only partly reflect human perception.

A central object of research of the base project “Experiment & Observation” is interdisciplinary collaboration – in science in general and in the “Image Knowledge Gestaltung” cluster of excellence in particular. The aim is to investigate the broader obstacles and to apply the insights to the particular obstacles encountered in interdisciplinary collaboration. We may perhaps learn more about the knowledge processes in research contexts if we deliberately shape and organize the obstacles to these processes.

As part of the fifth base project “Gender & Gestaltung,” the scholarship recipients take a look at the relationship between image, knowledge, Gestaltung, and gender. Gender is not just a biological category but a site of social practice in all areas of life, e.g. in negotiations about “race” and (national) identity. The following questions will be dealt with: How does knowledge come into being? How does normativity come into being? How do systematizations and categorizations come into being? What role do images play in these processes?

As part of its interdisciplinary research program “Re-Inventing the Patient,” the “Health & Gestaltung” project investigates current factors that influence and shape patient care both within and outside the hospital: Researchers in the fields of medicine, architecture, design, game studies, IT, ethnology, and cultural studies analyze the design and organization of clinical treatment processes as well as of the rooms and concrete objects involved in patient care.

The seventh base project “Historical Structural Investigations in the Laboratory” deals with historical descriptions and illustrations of natural structures. The base project links historically oriented structural research with current laboratory research in material science. One of the central works for the base project are the report of the H.M.S. Challenger Expedition (1873-1876).

The theme courses aim to provide Germany Scholarship recipients with insight into current research projects at an early stage in their studies, in order to enable them to develop and present their own ideas. Conversely, the participating scientists hope that the scholarship recipients’ thirst for knowledge and fresh views will stimulate and inspire them to critically interrogate scientific theories, including their own, and develop new perspectives.

In selecting the participants for its theme course, the Schering Stiftung, true to its program focus, paid particular attention to the fact that the students were interested in the arts or the sciences over and beyond their own discipline.

Read more

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the following partners:

You might also be interested in

April 01, 2018

Natur der Wahrnehmung – Kunst der Täuschung

Theme Course 2018-2019

April 01, 2017, Berlin

Image Knowledge Gestaltung

Theme Course 2017-2018

April 01, 2016, Berlin

Image Knowledge Gestaltung

Theme Course 2016-2017

April 01, 2014, Berlin

Image Knowledge Gestaltung

Theme Course 2014-2015

April 01, 2013, Berlin

Aging and Age

Theme Course 2013-2014

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Nachwuchsförderung 

Bild Wissen Gestaltung

Themenklasse 2015-2016

Bild Wissen Gestaltung

Themenklasse 2015-2016

Im Rahmen ihrer Nachwuchsförderung beteiligt sich die Schering Stiftung seit dem Sommersemester 2012 an dem Programm „Deutschlandstipendium“ des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung. Die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin (HUB) rief im Sommersemester 2013 das Modellprojekt „Themenklasse für Deutschlandstipendiaten“ ins Leben. Studenten unterschiedlicher Fachrichtungen treffen sich ein Jahr regelmäßig und forschen gemeinsam an einem Thema. Nach dem großen Erfolg der Themenklassen in den Jahren 2013 und 2014 wird das Projekt auch im Jahr 2015 mit dem Exzellenzcluster „Bild Wissen Gestaltung“ fortgeführt.

15 Bachelor- und Master-Studenten aus so unterschiedlichen Fachrichtungen wie Biophysik/ Physik, Sozial- und Kulturwissenschaften, Kunst- und Bildgeschichte, Europäische Ethnologie, Psychologie, Wirtschaftsinformatik und Philosophie werden sich ein Jahr lang regelmäßig treffen. In Gruppen von bis zu drei Studenten werden die Stipendiaten an einem von sieben Basisprojekten im interdisziplinären Labor „Bild Wissen Gestaltung“ forschen.

Das Basisprojekt »Analogspeicher« untersucht an der Schnittstelle von Kultur- und Naturwissenschaften analoge Speicherverfahren, um ein Wissen zu gewinnen, das für zukünftige Speichertechnologien produktiv werden könnte. Dabei werden u.a. »historische« Speichermedien wie die Schallplatte mit aktuellen Technologien und Wissen einer experimentellen Prüfung unterzogen.

Das zweite Basisprojekt trägt den Namen »Die Anthropozän-Küche. Ein Labor der Verknüpfung von Haus und Welt«. Der Begriff des Anthroprozäns benennt den Umstand, dass das menschliche Handeln die Erde im globalen Maßstab verändert. Das Basisprojekt verbindet dieses Thema mit einer zentralen Ebene des menschlichen Handelns, der Ernährung. Die Küche ist der Ort, an dem das Individuum die sich global erstreckenden Stoff- und Energieflüsse sowie soziale, wirtschaftliche und kulturelle Beziehungen gestaltet. Die Anthropozänküche widmet sich einer Analyse dieser Zusammenhänge und der Entwicklung von Konzepten ihrer zukünftigen Gestaltung.

Im Basisprojekt »Epistemische Rückseite instrumenteller Bilder« wird u.a. zu der Analyse und Erkennung von Gesichtsausdrücken geforscht. Ein 3D-Mimik-Archiv bildet die Datengrundlage für eine statistische Analyse, die die Identifikation relevanter Muster in Gesichtsform und -oberfläche ermöglicht. Einen wesentlichen Aspekt stellt hierbei die Berechnung eines Ähnlichkeitswertes zwischen Gesichtern mit Hilfe eines Algorithmus dar. Übliche mathematische Ähnlichkeitsmaße spiegeln jedoch nur bedingt die menschliche Wahrnehmung wider.

Ein zentrales Untersuchungsobjekt des Basisprojekts »Experiment & Beobachtung« ist die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit – in der Wissenschaft im Allgemeinen und im Exzellenzcluster »Bild Wissen Gestaltung« im Speziellen. Es sollen Hindernisse im Allgemeinen untersucht und das gewonnene Wissen auf die speziellen Hindernisse der interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit übertragen werden. Vielleicht können wir mehr über die Erkenntnisprozesse in komplexen Forschungszusammenhängen erfahren, wenn wir deren Hindernisse bewusst gestalten.

Im fünften Basisprojekt »Gender & Gestaltung« betrachten die Stipendiaten das Verhältnis zwischen Bild, Wissen, Gestaltung und Gender. Geschlecht ist nicht nur eine biologische Kategorie, sondern zeigt sich als Ort gesellschaftlicher Praxis in allen Lebensbereichen, z.B. in Verhandlungen über „Race“ und (nationale) Zugehörigkeit. Es geht zentral um die Fragen: Wie entsteht Wissen, wie entsteht Normativität, wie entstehen Systematisierungen und Kategorisierungen? Welche Rolle spielen Bilder in diesen Prozessen?

Das Projekt »Gesundheit & Gestaltung« untersucht im Rahmen seines interdisziplinären Forschungsprogramms »Re-Inventing the Patient« aktuelle Einflussfaktoren und Gestaltungsdimensionen in der Patientenversorgung innerhalb und außerhalb des Krankenhauses: Wissenschaftler aus den Bereichen Medizin, Architektur, Design, Game Studies, Informatik, Ethnologie und Kulturwissenschaft analysieren die Gestaltung klinischer Behandlungsprozesse ebenso wie die Gestaltung der Räume und konkreter Gegenstände der Patientenversorgung.

Das siebte Basisprojekt »Historische Strukturuntersuchungen im Labor« beschäftigt sich mit historischen Beschreibungen und Abbildungen natürlicher Strukturen. Im Basisprojekt wird historisch orientierte Strukturforschung mit aktuellen materialwissenschaftlichen Laborforschungen verknüpft. Eines der zentralen Werke für das Basisprojekt sind die Berichte der H.M.S. Challenger Expedition (1873-1876).

Ziel der Themenklassen ist es, den Deutschlandstipendiaten schon zu einem frühen Zeitpunkt ihres Studiums Einblicke in aktuelle Forschungsprojekte zu ermöglichen, um eigene Ideen zu entwickeln und vorzustellen. Umgekehrt hoffen die beteiligten Wissenschaftler, dass der Wissensdrang und unverstellte Blick der Deutschlandstipendiaten sie anspornt, auch eigene Theorien kritisch zu hinterfragen und neue Perspektiven zu entwickeln.

Bei der Auswahl der Stipendiaten für ihre Themenklasse war es der Schering Stiftung entsprechend ihrer Förderschwerpunkte besonders wichtig, dass sich die Studierenden über ihre eigene Disziplin hinaus auch für Kunst bzw. Naturwissenschaft interessieren.

Weiterlesen

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert:

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

01.04.2018

Natur der Wahrnehmung – Kunst der Täuschung

Themenklasse 2018-2019

01.04.2017, Berlin

Bild Wissen Gestaltung

Themenklasse 2017-2018

01.04.2016, Berlin

Bild Wissen Gestaltung

Themenklasse 2016-2017

01.04.2014, Berlin

Bild Wissen Gestaltung

Themenklasse 2014-2015

01.04.2013, Berlin

Altern und Alter

Themenklasse 2013-2014

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram