Schering Stiftung

Project 

SYNAPSE – The International Curators’ Workshop

SYNAPSE – The International Curators’ Workshop


22.03.2013, Berlin | What curatorial approaches do justice to the complex ecologies and formative processes of the Anthropocene? This question will be addressed by Jill Bennett in her public keynote lecture on April 26, 2013, at 7:00 p.m., at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt. In her talk entitled Anthropocene Aesthetics and the Future of Exhibitions, Bennett, a curator and Professor of Experimental Arts at the University of New South Wales, Australia, will examine the question of how and why the idea of the “age of man” is changing our cultural practice.

The lecture is part of SYNAPSE – The International Curators’ Network. After the successful inaugural event in 2011, the Haus der Kulturen der Welt, in cooperation with the Schering Stiftung and the Berlin Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, in April 2013 will host the workshop for the second time. This year’s network meeting will focus on the topic of “Curating in the Anthropocene.” In a five-day workshop, eleven selected young curators and experts will discuss the role of artists and curators in dealing with the man-made world. In addition, they will also raise and debate questions related to a new global ethics, and to building bridges between the sciences and humanities as well as between nature, culture, and technology. Since its establishment, the Schering Stiftung, has firmly supported interdisciplinary projects such as the SYNAPSE curators’ workshop that explore topics at the crossroads of art and science.
The participants of the workshop have responded to an international Open Call for Application and were selected by a five-member jury. The network will continue beyond the workshop via the website http://www.synapse.info/.

SYNAPSE – The International Curators’ Network

April 26, 2013, 7:00 p.m.
Keynote Lecture
Jill Bennett: Anthropocene Aesthetics and the Future of Exhibitions

Haus der Kulturen der Welt
John-Foster-Dulles-Allee 10
10557 Berlin

Free admission.
The lecture will be in English.

For more information, please contact the Schering Stiftung by phone at +49 (0)30-20 62 29 60 or visit http://www.synapse.info/.

 

Photo:
Xijing Men: This is Xijing – The Life of the Xijing Presidents (Urban Planning), 2008, Digital Print, 60 x 40 cm, 10 editions © Xijing Men

SYNAPSE 

Conference — June 30 – July 04, 2015

Conducted under the artistic direction of Kirsten Einfeldt and Daniela Wolf the international curator's network SYNAPSE will held its workhsop in the context of the exhibition “Ape Culture.”

Learn more

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

SYNAPSE. Das internationale Kuratorennezwerk

SYNAPSE. Das internationale Kuratorennezwerk


Welche Ansätze des Ausstellungsmachens sind den komplexen Ökologien und formbildenden Prozessen des Anthropozän angemessen? Dieser Frage widmet sich Jill Bennett am 26. April 2013 um 19 Uhr im Haus der Kulturen der Welt in einer öffentlichen Keynote Lecture. In ihrem Vortrag Anthropocene Aesthetics and the Future of Exhibitions untersucht die Professorin für Experimentelle Kunst und Kuratorin (University of New South Wales, Australien) wie und warum die Idee vom „Menschenzeitalter“ unsere kulturelle Praxis verändert.

Der Vortrag findet im Rahmen von SYNAPSE – Das Internationale Kuratorennetzwerk statt. Anknüpfend an den erfolgreichen Auftakt im Jahr 2011 richtet das Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Kooperation mit der Schering Stiftung und der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften im April 2013 den Workshop bereits zum zweiten Mal aus. Das Netzwerktreffen widmet sich diesmal dem Schwerpunktthema „Kuratieren im Anthropozän“. In einem fünftägigen Workshop diskutieren elf ausgewählte Nachwuchskuratoren zusammen mit Experten die Rolle von Künstlern und Kuratoren im Umgang mit der vom Menschen gemachten Welt. Zusätzlich werden Fragen nach einer neuen globalen Ethik, nach Brücken zwischen Natur- und Geisteswissenschaften sowie zwischen Natur, Kultur und Technologie aufgeworfen und diskutiert. Interdisziplinäre Projekte wie den Kuratorenworkshop SYNAPSE, die die Grenzbereiche zwischen Kunst und Wissenschaft erkunden, fördert die Schering Stiftung seit ihrer Gründung mit großer Überzeugung.
Die Teilnehmer des Workshops wurden über einen internationalen Open Call zur Bewerbung aufgefordert und von einer 5-köpfigen Jury ausgewählt. Das Netzwerk wird über den Workshop hinaus über die Website www.synapse.info nachhaltig weitergeführt.

SYNAPSE – Der internationale Kuratorennetzwerk

26.04.2013, 19 Uhr
Keynote Lecture
Jill Bennett: Anthropocene Aesthetics and the Future of Exhibitions

Haus der Kulturen der Welt
John-Foster-Dulles-Allee 10
10557 Berlin

Eintritt frei.
Der Vortrag findet in englischer Sprache statt.

Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie bei der Schering Stiftung unter 030-20 62 29 60 sowie unter: www.synapse.info

 

Abbildung:

Xijing Men: This is Xijing – The Life of the Xijing Presidents (Urban Planning), 2008, Digital Print, 60 x 40 cm, 10 editions. © Xijing Men

SYNAPSE 

Konferenz — 30.06. – 04.07.2015

Unter der künstlerischen Leitung von Kirsten Einfeldt und Daniela Wolf lädt SYNAPSE – Das Internationale Kuratorennetzwerk zum Workshop ins Haus der Kulturen der Welt (HKW) ein.

Mehr erfahren

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram