Schering Stiftung

Project 

Photo: (c) GSCN

Photo: (c) GSCN

Fighting Heart Attacks and Leukemia with Stem Cells

Fighting Heart Attacks and Leukemia with Stem Cells

Date:

September 11, 2015, 7–8 p.m.

Venue:

Goethe Universität Frankfurt
Campus Westend
Casino-Anbau / Saal West
Theodor-W.-Adorno-Platz 1
60323 Frankfurt

GSCN Outreach Event at the 3rd Annual Conference of the German Stem Cell Network

Admission is free. Registration is not required.

http://www.gscn.org/Conferences/2015/Home.aspx


Can stem cells deliver on our expectations for cure? What is the latest progress in research? What diseases are already treated with cell-based therapies? And what does the process from stem-cell research to long-term studies to the clinical application of stem cells look like? During the 3rd International Annual Conference of the German Stem Cell Network (GSCN) at Goethe University Frankfurt, three stem cell researchers will talk about their findings during a public panel discussion.

Today, patients, their relatives and the public have a growing interest in being well-informed about the causes and consequences of diseases as well as the opportunities and risks of therapies. The stem cell hype of recent years has given way to a realistic assessment as new findings and insights continue to emerge.

The panel features three renowned scientists in the fields of basic and applied research:

Prof. Dr. Thomas Braun, director at the Max Planck Institute for Heart and Lung Research, Bad Nauheim

Prof Dr. Hubert Serve, University Hospital Frankfurt, Department of Medicine II, Hematology and Oncology

Prof. Dr. Andreas Zeiher, University Hospital Frankfurt, Department of Medicine III, Cardiology.

Following short films on their work, the panelists will provide a brief overview of the latest stem cell research and explain how stem cells can be used to treat heart attacks and leukemia. They will then discuss their findings with the audience. Before and after the panel discussion, a poster exhibition will be on display to showcase diseases, current stem cell therapies and research approaches.

The Schering Stiftung supports the event, since it communicates and discusses new research with an interested public and thus helps provide a better understanding and appreciation of scientific research.

The panel discussion is the concluding event of the three-day International Annual Conference of the German Stem Cell Network. On September 9-11, 2015, more than 400 stem cell researchers come together in Frankfurt to share and present their latest findings.

Read more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

Foto: (c) GSCN

Foto: (c) GSCN

Mit Stammzellen gegen Herzinfarkt und Blutkrebs

Mit Stammzellen gegen Herzinfarkt und Blutkrebs

Termin:

11.09.2015, 19–20 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Goethe Universität Frankfurt
Campus Westend
Casino-Anbau / Saal West
Theodor-W.-Adorno-Platz 1
60323 Frankfurt

GSCN Öffentlichkeitsveranstaltung zur 3. Jahreskonferenz des German Stem Cell Network

Der Eintritt ist frei. Eine Anmeldung ist nicht erforderlich.

http://www.gscn.org/Conferences/2015/Home.aspx


Bringen Stammzellen die Heilung, die von ihnen erwartet wird? Welche Fortschritte gibt es in der Forschung? Bei welchen Erkrankungen kommen zellenbasierte Therapien schon zur Anwendung? Und wie sieht der Weg von der Erforschung der Stammzellen über langjährige Studien bis hin zu ihrem klinischen Einsatz aus? Anlässlich der 3. Internationalen Jahreskonferenz des German Stem Cell Network (GSCN) an der Goethe Universität Frankfurt am Main werden drei Stammzellforscher in einer öffentlichen Podiumsdiskussion ihre Forschung vorstellen.

Patienten, ihre Verwandten und die Öffentlichkeit haben heute ein gesteigertes Interesse daran, sich gut über Verlauf und Ursachen von Krankheiten als auch über die Chancen und Risiken von Therapien zu informieren. Der Hype um Stammzelltherapie der vergangenen Jahre ist einer realistischen Einschätzung bei stetigem Erkenntnisfortschritt gewichen.

In der Podiumsdiskussion kommen drei renommierte Wissenschaftler aus der Grundlagenforschung und Klinik zu Wort:

Prof. Dr. Thomas Braun, Direktor am Max-Planck-Institut für Herz- und Lungenforschung, Bad Nauheim

Prof Dr. Hubert Serve, Universitätsklinikum Frankfurt, Medizinische Klinik II für Hämatologie und Onkologie

Prof. Dr. Andreas Zeiher, Universitätsklinikum Frankfurt, Medizinische Klinik III für Kardiologie.

Kurzfilme präsentieren ihre Arbeit. Anschließend skizzieren sie den neuesten Forschungsstand und Einsatzmöglichkeiten von Stammzellen bei Herzinfarkt und Blutkrebs und diskutieren ihre Ergebnisse mit dem Publikum. Vor und nach der Podiumsdiskussion beschäftigt sich eine Posterausstellung mit Krankheiten, derzeit möglichen Stammzelltherapien und aktuellen Forschungsansätzen.

Die Schering Stiftung fördert die Veranstaltung, da neue Forschungsansätze in die interessierte Öffentlichkeit getragen und diskutiert werden und damit das Verständnis für wissenschaftliche Forschung gestärkt wird.

Mit der Veranstaltung endet die dreitägige Internationale Jahreskonferenz des German Stem Cell Network. In Frankfurt am Main kommen vom 9. bis zu 11. September 2015 über 400 Wissenschaftler aus der Stammzellforschung zusammen, um sich auszutauschen und neueste Ergebnisse zu präsentieren.

Weiterlesen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram