Schering Stiftung

Project 

Food, Genes and Diseases

Interdisciplinary Dialogue

Food, Genes and Diseases

Interdisciplinary Dialogue

Date:

January 13, 2015, 3:30 p.m.

Venue:

IRI für Lebenswissenschaften
Philippstr. 13
10115 Berlin

Further Information:
Dr. Stefanie Scharf
Scientific Coordinator at the IRI for the Life Sciences
stefanie.scharf@iri-lifesciences.de
www.iri-lifesciences.de


How and why makes us food healthy or sick? What influence do diet and food additives have on metabolic diseases, cancer or infectious diseases and their cure? These and other questions will be addressed by Dr. Sascha Sauer from the Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics in Berlin.

Sascha Sauer studied biochemistry at the Free University of Berlin. After having finished his PhD at the Centre National de Génotypage in Paris in 2001, he worked in the department of Hans Lehrach at the Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics. During this time, he developed a number of mass spectrometric assays for DNA analysis, bacterial identification, and small molecule detection. These techniques are now widely used for different applications. In 2008, Sascha Sauer established the independent “Nutrigenomics and Gene Regulation” research group at the Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics.

The lecture by Dr. Sauer marks the kick-off of an event series called “Interdisciplinary Dialogue” at the IRI at the Humboldt University of Berlin, which will be sponsored by the Schering Stiftung. The series provides young scientists from a variety of disciplines and institutions with an opportunity to engage in an interdisciplinary conversation in order to explore commonalities and controversies and develop collaborative and innovative research approaches. In public lectures, internationally renowned visiting scientists introduce the dialogue on the given topic. The lecture is followed by a workshop where a group of scientists from biomedical (basic) research, psychology, the agricultural sciences, the social sciences, and the humanities have the chance to engage in an intensive dialogue with the visiting scientists. The aim is to gain a better and deeper understanding of the research topics of the various disciplines and identify areas of cooperation. A second workshop then specifically aims to build research collaborations, maybe invite additional potential partners, and identify funding possibilities.

The Schering Stiftung supports the event series, since it is interdisciplinary and aims to promote and connect young scientists with each other. By developing cooperative and innovative research approaches, the events seek to produce concrete results and collaborations. The public part of the event addresses another concern of the Foundation: promoting the dialogue between science and society.

Read more

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the following partners:

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

Food, Genes and Diseases

Interdisziplinärer Dialog

Food, Genes and Diseases

Interdisziplinärer Dialog

Termin:

13.01.2015, 15:30 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

IRI für Lebenswissenschaften
Philippstr. 13
10115 Berlin

Weitere Informationen:
Dr. Stefanie Scharf
Wissenschaftliche Koordinatorin am IRI für Lebenswissenschaften
stefanie.scharf@iri-lifesciences.de
www.iri-lifesciences.de


Wie und warum macht Essen gesund oder krank? Welchen Einfluss haben Ernährung und Nahrungsmittelzusätze auf Stoffwechselkrankheiten, Krebs oder Infektionskrankheiten bzw. deren Heilung? Diesen und weiteren Fragen widmet sich ein öffentlicher Vortrag von Dr. Sascha Sauer vom Berliner Max-Planck-Institut für molekulare Genetik.

Sascha Sauer studierte Biochemie an der Freien Universität Berlin. Nach seiner Promotion am Centre National de Génotypage in Paris im Jahr 2001 arbeitete er in der Abteilung von Hans Lehrach am Max-Planck-Institut für molekulare Genetik. In der Zeit entwickelte er eine Reihe von massenspektrometrischen Verfahren zur DNA-Analyse, Identifikation von Bakterien und Erkennung von niedermolekularen Verbindungen. Diese Verfahren sind mittlerweile bei verschiedenen Anwendungen in Gebrauch. 2008 gründete Sascha Sauer die unabhängige Forschungsgruppe „Nutrigenomik und Genregulation“ am Max-Planck-Institut für molekulare Genetik.

Der Vortrag von Dr. Sauer ist der Auftakt der von der Schering Stiftung geförderten Veranstaltungsreihe „Interdisziplinärer Dialog“ am IRI der HU Berlin. Die Reihe ermöglicht Nachwuchswissenschaftlern aus unterschiedlichen Fachrichtungen und Institutionen das interdisziplinäre Gespräch zu bestimmten Themenfeldern, um Gemeinsamkeiten und Kontroversen zu eruieren und Ansätze für gemeinsame, innovative Forschungsansätze zu entwickeln. In öffentlichen Vorträgen leiten international anerkannte Gastwissenschaftler den Dialog zum jeweiligen Thema ein. Anschließend folgt ein Workshop für eine Gruppe von Wissenschaftlern aus der biomedizinischen (Grundlagen)-Forschung, der Psychologie, den Agrarwissenschaften sowie den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften. Sie haben hier die Möglichkeit zum intensiven Austausch mit den Gastwissenschaftlern. Ziel ist es, ein besseres und vertieftes Verständnis der Forschungsgegenstände der einzelnen Fachrichtungen entstehen zu lassen und Bereiche der Kooperation zu identifizieren. In einem zweiten Workshop sollen gezielt Forschungskooperationen konzipiert, eventuell weitere potenzielle Partner eingeladen werden und Möglichkeiten der Förderung ausgearbeitet werden.

 

Die Schering Stiftung fördert die Veranstaltungsreihe, da sie interdisziplinär angelegt ist und der Förderung und Vernetzung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses dient. Mit der Entwicklung von gemeinsamen und innovativen Forschungsansätzen sind die Veranstaltungen auf konkrete Ergebnisse und Kooperationen orientiert. Im öffentlichen Teil der jeweiligen Veranstaltung wird ein weiteres Anliegen der Stiftung umgesetzt: die Förderung des Dialogs zwischen Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft.

Weiterlesen

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert:

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram