Schering Stiftung

Project 

Sofia Iris Bibli

CSE derived H2S and the regulation of endothelial cell function

Sofia Iris Bibli

CSE derived H2S and the regulation of endothelial cell function


Hydrogen sulfide (H2S) has emerged as an important gaseous signaling molecule. Currently H2S donors have been proposed to affect angiogenesis, prevent atherosclerosis and limit cardiac infarct size. Endogenously, H2S is generated in the vascular wall during the metabolism of cysteine, through the action of cystathionine γ-lyase (CSE).

The research project by the young scientist Dr. Sofia-Iris Bibli from Goethe University Frankfort tries to explore fundamental regulatory mechanisms of CSE-derived H2S and to apply them to paradigms of atherosclerosis development in vivo and extrapolate the results to human samples. Mechanistically, Dr. Bibli plans to identify the physiological relevance of protein sulfhydration- a post-translational protein modification mediated by H2S. The results of the project that focuses on mapping the impact of H2S on endothelial cell function and the human atherosclerotic plaque ‘sulfhydrome’ is expected to yield scientific breakthroughs relevant to both physiology/pathophysiology and H2S based pharmacotherapy. Dr. Bibli’s project is funded by a start-up grant of the Schering Stiftung as part of its program „BOOST – Young Investigator Fund for Innovative Research Ideas“.

Read more

CV 

Sofia-Iris Bibli, born in Greece, obtained her MSc in Pharmacology in 2013 and earned her PhD with distinction in Molecular Pharmacology in 2016 from University of Athens. After completing her graduate training she was nominated two postdoctoral fellowships from the European Society of Cardiology (ESC Basic Research Fellowship 2016 and Research Grant 2016) and moved to the Institute for Vascular Signalling in Goethe University as a postdoctoral fellow, under the supervision of Prof. Ingrid Fleming. Her current projects aim to elucidate the role of cystathionine-γ-lyase derived hydrogen sulfide in endothelial cell homeostasis in health and disease.

Iris Bibli at Vascular Research Centre Frankfurt

Publications 

Cystathionine γ-lyase Sulfhydrates the RNA Binding Protein HuR to Preserve
Endothelial Cell Function and Delay Atherogenesis

10.1161/CIRCULATIONAHA.118.034757

Download File

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Preisträger*in 

Sofia Iris Bibli

CSE derived H2S and the regulation of endothelial cell function

Sofia Iris Bibli

CSE derived H2S and the regulation of endothelial cell function


Wasserstoffsulfide (H2S) sind wichtige gasförmige Botenstoffe. Derzeit geht man davon aus, dass H2S-Donoren die Angiogenese beeinflussen, Atherosklerose verhindern und die Größe des Herzinfarkts begrenzen. Endogen wird H2S in der Gefäßwand durch die Katalyse von Cystathionin-γ-Lyase (CSE) gebildet.

Das Forschungsprojekt der Nachwuchswissenschaftlerin Dr. Sofia-Iris Bibli von der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main versucht, fundamentale Regulationsmechanismen von CSE-abgeleitetem H2S zu erforschen, sie auf Paradigmen der Atherosklerose-Entstehung in vivo anzuwenden und die Ergebnisse auf den menschlichen Organismus zu übertragen. Mechanistisch plant Dr. Bibli, die physiologische Relevanz der Protein-Sulfhydrierung zu identifizieren – eine posttranslationale Proteinmodifikation, die durch H2S vermittelt wird. Das Projekt, das schwerpunktmäßig die Wirkung von H2S auf endotheliale Zellfunktionen und das Spektrum der in arteriosklerotischen Plaques nachweisbaren sulfhydrierten Proteine abbilden soll, könnte zu bahnbrechenden wissenschaftlichen Ergebnissen führen, die sowohl für die Physiologie/Pathophysiologie als auch H2S-basierte Arzneimitteltherapie relevant sind. Dr. Biblis Projekt wird durch eine Anschubfinanzierung der Schering Stiftung als Teil des Stiftungsprogramms „BOOST – Young Investigator Fund für innovative Forschungsideen“ gefördert.

Weiterlesen

Zur Person 

Sofia-Iris Bibli, geboren in Griechenland, erwarb ihren MSc in Pharmakologie (2013) und ihren PhD mit Auszeichnung in Molekularer Pharmakologie (2016) an der Universität Athen. Nach Abschluss ihrer Promotion wurde sie von der Europäischen Gesellschaft für Kardiologie für zwei Postdoc-Fellowships (ESC Basic Research Fellowship 2016 und Research Grant 2016) nominiert und wechselte als Postdoc an das Institute for Vascular Signalling an der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt unter der Leitung von Prof. Ingrid Fleming. Ihre aktuellen Forschungsprojekte zielen darauf ab, die Rolle von Cystathionin-γ-Lyase-abgeleitetem Schwefelwasserstoff in der Homöostase von Endothelzellen in Gesundheit und Krankheit aufzuklären

Iris Bibli am Vascular Research Centre Frankfurt

Publications 

Cystathionine γ-lyase Sulfhydrates the RNA Binding Protein HuR to Preserve
Endothelial Cell Function and Delay Atherogenesis

10.1161/CIRCULATIONAHA.118.034757

Datei laden

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

21.09.2018

Laleh Haghverdi

Geometric Deep Learning als Methode für die Analyse von Einzelzell-Transkriptomik-Daten

21.09.2018

Konstantin Sparrer

Gezielte Manipulation von Autophagie zur Bekämpfung viraler Infektionen

21.09.2018

Ayelén González Montoro

Mechanismen und Zellfunktion der Kompartimentierung innerhalb der Organellmembran

Cordelia Imig

Dissecting the Molecular and Morphological Requirements for Gut Hormone Secretion

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube