Schering Stiftung

Project 

Horst Bredekamp

Horst Bredekamp
Photo: Ohlbaum

Celebrating Horst Bredekamp

Looking Back to Look Forward

Horst Bredekamp
Photo: Ohlbaum

Celebrating Horst Bredekamp

Looking Back to Look Forward

Horst Bredekamp, long-time professor of art history at Humboldt University and one of the most renowned art historians in the world, will be honored by a festive retirement conference organized by the Institute of Art and Visual Studies and the university’s president’s office. Entitled “Looking Back to Look Forward,” the conference pays tribute to his groundbreaking work in the past and present. Professor Bredekamp will enter another creative period as a member of the foundation committee of the Humboldt Forum and will continue to serve as a spokesperson of the “Image Knowledge Gestaltung” cluster of excellence.

Horst Bredekamp (born April 29, 1947, in Kiel) studied art history, archaeology, philosophy and sociology in Kiel, Munich, Berlin, and Marburg. In 1974, he finished his studies in Marburg with an outstanding dissertation on iconoclasm. Before moving to Humboldt University in Berlin, he was professor of art history at the University of Hamburg from 1982 until 1993. Other milestones include the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton (1991), the Getty Center, Los Angeles (1995 and 1998), the Collegium Budapest (1999) and the Gadamer Chair in Heidelberg (2005). From 2003 until 2012, he was a Permanent Fellow at the Institute for Advanced Study in Berlin. Since 2004, Bredekamp has been a member of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities and the Leopoldina – German Academy of Sciences in Halle, and, since 2003, a member of the Foundation Council of the Schering Stiftung. He has received multiple awards and prizes, most recently the Pour le Mérite (2014).

For two decades, Horst Bredekamp has significantly contributed to the cultural scene in Berlin: through his participation in international research projects and public debates, but also in his capacities as long-term dean and chair of Humboldt University’s Institute of Art and Visual Studies, as one of the spokespersons of the “Image Knowledge Gestaltung” cluster of excellence, and not least as a member of the Foundation Council of the Schering Stiftung, where his wide-ranging thinking across time periods and sectors and accurate judgment have always served to support the artistically and scientifically most radical projects. We thank him cordially for his extraordinary commitment and it is with our most heart-felt appreciation that we support the festive ceremony in his honor at Humboldt University Berlin.

Read more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

Horst Bredekamp

Horst Bredekamp
Foto: Ohlbaum

Feier für Horst Bredekamp

Looking Back to Look Forward

Horst Bredekamp
Foto: Ohlbaum

Feier für Horst Bredekamp

Looking Back to Look Forward

Horst Bredekamp, langjähriger Inhaber der Professur für Mittlere und Neuere Kunstgeschichte an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin und einer der international renommiertesten Kunsthistoriker, wird vom Institut für Kunst- und Bildgeschichte sowie dem Präsidium der Universität mit einer Tagung feierlich verabschiedet. Unter dem Titel „Looking Back to Look Forward“ würdigt die Humboldt-Universität sein bahnbrechendes Wirken in der Vergangenheit und Gegenwart. Professor Bredekamp tritt in eine weitere Schaffensphase mit der Gründungsintendanz am Humboldt-Forum und fungiert weiterhin als Sprecher des Exzellenzclusters „Bild Wissen Gestaltung.“

Horst Bredekamp (* 29. April 1947 in Kiel) studierte Kunstgeschichte, Archäologie, Philosophie und Soziologie in Kiel, München, Berlin und Marburg. 1974 beschloss er sein Studium in Marburg mit einer herausragenden Dissertation zum Bildersturm. Von der Universität Hamburg, wo er von 1982 bis 1993 als Professor für Kunstgeschichte wirkte, wechselte er an die Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Weitere wichtige Stationen waren u. a. das Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton (1991), das Getty Center, Los Angeles (1995 und 1998), das Collegium Budapest (1999) sowie die Gadamer-Stiftungsprofessur (2005). Von 2003 bis 2012 war er Permanent Fellow am Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin. Seit 2004 ist Bredekamp Mitglied der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften sowie der Deutschen Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina in Halle und seit 2003 im Stiftungsrat der Schering Stiftung. Für seine Verdienste wurde er vielfach ausgezeichnet, zuletzt mit dem Orden „Pour le mérite“ (2014).

Seit nunmehr zwei Jahrzehnten prägt Horst Bredekamp die Kultur Berlins maßgeblich mit: Im Rahmen internationaler Forschungsprojekte und bei öffentlichen Debatten genauso wie in seinen Funktionen als langjähriger Dekan und Leiter des Instituts für Kunst- und Bildgeschichte und einer der Sprecher des Exzellenzclusters „Bild Wissen Gestaltung“ sowie nicht zuletzt im Stiftungsrat der Schering Stiftung, in dem er sich mit seiner epochen- und spartenübergreifenden Denkweise und präzisem Urteilsvermögen stets für die künstlerisch-wissenschaftlich radikalsten Projekte eingesetzt hat. Für dieses außerordentliche Engagement danken wir ihm herzlich und unterstützen in tiefer Verbundenheit die Festveranstaltung zu seiner Ehrung an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

Weiterlesen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram