Schering Stiftung

Project 

European Students' Conference 2016

European Students' Conference 2016
Photo: © Dario J Laganà

European Students' Conference 2016

European Students' Conference 2016
Photo: © Dario J Laganà

European Students’ Conference 2016

„Facing Antimicrobial Resistance – Research Revolution Wanted“

European Students’ Conference 2016

„Facing Antimicrobial Resistance – Research Revolution Wanted“

Date:

September 28, 2016

Venue:

Campus Virchow-Klinikum der Charité Berlin
Augustenburger Platz 1
13353 Berlin

Registration until the end of September at: http://esc-berlin.com/register/

More information at: www.esc-berlin.com.


Focusing on antimicrobial resistances, which are rapidly increasing worldwide, the ESC takes a closer look at the causes and consequences of the declining efficacy of antibiotic therapies. In the late 1960s, the war against infectious diseases was seen as largely won, but recent years have shown that this chapter is far from closed.

The British Review on Antimicrobial Resistance calculated that, without new medication, antimicrobial resistances could cause 10 million deaths a year as well as 100 trillion USD of lost economic output by 2050. At the World Health Summit on October 19, 2014, the German Minister of Health Hermann Gröhe also clearly stated that “fighting antimicrobial resistance is a major priority for German health policy.”

More than 400 students and young scientists from all over the world are expected to participate in the ESC’s expert lectures by renowned scientists, in medical workshops, in a newly launched Matchmaking program and in an extensive social program. In addition, the conference offers young scientists from all biomedical disciplines an opportunity to present their research findings to an expert jury and an international audience and to publish their work as part of a competition at the conference.

 

 

The European Students’ Conference (ESC) was established in 1989 to facilitate and promote the scientific exchange between young scientists in Western and Eastern Europe. Held annually at the Charité for 26 years, the ESC has developed into one of the largest student-organized biomedical conferences worldwide.

The Schering Stiftung supports the conference, because it makes an important contribution to the promotion and international networking of excellent young scientists.

 

Read more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

European Students' Conference 2016

European Students' Conference 2016
Foto: © Dario J Laganà

European Students' Conference 2016

European Students' Conference 2016
Foto: © Dario J Laganà

European Students‘ Conference 2016

„Facing Antimicrobial Resistance – Research Revolution Wanted“

European Students‘ Conference 2016

„Facing Antimicrobial Resistance – Research Revolution Wanted“

Termin:

28.09.2016

Veranstaltungsort:

Campus Virchow-Klinikum der Charité Berlin
Augustenburger Platz 1
13353 Berlin

Anmeldung bis Ende September unter: http://esc-berlin.com/register/

Weitere Informationen unter www.esc-berlin.com.


Die ESC greift die Thematik der weltweit rasant wachsenden antimikrobiellen Resistenzen auf und wirft einen genauen Blick auf die Ursachen und Folgen der abnehmenden Wirksamkeit antibiotischer Therapien. Während Ende der 1960er Jahre der Krieg gegen Infektionskrankheiten weitgehend als gewonnen galt, hat sich in den letzten Jahren herausgestellt, dass dieses Kapitel noch keineswegs abgeschlossen ist.

Die britische Review on Antimicrobial Resistance errechnete, dass ohne neue Arzneimittel antimikrobielle Resistenzen bis zum Jahr 2050 Ursache von 10 Millionen Todesfällen jährlich in der Patientenversorgung sowie von 100 Billionen US-Dollar unverwirklichten Bruttosozialprodukts sein werden. Ebenso sprach sich der Bundesgesundheitsminister Hermann Gröhe auf dem World Health Summit am 19. Oktober 2014 klar dafür aus, dass „die Bekämpfung von Antibiotikaresistenzen von höchster Priorität für die Gesundheitspolitik in Deutschland“ ist.

Über 400 Studenten und junge Wissenschaftler aus aller Welt werden erwartet und nehmen im Rahmen der ESC an Fachvorträgen renommierter Wissenschaftler, an medizinischen Workshops sowie an einem umfangreichen Begleitprogramm teil. Im Mittelpunkt 27. ESC wird jedoch wieder der wissenschaftliche Wettbewerb stehen, in welchem die jungen Wissenschaftler ihre Forschungsergebnisse aus verschiedensten Fachrichtungen einer Fachjury vorstellen und so zum Ideenaustausch und Netzwerken anregen.

Die European Students’ Conference (ESC) wurde 1989 an der Charité gegründet mit dem Ziel, den wissenschaftlichen Austausch junger Forscher in West- und Osteuropa zu fördern. Seit 27 Jahren findet die ESC jährlich an der Charité statt und hat sich zu einer der größten studentisch organisierten biomedizinischen Konferenzen weltweit entwickelt.

Die Schering Stiftung unterstützt die Konferenz als wichtigen Beitrag zur Förderung und internationalen Vernetzung von exzellenten Nachwuchswissenschaftlern.

Weiterlesen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram