Schering Stiftung


Michael Wächter

Michael Wächter
Photo: Priska Ketterer

Imogen Kogge

Imogen Kogge
Photo: Birgit Hupfeld

Alfred Kerr Acting Prize 2017

Award Ceremony and Reading

Alfred Kerr Acting Prize 2017

Award Ceremony and Reading


May 21, 2017, 1–3 p.m.


Haus der Berliner Festspiele
Schaperstraße 24
10719 Berlin

Free admission

The Haus der Berliner Festspiele will host the annual award ceremony of the Alfred Kerr Acting Prize. Established by Judith and Michael Kerr, the 5,000-euro prize has been awarded since 1991 as part of the Berliner Theatertreffen. On the occasion of Alfred Kerr’s 150th birthday, this year’s award ceremony featured a special program: the dramatist and essayist Moritz Rinke has written a playlet, which premiered in a reading by Ulrich Matthes and Gerd Wameling.

The annual Alfred Kerr Acting Prize honors the most promising young actor/actress participating in the Berliner Theatertreffen. Each year, the decision is made by an outstanding actor/actress – in 2017, the sole judge was Imogen Kogge.

Imogen Kogge decided for Michael Wächter, who was born in Leipzig in 1986. He was a member of the Theater Basel ensemble, where he played in „Engel in Amerika“, „Oresteia“, and „Idomeneus“. He studied at Roosevelt High School of Performing Arts in California and at the Hochschule für Schauspielkunst Ernst Busch in Berlin. From 2010 to 2015 he was a member of the ensemble at Deutsches Nationaltheater in Weimar.

Imogen Kogge is the latest in a line of prominent Kerr Prize judges that includes Bernhard Minetti, Marianne Hoppe, Ulrich Mühe, Ulrich Matthes, Martin Wuttke, Martina Gedeck, Eva Mattes, Nina Hoss, Thomas Thieme, Edith Clever, and Samuel Finzi. Since they have always managed to discover the most talented emerging actors, the list of the previous prize recipients reads like a “Who’s Who” of the current generation of actors. Previous prize winners include Steffi Kühnert, Kathrin Angerer, Johanna Wokalek, Fritzi Haberlandt, Lina Beckmann, August Diehl, Devid Striesow, Wiebke Puls, Felix Goeser, Julischka Eichel, Kathleen Morgeneyer, Paul Herwig, Fabian Hinrichs, Julia Häusermann, and Valery Tscheplanowa. The Schering Stiftung supports the award to promote young talents in the performing arts.


Alfred Kerr Acting Prize

Award ceremony and reading of the playlet “Arthur Schnitzler beim Verfassen des ärztlichen Gutachtens über den Kritiker Siegfried Jacobsohn in Anwesenheit des Herrn Kerr” (Arthur Schnitzler Writing a Medical Opinion on the Critic Siegfried Jacobsohn in the Presence of Mr. Kerr)

Author: Moritz Rinke
Research: Deborah Vietor-Engländer
Reading: Ulrich Matthes and Gerd Wameling


Read more

Alfred Kerr Acting Prize 2015 

Alfred-Kerr-Darstellerpreis 2014 

Award ceremony — May 17, 2015

As part of the Berliner Theatertreffen the Haus der Berliner Festspiele is hosting the annual award ceremony of the Alfred Kerr Acting Prize.

Learn more
Award ceremony — April 18, 2014

As part of the Berliner Theatertreffen Valery Tscheplanowa is awarded the Alfred Kerr Acting Prize in recognition of the outstanding achievement of an emerging young actor.

Learn more


The awarding of the Alfred Kerr Acting Prize is made possible through the support of the Alfred Kerr Foundation, the Schering Stiftung, the Foundation Preußische Seehandlung, and the Tagesspiegel.

Stiftung Preußische Seehandlung
Der Tagesspiegel


Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49.30.20 62 29 62

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram