Schering Stiftung

Facts & Figures 


Schering Stiftung
Judicable foundation under civil law

Based in
Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Founding year
2002


Schering Stiftung

The Schering Stiftung wants to be active in the arts and the sciences in a transparent manner. Against this background, the Foundation Council of the Schering Stiftung, in its spring 2017 meeting, decided to join the Initiative for a Transparent Civil Society of Transparency International Deutschland. We are committed to providing to the public and keeping up to date the following information:

Complete Bylaws and Information about the Organization’s Mission

  • Statute of the Schering Stiftung
  • Aims of the Schering Stiftung

Tax-Exempt Status

The Schering Stiftung advances science and art (nonprofit purpose as defined by Section 52(2), sentence 1 nos. 1, 3, 4, 5, 7 and 8 of the German Fiscal Code) and has been granted tax exemption from corporate income and business tax from the tax authorities (Finanzamt Berlin Kö I, tax ID 27/641/05148, dated November 17, 2016) for the period from 2013 until 2015.

Name and Function of Main Decision-Making Bodies

Foundation Council

In its composition, the Foundation Council represents the purposes of the Foundation and currently consists of six high-level personalities from the arts and sciences. The Council decides on the allocation of the Foundation’s funds. Its members are appointed for a three-year term and may be reappointed. A member’s term ends once the member has completed his/her 75th year of age.

The composition of our Foundation Council: Members of the Foundation Council

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors consists of up to two natural persons. The members of the Board of Directors are appointed, and recalled, by the Foundation Council. One member of the Board manages the day-to-day business of the Foundation. Board members are appointed for a three-year term and may be reappointed. A member’s term ends once the member has completed his/her 68th year of age. Currently one person is appointed to the Board of Directors, Bernhard Sommer. For further information, please see Managing Director.

Activity Report

Our Project Report 2017 (please see download area below) contains a brief overview of our programs and grant-making activities during the 2017 calendar year. More information on our programs and grant-making activities can also be found at Program.

Personnel Structure

The head office of the Schering Stiftung employs 5 salaried staff members (3.25 full-time equivalents). The Foundation also employs student assistants to work on individual projects.

Find your contact person under Contact Person.

Facts and Figures on 2017 Financial Statement

Foundation Assets

The Foundation finances its programs through income from the Foundation’s endowment, donations, and other revenue. In keeping with Section 4(2) of the bylaws, the Foundation’s endowment is to be invested gainfully and must be preserved in the long term and undiminished. Over the course of the years, the Foundation has received an endowment of EUR 35 million from Schering AG.

The Foundation’s endowment that needs to be preserved amounts to EUR 35.130 million. As of December 31, 2017, the Foundation assets, including general reserves, amounted to EUR 38.026 million, nominally preserving the Foundation’s endowment. The book value of total assets was EUR 38.352 million at the end of 2017.

 EUR
Foundation assets on December 31, 201734,583,294.58
General reserves as defined by
Section 62(1), no. 3 German Fiscal Code
3,443,660.00

Source and Allocation of Funds

In the 2017 fiscal year, income from asset management amounted to EUR 1.09 million. The Foundation made funding approvals in the amount of EUR 1.226 million, and financed grants in the amount of EUR 1.093 million.

EUR
Foundation’s disposable assets 01.01.2017 (balances remaining from previous year)671,176.39
Income from investments1,082,327.17
Donations8,051.80
Available funds (total)
1,761,555.36
Direct project expenses– 1,093,366.59
Staff costs– 210,211.34
Office and other administrative costs– 132,035.02
Disposals (total)– 1,435,612.95
Foundation’s disposable assets 31.01.2017 (balances remaining for next year)325.942,41

Auditing

KPMG Deutsche Treuhandgesellschaft AG was appointed auditor for the fiscal year 2017. The auditor conducted the annual audit in accordance with Section 317(4a) of the German Commercial Code (HGB) and by taking into account the Guidelines for Proper Auditing (Grundsätze ordnungsgemäßer Abschlussprüfung) set by the Institute of Public Auditors in Germany (Institut für Wirtschaftsprüfer). The Stiftung was issued an unqualified opinion.

Institutional Relationships

The Schering Stiftung does not have any institutional relationships.

The Schering Stiftung has assigned some of its administrative tasks (especially financial reporting, accounting, and consultancy on tax and foundation law matters) to the Deutsche Stiftungszentrum GmbH, Essen, within the framework of a service contract. The assets are managed by Bayer AG at no charge.

The Schering Stiftung is a member of the following associations/organizations:

  • Bundesverband Deutscher Stiftungen
  • Berliner Stiftungswoche
  • Stiftungsnetzwerk Berlin
  • Informationsdienst Wissenschaft
  • Zukunft Konzerthaus
  • Freunde der Berliner Philharmoniker
  • Freunde und Förderer der Staatsoper Unter den Linden
  • Verein der Freunde der Nationalgalerie
  • Freunde der KW Institute for Contemporary Art Berlin
  • Verein der Freunde des Hauses der Kulturen der Welt e. V.
  • Kulturkreis der deutschen Wirtschaft

Major Donors and Contributors

The Foundation is almost exclusively financed by income from the Foundation’s assets. There are no donors who contribute more than 10% to its annual revenues.

Download 

Statute

of the Schering Stiftung

Download File

Notice of exemption

by the tax office

Download File

Project report

Summer/Spring 2017

Download File

Project report

Autumn/ Winter 2017/18

Download File

Initiative Transparente Zivilgesellschaft 

The Initiative for a Transparent Civil Society (Initiative Transparente Zivilgesellschaft, ITZ) of Transparency International Deutschland e.V. aims to offer an extra level of information that is voluntarily provided by the organizations that have joined the ITZ and that exceeds the legal publishing requirements for nonprofit organizations in Germany. The ITZ provides a framework for basic transparency in nonprofit organizations.

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Follow us!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube

Schering Stiftung

Zahlen & Fakten 


Schering Stiftung
Rechtsfähige Stiftung des bürgerlichen Rechts

Sitz
Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Gründungsjahr
2002


Schering Stiftung

Die Schering Stiftung möchte sich transparent im Bereich der Wissenschaft und Kultur engagieren. Vor diesem Hintergrund hat sich der Stiftungsrat der Schering Stiftung in seiner Frühjahrssitzung im Jahr 2017 dafür ausgesprochen, sich der Initiative Transparente Zivilgesellschaft von Transparency International Deutschland anzuschließen. Wir verpflichten uns, die folgenden Informationen der Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung zu stellen und aktuell zu halten.

Vollständige Satzung sowie Angaben zu den Zielen unserer Organisation

Angaben zur Steuerbegünstigung

Die Schering Stiftung fördert Wissenschaft und Kultur (gemeinnütziger Zweck i. S. v. § 52 Abs. 2 S. 1 Nr. 1, 3, 4, 5, 7 und 8 der Abgabenordnung) und hat einen entsprechenden Freistellungsbescheid zur Körperschaftssteuer und Gewerbesteuer vom Finanzamt Berlin Kö I (Steuernummer 27/641/05148, Ausstellungsdatum 17.11.2016) für den Zeitraum 2013 bis 2015 erhalten.

Name und Funktion wesentlicher Entscheidungsträger

Stiftungsrat

Der Stiftungsrat repräsentiert in seiner Zusammensetzung die Zwecke der Stiftung und setzt sich aktuell aus sechs hochrangigen Persönlichkeiten aus Kultur und Wissenschaft zusammen. Er entscheidet über die Vergabe der Stiftungsmittel. Die Mitglieder werden für eine Amtszeit von drei Jahren berufen. Eine Wiederberufung ist möglich. Mit Vollendung des 75. Lebensjahres endet die Amtszeit der Mitglieder.

Die Zusammensetzung unseres Stiftungsrats: Stiftungsratsmitglieder

Vorstand

Der Vorstand besteht aus bis zu zwei natürlichen Personen. Die Mitglieder des Vorstandes werden vom Stiftungsrat berufen und abberufen. Ein Mitglied des Vorstandes kann zum geschäftsführenden Vorstand berufen werden. Die Amtsdauer jedes einzelnen Mitglieds des Vorstandes beträgt drei Jahre. Wiederberufung ist zulässig. Mit Vollendung des 68. Lebensjahres endet die Amtszeit der Mitglieder des Vorstandes. Aktuell ist eine Person in den Vorstand berufen, Herr Bernhard Sommer. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Geschäftsführender Vorstand.

Tätigkeitsbericht

Unser Projektbericht 2017 (untenstehend im Downloadbereich) enthält eine kurze Zusammenstellung unserer Fördertätigkeit im Kalenderjahr 2017. Weitere Informationen über unsere Fördertätigkeit sind beispielsweise unter Programm zu finden.

Personalstruktur

In der Geschäftsstelle der Schering Stiftung sind zum Stand März 2018 insgesamt 5 hauptamtliche MitarbeiterInnen (3,25 Vollzeitäquivalente) beschäftigt. Projektbezogen wird die Stiftung zudem von studentischen Hilfskräften unterstützt.

Ihre Ansprechpartnerinnen finden Sie unter Ansprechpartner.

Zahlen und Fakten zum Jahresabschluss 2017

Stiftungsvermögen

Die Stiftung erfüllt ihre Förderungsaufgaben aus den Erträgen des Stiftungsvermögens, Zuwendungen und sonstigen Einnahmen. Gemäß § 4 Abs. 2 der Satzung ist das Stiftungsvermögen ertragsbringend anzulegen und in seinem Bestand dauernd und ungeschmälert zu erhalten. Die Stiftung wurde im Laufe der Jahre von der Schering AG mit einem Vermögen in Höhe von EUR 35 Mio. ausgestattet.

Das zu erhaltende Stiftungsvermögen beläuft sich auf EUR 35,13 Mio. Zum 31.12.2017 weist das Stiftungsvermögen inkl. der freien Rücklage einen Wert von EUR 38,03 Mio. aus, womit der Stiftungsvermögen nominal erhalten wurde. Der Buchwert des Gesamtvermögens betrug zum Jahresende EUR 38,35 Mio.

 EUR
Stiftungsvermögen zum 31.12.201734.583.294,58
Freie Rücklage gem. §62 Abs. 1 Nr. 3AO3.443.660,00

Angaben zur Mittelherkunft und Mittelverwendung

Im Geschäftsjahr 2017 beliefen sich die Erträge aus Vermögensbewirtschaftung auf EUR 1,09 Mio. Es wurden Förderungen in Höhe von EUR 1,226 Mio. ausgesprochen und Fördermittel in Höhe von EUR 1,093 Mio. ausgezahlt.

EUR
Stiftungsmittel zum 01.01.2017 (Restmittel Vorjahr)671.176,39
Zugänge aus Erträgen aus der Vermögensanlage1.082.327,17
Zugänge aus Spenden8.051,80
Verfügbare Mittel gesamt1.761.555,36
unmittelbare Projektaufwendungen-1.093.366,59
Personalkosten-210.211,34
Büro und sonstige Verwaltungskosten-132.035,02
Abgänge gesamt-1.435.612,95
Verbleib Stiftungsmittel zum 31.12.2017325.942,41

Rechnungs- und Verwendungsprüfung

Zum Abschlussprüfer für das Jahr 2017 wurde die KPMG Deutsche Treuhandgesellschaft AG bestellt. Der Abschlussprüfer hat die Jahresabschlussprüfung nach § 317 Abs. 4a HGB sowie unter Beachtung der vom Institut der Wirtschaftsprüfer festgestellten deutschen Grundsätze ordnungsmäßiger Abschlussprüfung vorgenommen. Die Prüfung hat zu keinen Einwänden geführt.

Gesellschaftsrechtliche Verbundenheit mit Dritten

Gesellschaftsrechtlich verbundene Organisationen (Anteile über 5%) liegen nicht vor.

Ein Teil der Verwaltungsaufgaben (insb. Rechnungslegung, Buchhaltung und Beratung bei steuer- und stiftungsrechtlichen Angelegenheiten) wurde im Rahmen eines Dienstleistungsvertrages an die Deutsche Stiftungszentrum GmbH, Essen übertragen. Die Vermögensverwaltung erfolgt unentgeltlich durch die Bayer AG.

Die Schering Stiftung ist Mitglied in folgenden Verbänden/Organisationen:

  • Bundesverband Deutscher Stiftungen
  • Berliner Stiftungswoche
  • Stiftungsnetzwerk Berlin
  • Informationsdienst der Deutschen Wissenschaft
  • Zukunft Konzerthaus
  • Freunde der Berliner Philharmoniker
  • Freunde und Förderer der Staatsoper Unter den Linden
  • Verein der Freunde der Nationalgalerie
  • Freunde der KW Institute for Contemporary Art Berlin
  • Verein der Freunde des Hauses der Kulturen der Welt e. V.
  • Kulturkreis der Deutschen Wirtschaft

Großförderer

Die Stiftung finanziert sich fast ausschließlich aus den Erträgen des Stiftungsvermögens. Es gibt keine Förderer, die mehr als 10 % zu den Jahreseinnahmen beisteuern.

Download 

Satzung

der Schering Stiftung

Datei laden

Aktueller Freistellungsbescheid

vom Finanzamt

Datei laden

Projektbericht

Frühjahr/Sommer 2017

Datei laden

Projektbericht

Herbst/ Winter 2017/18

Datei laden

Initiative Transparente Zivilgesellschaft 

Die Initiative Transparente Zivilgesellschaft (ITZ) von Transparency International Deutschland e.V. fördert ein Plus an Informationen, welches die Organisationen, die sich der ITZ angeschlossen haben, freiwillig anbieten und das über die gesetzlichen Veröffentlichungspflichten für gemeinnützige Organisationen in Deutschland hinausgeht. Hierfür liefert die ITZ einen Rahmen für grundlegende Transparenz in gemeinnützigen Organisationen. Weitere Informationen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube