Schering Stiftung

Project 

Cordelia Imig

Dissecting the Molecular and Morphological Requirements for Gut Hormone Secretion

Cordelia Imig

Dissecting the Molecular and Morphological Requirements for Gut Hormone Secretion


Why do we have butterflies in our stomach or feel nauseous before an important exam? Our digestive system plays an important role in influencing our behaviour via constant communication with the brain. A major form of information exchange is mediated by signalling molecules (hormones) that are secreted from ‘sensory’ enteroendocrine cells in the gut.

Despite a growing understanding of the signals that stimulate enteroendocrine cells, the process by which they secrete hormones is essentially unknown. The research project by the young scientist Dr. Cordelia Imig from the Max Planck Institute of Experimental Medicine in Göttingen therefore tries to identify key molecular players of the hormone release machinery in enteroendocrine cells. These findings will set the basis for a detailed understanding of the hormone signalling mechanisms that regulate pivotal body functions and have been implicated in the pathogenesis of multiple disorders including diabetes mellitus. Dr. Imig’s project is funded by a start-up grant of the Schering Stiftung as part of its program „BOOST – Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas“.

Read more

About C. Imig 

Dr. Imig möchte in einem Forschungsprojekt Eiweißbausteine identifizieren, die als Teil der sogenannten „Freisetzungsmachinerie“ die Hormonsekretion vermitteln.

17.04.2018, Christiane Böhm, Göttinger Tageblatt

Cordelia Imig works a neuroscientist at the Max Planck Institute for Experimental Medicine in Göttingen. She studied Biology and completed the international Neuroscience Program in Göttingen. She joined the department of Nils Brose at the Max Planck Institute of Experimental Medicine and received her doctorate degree in 2013.

Cordelia Imig at Max Planck Institute for Experimental Medicine in Göttingen.

Young Investigator Fund 

Promotion of young researchers — Series

Start-up grants to fund promising research ideas by young scientists in the fields of biochemical, neuroscience or immunology basic research.

Learn more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Preisträger*in 

Cordelia Imig

Dissecting the Molecular and Morphological Requirements for Gut Hormone Secretion

Cordelia Imig

Dissecting the Molecular and Morphological Requirements for Gut Hormone Secretion


Warum haben wir Schmetterlinge im Bauch oder wird uns schlecht vor einer wichtigen Prüfung? Der Informationsaustausch zwischen unserem Verdauungstrakt und dem Gehirn spielt eine wichtige Rolle bei der Steuerung unseres Verhaltens. Bestimmte Zellen im Darm, sogenannte enteroendokrine Zellen, setzen Hormone frei, die als Botenstoffe an der Kommunikation entlang der Darm-Hirn-Achse beteiligt sind.

Wie die Hormonsekretion aus enteroendokrinen Zellen jedoch genau stattfindet, ist bisher so gut wie unbekannt. Die Nachwuchswissenschaftlerin Dr. Cordelia Imig vom Max-Planck-Institut für experimentelle Medizin in Göttingen möchte daher in einem Forschungsprojekt Eiweißbausteine identifizieren, die als Teil der sog. „Freisetzungsmachinerie“ die Hormonsekretion in enteroendokrinen Zellen vermitteln. Die Ergebnisse werden dazu beitragen, die hormonellen Signalwege, welche wichtige Körperfunktionen regulieren und bei der Entstehung einer Vielzahl von Erkrankungen, wie z.B. der Zuckerkrankheit Diabetes mellitus, eine Rolle spielen, besser zu verstehen. Für das Projekt erhält Frau Dr. Imig eine Anschubfinanzierung der Schering Stiftung im Rahmen des Förderprogramms „BOOST – Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas“

Weiterlesen

Zur Person 

Dr. Imig möchte in einem Forschungsprojekt Eiweißbausteine identifizieren, die als Teil der sogenannten „Freisetzungsmachinerie“ die Hormonsekretion vermitteln.

17.04.2018, Christiane Böhm, Göttinger Tageblatt

Cordelia Imig forscht als Neurowissenschaftlerin am Max-Planck-Institut für experimentelle Medizin in Göttingen. Sie studierte Biologie und absolvierte anschließend den internationalen Studiengang „Neurowissenschaften“ in Göttingen. Sie promovierte 2013 am MPI für experimentelle Medizin bei Nils Brose.

Cordelia Imig am MPI für experimentelle Medizin in Göttingen.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

21.09.2018

Laleh Haghverdi

Geometric Deep Learning als Methode für die Analyse von Einzelzell-Transkriptomik-Daten

21.09.2018

Konstantin Sparrer

Gezielte Manipulation von Autophagie zur Bekämpfung viraler Infektionen

21.09.2018

Ayelén González Montoro

Mechanismen und Zellfunktion der Kompartimentierung innerhalb der Organellmembran

19.09.2019

Simone Mader

Nachweis von Gehirn-reaktiven B-Zellen bei Patient*innen mit Multipler Sklerose

19.09.2019

Sebastian Balbach

Die Suche nach bösartigen Stammzellen in Sarkomen

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram