Schering Stiftung

Artist talk 

Susanne Kriemann: Pechblende (Chapter 1), 2016, Exhibition view Schering Stiftung, Berlin, 2016.

Susanne Kriemann: Pechblende (Chapter 1), 2016, Exhibition view Schering Stiftung, Berlin, 2016.
Photo: Julia Zimmermann, © Schering Stiftung

Artist Talk and Book Launch

Susanne Kriemann: P(ech) B(lende)

Susanne Kriemann: Pechblende (Chapter 1), 2016, Exhibition view Schering Stiftung, Berlin, 2016.
Photo: Julia Zimmermann, © Schering Stiftung

Artist Talk and Book Launch

Susanne Kriemann: P(ech) B(lende)

Date:

June 03, 2016, 2–3:30 p.m.

Venue:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34
10117 Berlin

Please register at anmeldung@scheringstiftung.de (by May 30, 2016, seats are limited).


The Schering Stiftung presents “P(ech) B(lende). Library for Radioactive Afterlife”, an artist’s book by Susanne Kriemann as part of her exhibition “Pechblende (Chapter 1)” at the Schering Stiftung. The Berlin-based artist will be joined in conversation by artist and publisher Banu Cennetoğlu (Berlin/Istanbul) and discuss her new book in the context of (artists’) books, archives and collections and their function as both recording/storage media and instruments to disseminate information.

Books are a central element of Susanne Kriemann’s creative process. “Susanne Kriemann designs her artist’s books in exactly the same way as she carefully designs the exhibition space. They are not books about her artistic practice, but rather her books are her very artistic practice. We wander through them, along windingly cerebral paths, that are forever crossing one another but which, at the end, somehow have established a circuit,” writes Heike Catherina Mertens in “P(ech) B(lende). Library for Radioactive Afterlife”.

Published by Spector Books and featuring contributions from, among others, Lutz Seiler, Susan Schuppli, Jayne Wilkinson, and Jussi Parikka, the book combines essays on pitchblende mining in the Ore Mountains for Stalin’s nuclear program during the early years of the GDR, the visibility and invisibility of radioactivity, and the effects of radiation on the present and the future. In addition to current works by Susanne Kriemann and texts about her latest shows “Pechblende (Prologue)” at the Prefix Institute of Contemporary Art, Toronto, and “Pechblende (Chapter 1)” at the Schering Stiftung, Berlin, the book also contains archival photographs on the topic collected by the artist.

In her work, Susanne Kriemann investigates issues of historiography, archival knowledge, and the connections between art, literature, labor and archaeology. Her work has been exhibited internationally. She has published numerous books including “Duskdust” (2016), “Ray” (2014), “A Silent Crazy Jungle Under Glass” (2012), and “Ashes and broken brickwork of a logical theory” (2010). In 2010 she co-founded the Artist in Residency AIR Berlin Alexanderplatz. She is advisor at the Jan Van Eyck Academie, Maastricht.

Banu Cennetoğlu is currently a guest of the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin Program. Her practice explores politics around information production and its dissemination through referential compilations. In 2006 she initiated BAS, a project space in Istanbul focusing on collection and production of artists’ books and printed matter.

Susanne Kriemann: “P(ech) B(lende). Library for Radioactive Afterlife”
With essays by Lutz Seiler (writer), Susan Schuppli (Goldsmiths, University of London), Jussi Parikka (University of Southampton), Jayne Wilkinson (Prefix Institute of Contemporary Art, Toronto), Christina Landbrecht and Friederike Schäfer (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Cluster of Excellence), and Heike Catherina Mertens (co-editor, Schering Stiftung).

Published by Spector Books, Leipzig (www.spectorbooks.com)
Designed by Studio Pandan | Ann Richter & Pia Christmann, Berlin / Leipzig (www.pandan.co)

Read more

You might also be interested in

May 29, 2016

Wie verstrahlt ist das Erzgebirge?

Wissenswerte im inforadio des rbb

May 26, 2016

40 Years of Uranium Mining in the Ore Mountains

The Mammoth Project of Remediating a Region

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Künstlergespräch 

Susanne Kriemann: Pechblende (Kapitel 1), Ausstellungsansicht Schering Stiftung, Berlin, 2016.

Susanne Kriemann: Pechblende (Kapitel 1), Ausstellungsansicht Schering Stiftung, Berlin, 2016.
Foto: Julia Zimmermann, © Schering Stiftung

Künstlergespräch und Buchpräsentation

Susanne Kriemann: P(ech) B(lende)

Susanne Kriemann: Pechblende (Kapitel 1), Ausstellungsansicht Schering Stiftung, Berlin, 2016.
Foto: Julia Zimmermann, © Schering Stiftung

Künstlergespräch und Buchpräsentation

Susanne Kriemann: P(ech) B(lende)

Termin:

03.06.2016, 14–15:30 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32–34
10117 Berlin

Um Anmeldung wird gebeten unter anmeldung@scheringstiftung.de (bis 30.05.2016, begrenzte Platzkapazität).


Die Schering Stiftung präsentiert das Künstlerbuch „P(ech) B(lende). Library for Radioactive Afterlife“ von Susanne Kriemann. Die in Berlin lebende Künstlerin wird im Gespräch mit der Künstlerin und Verlegerin Banu Cennetoğlu (Berlin/Istanbul) das neu erschienene Buch im Rahmen der Ausstellung „Pechblende (Kapitel 1)“ in der Schering Stiftung in den Kontext von (Künstler-) Büchern, Archiven und Sammlungen und deren Funktion als Erfassungs- und Speichermedien sowie als Instrumente der Informationsverbreitung stellen.

Bücher sind zentraler Bestandteil im Schaffensprozess Susanne Kriemanns. „Genauso wie die Künstlerin bildnerisch im Raum arbeitet, so gestaltet sie auch ihre Bücher. Es sind keine Bücher über ihre Werke, sondern ihre Bücher sind ihr Werk. Wir wandern in ihnen auf verschlungenen geistigen Pfaden, die sich immer wieder kreuzen und am Ende einen Rundgang bilden“, so schreibt Heike Catherina Mertens in „P(ech) B(lende). Library for Radioactive Afterlife“.

Die bei Spector Books erschienene Publikation mit Beiträgen von Lutz Seiler, Susan Schuppli, Jayne Wilkinson, Jussi Parikka u. a. vereint Essays über den Pechblende-Abbau im Erzgebirge für Stalins Atomprogramm während der ersten Jahre der DDR, über die Sichtbarkeit und Unsichtbarkeit von Radioaktivität und die Auswirkungen von radioaktiver Strahlung heute und für die Zukunft. Neben aktuellen Arbeiten von Susanne Kriemann und Texten über ihre jüngsten Ausstellungen „Pechblende (Prolog)“ im Prefix Institute of Contemporary Art, Toronto, sowie „Pechblende (Kapitel 1)“ in der Schering Stiftung, Berlin, enthält der Band fotografisches Archivmaterial, das die Künstlerin in den vergangenen Jahren zum Thema gesammelt hat.

Susanne Kriemann befasst sich in ihrer Arbeit mit Geschichtsschreibung und Archivwissen und den Verbindungen zwischen Kunst, Literatur, Labor und Archäologie. Ihre Werke wurden international ausgestellt. Sie hat zahlreiche Bücher veröffentlicht, darunter „Duskdust“ (2016), „Ray“ (2014), „A Silent Crazy Jungle Under Glass“ (2012) und „Ashes and broken brickwork of a logical theory“ (2010). 2010 war sie Mitbegründerin des Künstlerinitiative AIR Berlin Alexanderplatz. Zudem ist sie an der Jan Van Eyck Academie in Maastricht als Beraterin für Künstlerinnen und Künstler sowie als Forscherin tätig.

Banu Cennetoğlu ist aktuell Stipendiatin des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD. Durch Werkreihen mit Referenzcharakter setzt sie sich in ihrer künstlerischen Praxis mit der Politik der Informationsproduktion und -verbreitung auseinander. 2006 gründete sie in Istanbul den Projektraum BAS, der sich dem Sammeln und Verlegen von Künstlerbüchern und Drucksachen widmet.

Susanne Kriemann: „P(ech) B(lende). Library for Radioactive Afterlife“
mit Beiträgen von Lutz Seiler (Schriftsteller), Susan Schuppli (Goldsmiths, University of London), Jussi Parikka (University of Southampton), Jayne Wilkinson (Prefix Institute of Contemporary Art, Toronto), Christina Landbrecht und Friederike Schäfer (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, Exzellenzcluster) sowie Heike Catherina Mertens (Mitherausgeberin, Schering Stiftung).

Verlag: Spector Books, Leipzig (www.spectorbooks.com)
Gestaltung: Studio Pandan | Ann Richter & Pia Christmann, Berlin / Leipzig (www.pandan.co)

 

Weiterlesen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

29.05.2016

Wie verstrahlt ist das Erzgebirge?

Wissenswerte im inforadio des rbb

26.05.2016

40 Jahre Uranerzabbau im Erzgebirge

Sanierung einer Region als Jahrhundertaufgabe

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram