Schering Stiftung

Exhibition 

Jenna Sutela, „Nutrix“ (working title), 2022, synthetic human breast milk, electric breast pumps, acrylic column with light, sound, 220 x 30 cm, © the artist, co-produced with Schering Stiftung and Haus der Kunst, Munich

Jenna Sutela, „Nutrix“ (working title), 2022, synthetic human breast milk, electric breast pumps, acrylic column with light, sound, 220 x 30 cm, © the artist, co-produced with Schering Stiftung and Haus der Kunst, Munich
Photo: Joseph Kadow © Jenna Sutela

Jenna Sutela: Nutrix

Jenna Sutela, „Nutrix“ (working title), 2022, synthetic human breast milk, electric breast pumps, acrylic column with light, sound, 220 x 30 cm, © the artist, co-produced with Schering Stiftung and Haus der Kunst, Munich
Photo: Joseph Kadow © Jenna Sutela

Jenna Sutela: Nutrix

Duration:

September 15 – November 27, 2022

Exhibition opening:

Wednesday, 14. September 2022, 6–10 p.m.

Opening hours:

Thursday and Friday, 1–7 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday, 11 a.m.–7 p.m.


The first Berlin solo exhibition by the Finnish artist Jenna Sutela brings together a new installation titled “HMO Nutrix” (2022) and the artist’s latest filmic work, “Milky Ways” (2022). Both works deal with a bodily product that has amazing superpowers: human milk. In her research-based works, Sutela explores both the symbiosis of humans and microorganisms and the efforts of the food industry to biotechnologically reproduce the ingredients of breast milk and market them as part of a new generation of health-optimizing dietary supplements.

At the “HMO Nutrix,” synthetically produced human milk is staged as a bubbling fountain. Its liquid is enriched with substances that researchers have identified as key ingredients of breast milk. While so-called human milk oligosaccharides (HMOs) are known to be indigestible by infants, they feed their gut bacteria: they not only protect newborns against diseases but also promote their cognitive development and are essential for building their microbiomes. In her poetically narrated film “Milky Ways,” Sutela combines the latest scientific insights with the myth of the creation of the Milky Way from the squirting breast milk of the goddess Hera. While the Greek goddess is creating the galaxy, breast milk is helping create a microbial universe inside the child’s body.

The exhibition is supported by Primer, Copenhagen, and Haus der Kunst, Munich. It is held in collaboration with Screen City Biennial.

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the following partners:

The Artist 

Jenna Sutela (b. 1983, Turku, Finland) works with living organisms such as bacteria and slime mold as well as with sound and language. In her audiovisual works, sculptures, and performances, the artist creates connections between biological entities and technologies. Her particular interest is in the productive interaction between human and non-human organisms. In her work “nimiia cétii,” for example, she created a novel written language whose machine-generated characters are based on capturing and copying the movements of Bacillus subtilis nattō. In 2019/20, Sutela was a visiting artist at the MIT Center for Art, Science & Technology. Sutela’s works have been shown at Castello di Rivoli (2022), Liverpool Biennial (2021), Kunsthall Trondheim (2020), ZKM Karlsruhe (2020), Serpentine Galleries (2019), Kiasma, Helsinki (2017), and others.

Close

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Ausstellung 

Jenna Sutela, „Nutrix“ (Arbeitstitel), 2022, synthetische menschliche Muttermilch, elektrische Milchpumpen, Acrylsäule mit Licht und Ton, 220 x 30 cm, © die Künstlerin, ko-produziert mit der Schering Stiftung und Haus der Kunst, München

Jenna Sutela, „Nutrix“ (Arbeitstitel), 2022, synthetische menschliche Muttermilch, elektrische Milchpumpen, Acrylsäule mit Licht und Ton, 220 x 30 cm, © die Künstlerin, ko-produziert mit der Schering Stiftung und Haus der Kunst, München
Foto: Joseph Kadow © Jenna Sutela

Jenna Sutela: Nutrix

Jenna Sutela, „Nutrix“ (Arbeitstitel), 2022, synthetische menschliche Muttermilch, elektrische Milchpumpen, Acrylsäule mit Licht und Ton, 220 x 30 cm, © die Künstlerin, ko-produziert mit der Schering Stiftung und Haus der Kunst, München
Foto: Joseph Kadow © Jenna Sutela

Jenna Sutela: Nutrix

Laufzeit:

15.09. – 27.11.2022

Ausstellungseröffnung:

Mittwoch, 14. September 2022, 18–22 Uhr

Öffnungszeiten:

Donnerstag und Freitag, 13–19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag, 11–19 Uhr


Die erste Berliner Einzelausstellung der finnischen Künstlerin Jenna Sutela vereint eine neue Installation mit dem Titel HMO Nutrix (2022) und die jüngste Filmarbeit der Künstlerin, Milky Ways (2022). Beide Arbeiten befassen sich mit einem körpereigenen Produkt, das über erstaunliche Superkräfte verfügt: Es geht um menschliche Milch. Sutela diskutiert in ihren recherchebasierten Arbeiten zum einen die Symbiose von Mensch und Mikroorganismen und verweist zum anderen auf die Bemühungen der Nahrungsmittelindustrie, die Inhaltsstoffe der Brustmilch biotechnologisch zu kopieren und sie als Teil einer neuen Generation optimierender Nahrungsergänzungsmittel zu vermarkten.

In der Installation HMO Nutrix wird synthetisch hergestellte menschliche Milch als blubbernder „Brunnen“ inszeniert, dessen Flüssigkeit mit Stoffen angereichert ist, die die Forschung als wichtigste Bestandteile der Brustmilch identifiziert hat. Sogenannte Humanmilch-Oligosaccharide (HMOs) können zwar nachweislich vom Säugling nicht verdaut werden, füttern aber seine Darmbakterien. Sie schützen dadurch das Neugeborene nicht nur vor Krankheiten, sondern fördern auch seine kognitive Entwicklung und bauen sein Mikrobiom entscheidend auf. Sutela nutzt die jüngsten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse, um sie im Film Milky Ways in einer poetischen Erzählung mit dem Mythos der Entstehung der Milchstraße durch die spritzende Brustmilch der Göttin Hera zu verknüpfen. Während die griechische Göttin die Galaxie erschafft, entsteht mithilfe der Brustmilch ein mikrobielles Universum im Körper eines Kindes.

Die Ausstellung wird von Primer, Kopenhagen, und dem Haus der Kunst, München, gefördert und in Zusammenarbeit mit der Screen City Biennale veranstaltet.

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert:

Die Künstlerin 

Jenna Sutela (*1983, Turku, Finnland) arbeitet mit lebenden Organismen wie Bakterien und Schleimpilzen sowie mit Klang und Sprache. In ihren audiovisuellen Werken, Skulpturen und Performances knüpft die Künstlerin Verbindungen zwischen biologischen Entitäten und Technologien. Ihr besonderes Interesse gilt dem produktiven Zusammenwirken von menschlichen und nicht-menschlichen Organismen. Im Werk „nimiia cétii“ schuf sie etwa eine neue geschriebene Sprache, deren technisch erzeugte Schriftzeichen auf dem Erfassen und Nachzeichnen der Bewegungen des Bacillus subtilis nattō basierten. Von 2019 bis 2020 war Sutela Gastkünstlerin am MIT Center for Art, Science & Technology. Sutelas Arbeiten wurden u.a. im Castello di Rivoli (2022), auf der Liverpool Biennale (2021), in der Kunsthalle Trondheim (2020), im ZKM, Karlsruhe (2020), in den Serpentine Galleries (2019) oder im Kiasma, Helsinki (2017) präsentiert.  


 

Schliessen

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram