Schering Stiftung

Prize winner 

Sebastian Balbach

Sebastian Balbach
Photo: 0AE.Deiters-Keul UKM Fotozentra

Sebastian Balbach

Track and Trace Sarcoma Stem Cells

Sebastian Balbach
Photo: 0AE.Deiters-Keul UKM Fotozentra

Sebastian Balbach

Track and Trace Sarcoma Stem Cells


Dr. Dr. Sebastian Balbach’s research focuses on novel targeted therapies against cancer stem cells. These are the cells that fuel cancer growth and lead to relapse. For many common cancer types, research has identified cancer stem cells, and major advances in the development of therapies that target these stem cells have been made.

Dr. Dr. Balbach attempts to solve a long-standing but urgent question with novel methods: Are sarcomas, aggressive cancers of muscle, bone, or joints prevalent in children, driven by malignant stem cells? Conventional methods have failed to identify these stem cells. Sebastian Balbach will use novel single-cell sequencing technologies to find them, label them with molecular barcodes to track their fate, and identify their Achilles’ heels that can be targeted for future therapies. His vision is to eliminate cancer stem cells in sarcoma to truly cure this disease.

The project of Sebastian Balbach is supported by the “Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas” of the Schering Stiftung and the Fritz Thyssen Foundation.

CV 

Dr. Dr. Sebastian Balbach studied Chemistry and Medicine at the Westphalian Wilhelms University Münster, and did his PhD and MD theses at the Max Planck Institute for Molecular Biomedicine in the lab of Prof. Hans Schöler. With a postdoctoral fellowship of the German Cancer Aid, he joined the lab of Prof. Stuart Orkin at the Harvard Medical School, Boston, U.S.A. Now he is a resident physician at the Department of Pediatric Hematology and Oncology, headed by Prof. Claudia Rössig, and leads a research project to find new treatments for children with cancer.

You might also be interested in

September 21, 2018

Ayelén González Montoro

Mechanisms and cellular function of compartmentalization within the membrane of an organelle

September 19, 2019

Simone Mader

Identification of B cells that recognize brain antigens in patients with Multiple Sclerosis

September 21, 2018

Laleh Haghverdi

A geometric deep learning framework for single-cell trancriptomics data analysis

September 21, 2018

Konstantin Sparrer

Targeting autophagy to fight viral infections

Cordelia Imig

Dissecting the Molecular and Morphological Requirements for Gut Hormone Secretion

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Preisträger*in 

Sebastian Balbach

Sebastian Balbach
Foto: Elisabeth Deiters-Keul, Universitätsklinikum Münster

Sebastian Balbach

Die Suche nach bösartigen Stammzellen in Sarkomen

Sebastian Balbach
Foto: Elisabeth Deiters-Keul, Universitätsklinikum Münster

Sebastian Balbach

Die Suche nach bösartigen Stammzellen in Sarkomen


Dr. Dr. Sebastian Balbach erforscht neue, zielgerichtete Therapien gegen Tumorstammzellen. Diese Zellen versorgen einen Tumor mit Nachschub und führen zu Rückfällen und Metastasen. In vielen Krebsarten wurden solche Stammzellen bereits nachgewiesen und zielgerichtete Therapien gegen Tumorstammzellen sind in der Entwicklung oder schon erfolgreich in der Anwendung.

Dr. Dr. Balbach will die Frage beantworten, ob auch Sarkome, aggressive Tumorerkrankungen von Muskeln, Knochen oder Gelenken, die oft bei Kindern vorkommen, von bösartigen Stammzellen angetrieben werden. Herkömmliche Methoden konnten diese Frage bisher nicht beantworten. Sebastian Balbach möchte neue Sequenziertechnologien anwenden, um diese Krebsstammzellen zu finden, diese dann mit molekularen Barcodes markieren, um ihre Entwicklung zu verfolgen, und dann ihre verwundbaren Stellen finden, um sie mit neuartigen Therapien angreifbar zu machen. Seine Vision sind Stammzell-gerichtete Therapien, um Sarkome tatsächlich zu heilen.

Das Projekt von Dr. Dr. Sebastian Balbach wird durch den „Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas“ der Schering Stiftung und der Fritz Thyssen Stiftung unterstützt.

Zur Person 

Dr. Dr. Sebastian Balbach studierte Chemie und Medizin an der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster und promovierte in beiden Fächern am Max-Planck-Institut für molekulare Biomedizin bei Prof. Hans Schöler. Mit einem Postdoc-Fellowship der Deutschen Krebshilfe kam er in das Labor von Prof. Stuart Orkin an der Harvard Medical School in Boston, U.S.A. Jetzt ist er als Arzt in der Kinderonkologie bei Prof. Claudia Rössig an der Uniklinik Münster tätig und leitet zudem ein Forschungsprojekt zu neuen Behandlungsmethoden für Kinder mit Krebs.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

21.09.2018

Ayelén González Montoro

Mechanismen und Zellfunktion der Kompartimentierung innerhalb der Organellmembran

19.09.2019

Simone Mader

Nachweis von Gehirn-reaktiven B-Zellen bei Patient*innen mit Multipler Sklerose

21.09.2018

Laleh Haghverdi

Geometric Deep Learning als Methode für die Analyse von Einzelzell-Transkriptomik-Daten

21.09.2018

Konstantin Sparrer

Gezielte Manipulation von Autophagie zur Bekämpfung viraler Infektionen

Cordelia Imig

Dissecting the Molecular and Morphological Requirements for Gut Hormone Secretion

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram