Schering Stiftung

Project 

Konstantin Sparrer

Targeting autophagy to fight viral infections

Konstantin Sparrer

Targeting autophagy to fight viral infections


Viral infections are still a leading threat to human health. Vaccines prevent a few selected infections, but we still lack treatments against the vast majority of viral diseases. An agent like antibiotics, which is effective against a wide range of different bacteria, is non-existent for viruses. Nevertheless, our immune system is skillfully fighting viral infections. Autophagy, a cellular process destroying viral components, is a crucial part of our immune defenses. Viruses, however, can counteract these defenses to infect the host. Boosting autophagy should therefore strengthen our own anti-viral immune defense barriers against a wide range of viruses.

Supported by the „Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas“ of the Schering Stiftung and the Fritz Thyssen Foundation as well as the collaborative research center 1279 “Exploration of the human peptidome” at Ulm University, the young scientist Dr. Konstantin Sparrer from Ulm University aims to identify human-derived naturally occurring peptides that boost anti-viral autophagy. These peptides will be the basis for future development of effective, broadly active anti-viral drugs. Since autophagy is also involved in neurodegenerative diseases and cancer, Dr. Sparrer expects insights from this project to be applicable to those diseases.

CV 

Konstantin Sparrer was born and raised in Munich. After graduating with a Master in Biochemistry from the University of Munich, he completed his PhD thesis in molecular virology in the lab of Prof. Karl-Klaus Conzelmann. Dr. Sparrer then joined the group of Prof. Michaela Gack as a postdoc, first at Harvard Medical School then at the University of Chicago. In January 2018 he moved back to Germany and is now a junior group leader at the Institute of Molecular Virology headed by Prof. Dr. Frank Kirchhoff and Prof. Dr. Jan Münch at Ulm University.

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

Konstantin Sparrer

Gezielte Manipulation von Autophagie zur Bekämpfung viraler Infektionen

Konstantin Sparrer

Gezielte Manipulation von Autophagie zur Bekämpfung viraler Infektionen


Virusinfektionen stellen noch immer eine der Hauptbedrohungen für die menschliche Gesundheit dar. Mit Impfungen lassen sich einige wenige ausgewählte Infektionen bekämpfen, aber es mangelt nach wie vor an Therapien für die überwiegende Mehrheit von Viruserkrankungen. Ein Mittel wie Antibiotika, das gegen eine breite Spanne unterschiedlicher Bakterien wirkt, gibt es bei Viren nicht. Dennoch kämpft unser Immunsystem geschickt gegen Virusinfektionen. Autophagie, ein Zellprozess, der Viruskomponenten zerstört, ist ein wesentlicher Teil unserer Immunabwehr. Allerdings können Viren diese Abwehrmechanismen umgehen und so den Wirt infizieren. Verstärkt man Autophagie, sollte dies folglich auch unsere eigene antivirale Immunabwehr gegen eine große Auswahl an Viren verbessern.

Mit Unterstützung durch den „Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas“ der Schering Stiftung und der Fritz Thyssen Stiftung sowie des Sonderforschungsbereichs 1279 „Erforschung des menschlichen Peptidoms“ an der Universität Ulm will der Nachwuchswissenschaftler Dr. Konstantin Sparrer von der Universität Ulm die im menschlichen Körper natürlich vorkommenden Peptide, die die antivirale Autophagie fördern, identifizieren. Diese Peptide sind die Grundlage für die zukünftige Entwicklung effektiver, breit wirksamer antiviraler Medikamente. Da die Autophagie auch bei neurodegenerativen und Krebserkrankungen eine Rolle spielt, wird erwartet, dass sich die Erkenntnisse aus Dr. Sparrers Projekt auch auf diese Krankheiten anwenden lassen.

Zur Person 

Der in München geborene und aufgewachsene Konstantin Sparrer erwarb seinen Master-Abschluss in Biochemie an der Ludwig-Maximilans-Universität München und promovierte in molekularer Virologie im Labor von Prof. Karl-Klaus Conzelmann. Danach war er als Postdoc in der Gruppe von Prof. Michaela Gack tätig, zuerst an der Harvard Medical School und dann an der University of Chicago. Im Januar 2018 kehrte er nach Deutschland zurück und ist derzeit Junior Group Leader an dem von Prof. Dr. Frank Kirchhoff und Prof. Dr. Jan Münch geleiteten Institut für Molekulare Virologie an der Universität Ulm.

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram