Schering Stiftung

Project 

Ayelén González Montoro

Mechanisms and cellular function of compartmentalization within the membrane of an organelle

Ayelén González Montoro

Mechanisms and cellular function of compartmentalization within the membrane of an organelle


Cells are the basic unit of life and a very complex structure, in which a myriad of processes and biochemical reactions take place. Some of these processes need special conditions and are therefore spatially segregated into compartments. This segregation happens at many levels: even more specialized regions exist in bigger compartments and form very specialized niches.

The project of the young scientist Dr. Ayelén González Montoro from the University of Osnabrück aims to understand the mechanisms by which very small specialized compartments can be formed. By using genetics, fluorescence microscopy, synthetic biology and biochemistry, González Montoro plans to gain insight into how the cell can coordinate its processes and spaces.

Dr. González Montoro’s project is supported by the “Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas” of the Schering Stiftung and the Fritz Thyssen Foundation.

CV 

Ayelén González Montoro obtained her PhD in Córdoba, Argentina. She then joined the lab led by Dr. Christian Ungermann in the University of Osnabrück, with a postdoctoral fellowship of the European Molecular Biology Organization. There, she has been studying structures that allow different specialized regions within a cell to communicate with each other.

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

Ayelén González Montoro

Mechanismen und Zellfunktion der Kompartimentierung innerhalb der Organellmembran

Ayelén González Montoro

Mechanismen und Zellfunktion der Kompartimentierung innerhalb der Organellmembran


Zellen sind die Grundeinheiten des Lebens und weisen eine sehr komplexe Struktur auf, innerhalb der sich unzählige Prozesse und biochemische Reaktionen abspielen. Einige dieser Prozesse brauchen spezielle Bedingungen und sind deshalb räumlich in Kompartimente getrennt. Diese Segregation passiert auf vielen Ebenen: in größeren Kompartimenten gibt es noch spezialisiertere Regionen, die dort hoch spezialisierte Nischen bilden.

Mit ihrem Projekt will die Nachwuchswissenschaftlerin Dr. Ayelén González Montoro von der Universität Osnabrück die Mechanismen erforschen, die für die Bildung sehr kleiner spezialisierter Kompartimente verantwortlich sind. Mithilfe von Methoden der Genetik, Fluoreszenzmikroskopie, synthetischer Biologie und Biochemie will González Montoro Einblicke darin bekommen, wie die Zelle ihre Prozesse und Räume aufeinander abstimmt.

Dr. González Montoros Projekt wird durch den „Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas“ der Schering Stiftung und der Fritz Thyssen Stiftung unterstützt.

Zur Person 

Ayelén González Montoro promovierte in Córdoba, Argentinien. Mit einem Postdoc-Fellowship der European Molecular Biology Organization kam sie in das Labor von Dr. Christian Ungermann an der Universität Osnabrück. Hier studiert sie Strukturen, die es verschiedenen spezialisierten Zellregionen ermöglichen, miteinander zu kommunizieren.

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram