Schering Stiftung

Project 

Simone Mader

Simone Mader

Simone Mader

Identification of B cells that recognize brain antigens in patients with Multiple Sclerosis

Simone Mader

Simone Mader

Identification of B cells that recognize brain antigens in patients with Multiple Sclerosis


Multiple Sclerosis (MS) is the most common inflammatory demyelinating diseases of the central nervous system (CNS) in young adults with a high risk of future disability. Although the search for antibodies in MS has led to controversial results, most recent data suggest that CNS-reactive B cells are present in patients with MS or related diseases.

Therefore, the young scientist Dr. Simone Mader from the Institute for Clinical Neuroimmunology at LMU in Munich wants to detect brain-reactive B cells in patients with MS and related diseases through usage of novel methodological approaches. This will allow her to identify autoantibodies and their target antigens. The project has immense importance for the understanding, diagnosis and treatment of patients with MS and related disorders.

The project of Simone Mader is supported by the “Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas” of the Schering Stiftung and the Fritz Thyssen Foundation.

CV 

Dr. Simone Mader obtained her PhD in Neuroscience at the Medical University of Innsbruck, Austria. In 2012 she continued her research as a postdoc in the lab of Dr. Betty Diamond at the Feinstein Institute for Medical Research in New York. She received a postdoctoral fellowship from the S.L.E. Lupus Foundation and was promoted to instructor in 2017. Since her return to Europe in June 2018, she has been working at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München in the group of Prof. Dr. Edgar Meinl at the Institute of Clinical Neuroimmunology.

Young Investigator Fund 

Promotion of young researchers — Series

Start-up grants to fund promising research ideas by young scientists in the fields of biochemical, neuroscience or immunology basic research.

Learn more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

Simone Mader

Simone Mader

Simone Mader

Nachweis von Gehirn-reaktiven B-Zellen bei Patient*innen mit Multipler Sklerose

Simone Mader

Simone Mader

Nachweis von Gehirn-reaktiven B-Zellen bei Patient*innen mit Multipler Sklerose


Die Multiple Sklerose (MS) ist eine entzündlich-demyelinisierende Erkrankung des zentralen Nervensystems, welche primär im jungen Erwachsenenalter auftritt. Obwohl die Suche nach Antikörpern bei MS bisher zu kontroversen Ergebnissen geführt hat, deuten aktuellere Daten darauf hin, dass Gehirn-reaktive B-Zellen bei Patient*innen mit MS oder verwandten Erkrankungen eine Rolle spielen.

Mit ihrem Projekt will die Nachwuchswissenschaftlerin Dr. Simone Mader am Institut für Klinische Neuroimmunologie der LMU in München, Gehirn-reaktive B-Zellen bei diesen Patient*innen mit neuartigen methodischen Ansätzen nachweisen und damit Autoantikörper und ihre Zielantigene identifizieren. Dieses Projekt hat eine immense Bedeutung für das Verständnis, die Diagnose und die Behandlung von Patient*innen mit MS und verwandten Erkrankungen.

Das Projekt von Dr. Simone Mader wird durch den „Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas“ der Schering Stiftung und der Fritz Thyssen Stiftung unterstützt.

Zur Person 

Dr. Simone Mader promovierte in Neurowissenschaften an der Medizinischen Universität Innsbruck, Österreich, um anschließend ihre Forschungsarbeit ab 2012 als Postdoc in der Gruppe von Dr. Betty Diamond am Feinstein Institute for Medical Research in New York fortzusetzen. Dort erhielt sie u.a. ein Postdoc-Fellowship von der S.L.E. Lupus Foundation und wurde 2017 zum Instructor befördert. Seit ihrer Rückkehr nach Europa im Juni 2018 ist sie an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München in der Arbeitsgruppe von Prof. Dr. Edgar Meinl am Institut für Klinische Neuroimmunologie tätig.

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram