Schering Stiftung

Exhibition 

Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen:

Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen: "Sterile"
Photo: © Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen

Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen:

Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen: "Sterile"
Photo: © Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen

Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen:

Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen: "Sterile"
Photo: © Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen

Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen:

Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen: "Sterile"
Photo: © Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen

Revital Cohen and Tuur Van Balen

assemble | standard | minimal

Revital Cohen and Tuur Van Balen

assemble | standard | minimal

Duration:

January 23 – May 03, 2015

Exhibition opening:

Thursday, 22. January 2015, 7–9 p.m.

Opening hours:

Thursday through Monday, 1–7 p.m

Venue:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32
10117 Berlin


assemble | standard | minimal is the first solo show of the London-based artists Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen in Germany, presented by Schering Stiftung and The Arts Catalyst, and curated by Jens Hauser. The exhibition will show five main works by the artists including two new productions: For Sterile, albino goldfish are engineered to hatch without reproductive organs, they are not conceived as animals but made as objects. An edition of 45 goldfish was produced for the artists by Professor Etsuro Yamaha in his laboratory in Hokkaido, Japan. Sensei Ichi-gō is a machine capable of producing sterile goldfish in an automated reenactment of Yamaha’s movements and actions.

The exhibition reflects on our times of industrial processes and highly standardized technologies. Revital Cohen and Tuur Van Balen translate the automated production and trade – of living beings as well as of commercial products – into performative installations, provocative objects, and subtly aestheticized documentary films.

The film Kingyo Kingdom follows the stages through which Japanese goldfish function as objects. An amateur breeder walks through the house he designed and built for goldfish breeding. At a wholesale goldfish market, traders sort and pack the orders of the day, processing boxes of goldfish for shipping. In the annual national goldfish competition, professional breeders and judges discuss the design criteria of a winner fish, the ideal features and the core guidelines: a physique far removed from that of its carp ancestors.

In 75 Watt Revital Cohen and Tuur Van Balen designed a product to be made in China. The object’s only function is to choreograph a dance performed by the labourers manufacturing it. The title refers to a handbook for mechanical engineers claiming that “A labourer over the course of an 8-hour day can sustain an average output of about 75 watts.”

Pigeon d’Or consists of a series of interventions that bring together synthetic biologists and pigeon fanciers in pursuit of making pigeons defecate soap. Bacteria that can modify the metabolism of pigeons have been developed with the help of biochemist James Chappell. The BioBrick, the DNA code required for creating these bacteria, is freely accessible from the Registry of Standard Biological Parts. The visitor is invited to take away a print of this BioBrick in the exhibition.

At the press preview, the artists will give a personal tour of the exhibition followed by a talk with the exhibition’s curator Jens Hauser (in English). The opening includes a welcome by Stefan H. E. Kaufmann, chairman of the Schering Stiftung and managing director of the Max Planck Institute for Infection Biology, and an introduction by Jens Hauser from the University of Copenhagen (both in German).

Read more

Evolution Made by Man? 

Symposium — March 13, 2015

The Symposium will discuss current developments in synthetic biology from a variety of perspectives.

Learn more

Gallery

Revital Cohen and Tuur Van Balen

Exhibition Opening "assemble | standard | minimal" on January 22, 2015

Visit the media library

Downloads 

Invitaition Card

Download File

Opening Introduction Jens Hauser

Download File

Partners 

An exhibition in cooperation with The Arts Catalyst, London, and transmediale 2015 CAPTURE ALL, supported by the Daiwa Foundation and part of the European Commission FP7 funded project KiiCS.

Profile 

Revital Cohen and Tuur Van Balen run a London based experimental practice that produces objects, photographs, performances and videos exploring the tensions between biology and technology. Through re-appropriating processes, systems and organisms Cohen and Van Balen create work that questions the context in which these materials and processes operate. Inspired by designer species, composed wilderness and mechanical organs, they set out to create posthuman bodies, bespoke metabolisms, unnatural animals and poetic machines.
Recent exhibitions and talks took place at the MoMa, Tate Britain, National Museum of China, John Hansard Gallery based at the University of Southampton's Highfield campus, FACT, Dutch Electronic Arts Festival, Arts Catalyst amongst others. Awards include Tokyo TDC Annual Awards 2013, First prize at VIDA Art & Artificial Life Awards, the Science Museum's Emerging Artist Commission, Wellcome Trust Arts Awards and an award of distinction at Prix Ars Electronica.
www.cohenvanbalen.com

Close

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Ausstellung 

Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen:

Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen: "Sterile"
Foto: © Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen

Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen:

Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen: "Sterile"
Foto: © Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen

Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen:

Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen: "Sterile"
Foto: © Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen

Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen:

Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen: "Sterile"
Foto: © Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen

Revital Cohen und Tuur Van Balen

assemble | standard | minimal

Revital Cohen und Tuur Van Balen

assemble | standard | minimal

Laufzeit:

23.01. – 03.05.2015

Ausstellungseröffnung:

Donnerstag, 22. Januar 2015, 19–21 Uhr

Öffnungszeiten:

Donnerstag bis Montag, 13–19 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Schering Stiftung
Unter den Linden 32
10117 Berlin


assemble | standard | minimal ist die erste deutsche Einzelausstellung des Londoner Künstlerpaars Revital Cohen & Tuur Van Balen, präsentiert von der Schering Stiftung und The Arts Catalyst, kuratiert von Jens Hauser. Die Ausstellung zeigt fünf Hauptwerke der Künstler, darunter zwei neue Arbeiten: Für Sterile werden Albino-Goldfische speziell hergestellt, die ohne Fortpflanzungsorgane zur Welt kommen; sie sind nicht als Tiere, sondern als Objekte konzipiert. Im Auftrag der Künstler hat Professor Etsuro Yamaha in seinem Labor in Hokkaido, Japan, diese Goldfische in einer Auflage von 45 Exemplaren produziert. Bei Sensei Ichi-gō handelt es sich um eine Maschine, die in der Lage ist, sterile Goldfische zu erzeugen, indem sie die Handlungen und Bewegungen von Professor Yamaha in automatisierter Form wiederholt.

Die Ausstellung reflektiert unser Zeitalter der industrialisierten Prozesse und standardisierten Produk-tionstechnologien. Revital Cohen und Tuur Van Balen übersetzen die Automatisierung von Produktion und Handel – sowohl von Lebewesen als auch von Handelswaren – in performative Installationen, provokative Objekte und subtil ästhetisierte Dokumentarfilme.
Der Film Kingyo Kingdom zeigt die verschiedenen Schauplätze auf, an denen japanische Goldfische als Objekte fungieren. Ein Amateurzüchter geht durch ein von ihm für die Goldfischzucht konzipiertes und gebautes Haus. Auf einem Goldfischgroßmarkt sortieren und verpacken Händler die Bestellungen des Tages und bereiten die Goldfische in Kartons für den Versand vor. Beim jährlich stattfindenden, landesweiten Goldfischwettbewerb diskutieren professionelle Züchter und Juroren über die Designkriterien, die Idealgestalt und die Hauptrichtlinien für den Sieger-Fisch: ein Körperbau, der mit dem seiner Karpfenvorfahren nichts mehr zu tun hat.

Für 75 Watt entwarfen Revital Cohen und Tuur Van Balen ein Produkt, um es in China herstellen zu lassen. Das Objekt dient einzig und allein der Choreografie eines Tanzes, der von den Fabrikarbeitern aufgeführt wird. Der Titel bezieht sich auf die Aussage in einem Handbuch für Maschinenbauingenieure, wonach „ein Arbeiter im Laufe eines Achtstunden-Tages eine durchschnittliche Arbeits-leistung von ca. 75 Watt aufrecht erhalten kann“.

Pigeon d’Or besteht aus einer Reihe von Interventionen, die Forscher der Synthetischen Biologie und Taubenzüchter zusammenbringen mit dem Ziel, dass Tauben Seife ausscheiden. Mit Hilfe des Bio-chemikers James Chappell wurden Bakterien hergestellt, die den Stoffwechsel der Tauben verändern können. Der BioBrick – d. h. der zur Herstellung dieser Bakterien erforderliche DNA-Code – ist in der Registry of Standard Biological Parts für jedermann frei verfügbar. Besucher der Ausstellung sind eingeladen, einen Ausdruck dieses BioBricks mitzunehmen.

Im Rahmen der Pressevorbesichtigung führen die Künstler persönlich durch die Ausstellung und führen anschließend ein Gespräch mit dem Kurator der Ausstellung, Jens Hauser (auf Englisch). Zur Eröffnung gibt es ein Grußwort von Stefan H. E. Kaufmann, Vorsitzender des Stiftungsrats der Schering Stiftung und geschäftsführender Direktor des Max-Planck-Instituts für Infektionsbiologie, sowie eine Einführung von Jens Hauser von der Universität Kopenhagen.

Weiterlesen

Evolution in Menschenhand? 

Symposium — 13.03.2015

Das Symposium diskutiert die Entwicklungen in der Synthetischen Biologie aus unterschiedlichen Blickwinkeln.

Mehr erfahren

Galerie

Revital Cohen und Tuur Van Balen

Ausstellungseröffnung "assemble | standard | minimal" am 22. Januar 2015

Mediathek besuchen

Downloads 

Einladung

Datei laden

Eröffnungsrede des Kurators Jens Hauser

Datei laden

Partner 

Eine Ausstellung in Kooperation mit The Arts Catalyst, London, und transmediale 2015 CAPTURE ALL, unterstützt von der Daiwa Foundation und KiiCS-Projekt im FP7-Programm der Europäischen Kommission.

Kurzbiographie 

Im Mittelpunkt ihrer künstlerischen Forschung stehen soziale und kulturelle Systeme, die sie in Beziehung zu biologischen und ökologischen Systemen setzt. Ihr Forschungsinteresse gilt der Bio-Art, dem Dialog von Kunst und Neurowissenschaften sowie dem Ökofeminismus. In jüngster Zeit kreiert sie Mutationen, Gewächse und Neoplasien von Organen. Dabei geht es ihr um die Transformationen, denen Körper und Sexualität durch die primär urbane, technokapitalistische Konsumgesellschaft ausgesetzt sind. Die türkische Künstlerin ist PhD-Studentin im Studiengang Media Arts and Science an der Duke University und arbeitet parallel an ihrem
Abschluss am Center for Cognitive Neuroscience. 2008 erhielt sie ihren Master of Fine Arts an der University of California, Los Angeles. Sie wurde bereits mit zahlreichen Stipendien ausgezeichnet, unter anderem von der MacDowell Colony, der Ucross Foundation, der Duke University und dem National Evolutionary Synthesis Center.
www.cohenvanbalen.com

Schliessen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram