Schering Stiftung

Project 

Propyne and acetonitrile, an example for perspective isomorph compounds (view in the direction of the arrow)

Propyne and acetonitrile, an example for perspective isomorph compounds (view in the direction of the arrow)

Patrick Borchers: “Fluorine,” pencil and whiteout on paper, 2017

Patrick Borchers: “Fluorine,” pencil and whiteout on paper, 2017

Jette Flügge: “Fluorine,” fineliner on paper, 2017

Jette Flügge: “Fluorine,” fineliner on paper, 2017

Christoph Kern: “Fluorine,” charcoal on paper, 2017

Christoph Kern: “Fluorine,” charcoal on paper, 2017

Perspective Isomorphs

An Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry

Perspective Isomorphs

An Experimental-Artistic Approach as Theoretical Approach in Organic Chemistry


A new project at the Justus Liebig University of Gießen fosters an unusual interdisciplinary encounter between the visual arts and organic chemistry. The epistemologies of both disciplines overlap in an experimental research setting: In this conceptual art project, sculptures are modeled in the size of a molecule with the tools of chemistry, while an epistemological principle of art, the so-called central perspective, is applied to the analytical framework of chemistry.

The standard representation of molecules in various three- or two-dimensional models can only be an incomplete and poor auxiliary tool, as compared to the theoretically known form. This project, however, radically chooses this visualization as its epistemological starting-point. It uses the principle of the central perspective, known from the visual arts, which since early modern times has epistemologically referred the image of the world back to the observer: his/her location, eye level, and point of view constitute his/her view of the world; what is concealed one behind the other cannot be seen. Translating this into the field of organic chemistry, the project first identifies those groups of molecules that have the same form when seen from a certain perspective, even if the sequence conceals totally dissimilar atomic structures. These molecules, which are similar when seen from the same perspective, are called “perspective isomorphs.” In a next step, the aim is to look for application scenarios.

From the point of view of conceptual art, the innovative approach lies in seeing and using the chemical lab as a studio and individual synthesized molecules as malleable material. Because of its subnanometer size, the resulting (sculptural) form is not immediately visible to the eye. At the same time, the research collaboration pursues the primarily discourse-theoretical goal of applying the reflection level inherent to art to chemistry, i.e., the reflection on one’s medium, its form of representation and epistemological dimension.

In the course of the exciting development work, it became necessary to visually test the staggered sequences and concealments in space, besides a mathematical definition based on the van der Waals radius of an atom. Since no single conventional model proved to be convincing, three artists were asked to draw the five atoms that were used. Patrick Borchers, Jette Flügge, and Christoph Kern (see fig.) created individual representations, which, in the project context, serve as material for further mathematical calculation and chemical analysis.

A project by Prof. Dr. Hermann Wegner (Institute for Organic Chemistry), Prof. Dr. Ansgar Schnurr (Institute for Art Education), and Jannis Neumann (student of art education and biology), Justus Liebig University of Gießen

Read more

Publication 

The interdisciplinary Researchproject „Chemistry in Art / Art in Chemistry - Chemistry as a new Medium for Art – Adding an interdisciplinary Meta-Level-Discourse to Chemistry“ a scientific publication has been published in Beilstein Journal of Organic Chemistry.

Neumann, Jannis/Schnurr, Ansgar/Wegner, Hermann A.:
Perspective isomorphs – a new classification of molecular structures based on artistic and chemical concepts.
In: Beilstein J. Org. Chem. 2019, 15, 2319-2326
PDF: https://www.beilstein-journals.org/s/d47SANeJHO
HTML Version: https://www.beilstein-journals.org/s/4GIY4FuBM2
Supporting Information: https://www.beilstein-journals.org/bjoc/content/supplementary/1860-5397-15-224-S1.pdf

 

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

Propin und Acetonitril, ein Beispiel für perspektivisomorphe Verbindungen (Blickrichtung in Pfeilrichtung)

Propin und Acetonitril, ein Beispiel für perspektivisomorphe Verbindungen (Blickrichtung in Pfeilrichtung)

Patrick Borchers: “Fluor”, Bleistift und TippEx auf Papier 2017

Patrick Borchers: “Fluor”, Bleistift und TippEx auf Papier 2017

Jette Flügge: “Fluor”, Fineliner auf Papier 2017

Jette Flügge: “Fluor”, Fineliner auf Papier 2017

Christoph Kern: “Fluor”, Kohle auf Papier 2017

Christoph Kern: “Fluor”, Kohle auf Papier 2017

Perspektivisomorphe

Ein experimentell-künstlerischer Zugang als Theorieansatz in der Organischen Chemie

Perspektivisomorphe

Ein experimentell-künstlerischer Zugang als Theorieansatz in der Organischen Chemie


In einem neuen Projekt an der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen kommt es zu einer ungewöhnlichen interdisziplinären Begegnung zwischen Bildender Kunst und Organischer Chemie. Die Erkenntnisweisen der beiden Disziplinen überkreuzen sich in einem experimentellen Forschungssetting: Als konzeptkünstlerisches Projekt begriffen, werden Skulpturen mit den Werkzeugen der Chemie in der Größe eines Moleküls modelliert. Ein Erkenntnisprinzip der Kunst wiederum, die sog. Zentralperspektive, wird auf den chemischen Analyserahmen übertragen.

Die zwar übliche Darstellung von Molekülen in verschiedenen räumlichen oder zweidimensionalen Modellen kann im Vergleich zur theoretisch bekannten Form nur ein unvollständiges und defizitäres Hilfsmittel sein. In diesem Projekt wird jedoch genau diese Visualität radikal zum erkenntnistheoretischen Ausgangspunkt gewählt. Hierbei wird das aus der bildenden Kunst bekannte Prinzip der Zentralperspektive eingesetzt, welches seit der frühen Neuzeit das Bild der Welt epistemologisch auf den Betrachtenden zurückführt: Sein Standort, seine Augenhöhe und sein Blickwinkel konstituieren das Weltbild; was sich hintereinander verdeckt, kann nicht gesehen werden. Übertragen auf die Organische Chemie, werden im Projekt zunächst solche Molekülgruppen identifiziert, die von einer bestimmten Perspektive gesehen die gleiche Form aufweisen, selbst wenn sich in den Staffelungen gänzlich ungleiche Atomstrukturen verbergen. Diese sich perspektivisch gleichenden Moleküle werden „Perspektivisomorphe“ genannt. In einem weiterführenden Schritt soll nach Anwendungsszenarien gesucht werden.

Aus Sicht der konzeptuellen Kunst besteht der innovative Zugang darin, das chemische Labor als Atelier und einzelne synthetisierte Moleküle als gestaltbares Material zu verstehen und zu nutzen. Die entstehende (bildhauerische) Form entzieht sich durch ihre Größe im Subnanometerbereich der unmittelbaren Sichtbarkeit. Zugleich ist es ein eher diskurstheoretisches Ziel der Forschungskooperation, die der Kunst inhärente Reflexionsebene in die Chemie zu übertragen, also das Nachdenken über das eigene Medium, seine Darstellungsform und Erkenntnisdimension.

In der spannenden Entwicklungsarbeit wurde es nötig, neben einer mathematischen Definition basierend auf den van-der-Waals Atomradien die Staffelungen und Verdeckungen im Raum visuell zu erproben. Da sich hierfür keine gängige Modellvorstellung als alleinig aussagekräftig erwies, wurden drei KünstlerInnen gebeten, die fünf verwendeten Atome in zeichnerischen Auffassungen zu gestalten. Patrick Borchers, Jette Flügge und Christoph Kern (siehe Abb.) fanden zu individuellen Darstellungen, die im Projektrahmen als Material der weiteren mathematischen Berechnung und chemischen Analyse dienen.

Ein Projekt von Prof. Dr. Hermann Wegner (Institut Organische Chemie), Prof. Dr. Ansgar Schnurr (Institut für Kunstdidaktik) und Jannis Neumann (Student der Kunstpädagogik und Biologie), Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen

Weiterlesen

Publikation 

Von dem interdisziplinären Forschungsprojekt „Chemistry in Art / Art in Chemistry - Chemistry as a new Medium for Art – Adding an interdisciplinary Meta-Level-Discourse to Chemistry“ ist ein wissenschaftlicher Aufsatz im Beilstein Journal of Organic Chemistry erschienen.

Neumann, Jannis/Schnurr, Ansgar/Wegner, Hermann A.:
Perspective isomorphs – a new classification of molecular structures based on artistic and chemical concepts.
In: Beilstein J. Org. Chem. 2019, 15, 2319-2326
PDF: https://www.beilstein-journals.org/s/d47SANeJHO
HTML Version: https://www.beilstein-journals.org/s/4GIY4FuBM2
Supporting Information: https://www.beilstein-journals.org/bjoc/content/supplementary/1860-5397-15-224-S1.pdf

 

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram