Schering Stiftung

Lecture 

„Face to Face – Interface

„Face to Face – Interface" 2016 | Installation| A self-feeding facial-expression archive, searchable by face
Photo: Carl Martin Grewe, Sven Kristofer Pilz, Lisa Schreiber and Moritz Wehrmann

How Knowledge Influences Our Perception

Insights from the Neurosciences

„Face to Face – Interface" 2016 | Installation| A self-feeding facial-expression archive, searchable by face
Photo: Carl Martin Grewe, Sven Kristofer Pilz, Lisa Schreiber and Moritz Wehrmann

How Knowledge Influences Our Perception

Insights from the Neurosciences

“Your face, my thane, is as a book where men may read strange matters.” (Shakespeare, Macbeth)

A current theory describes the human brain as a “prediction machine”: It posits that our brain is constantly constructing hypotheses of what will happen next. When there is sensory input, it is quickly matched or corrected/updated by comparing it with already existing hypotheses. This process increases the efficiency of our brain – that is, our data processing and reaction abilities.

According to this theory, perception can be understood as a creative process: Besides the sensory impressions, our expectations and experiences as well as our existing knowledge play a key role for the occurrence and processing of our perceptions. But this can also lead to deceptions and distorted perceptions.

In her lecture, Rasha Abdel Rahman, professor of neurocognitive psychology at HU Berlin, discusses neuroscientific studies that show that our knowledge – in the form of learned categories in our native language or personal information – can influence the visual perception of objects and faces and even our visual consciousness.

Read more

Program for download 

Lecture series "The Nature of Perception - the Art of Peception"

Download File

Speaker 

Rasha Abdel Rahman has been Heisenberg Professor of Neurocognitive Psychology at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin since 2010. Her research focuses on language production, semantic memory, facial and object recognition as well as the influence of attention, linguistics and emotion on perception. In addition to the Heisenberg Professorship, her honors include the Heinz Heckhausen Young Scientist Award of the German Psychological Society in 2008 and her participation in the DFG Research Training Group on “Clinical and Cognitive Neurosciences” from 1997 until 2000. In 2008, she successfully completed her habilitation, The Semantic System in Object Recognition and Speech Production,“ in psychology at Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin.

Close

Partners 

This Project is realized in cooperation with the following partners:

Bild Wissen Gestaltung Ein interdisziplinäres Labor

You might also be interested in

November 05, 2018, Berlin

Camouflage

The Art of Deception

December 10, 2018, Berlin

Celestial Mechanics

A Changing Cosmos

February 11, 2019, Berlin

Playing Tricks with Perception

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Follow us!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube

Schering Stiftung

Vortrag 

„Face to Face – Interface

„Face to Face – Interface" 2016 | Installation| A self-feeding facial-expression archive, searchable by face
Foto: Carl Martin Grewe, Sven Kristofer Pilz, Lisa Schreiber and Moritz Wehrmann

Der Einfluss von Wissen auf die Wahrnehmung von Gesichtern und Objekten

Erkenntnisse aus den Neurowissenschaften

„Face to Face – Interface" 2016 | Installation| A self-feeding facial-expression archive, searchable by face
Foto: Carl Martin Grewe, Sven Kristofer Pilz, Lisa Schreiber and Moritz Wehrmann

Der Einfluss von Wissen auf die Wahrnehmung von Gesichtern und Objekten

Erkenntnisse aus den Neurowissenschaften

Your face, my thane, is as a book where men may read strange matters.” (Shakespeare, Macbeth)

Das menschliche Gehirn wird einer aktuellen Theorie zufolge als ‚Vorhersagemaschine‘ beschrieben: Demnach ist unser Gehirn ständig damit beschäftigt, Hypothesen darüber aufzustellen, was als nächstes passieren wird. Tritt dann ein Sinnesreiz auf, wird dieser durch den Abgleich mit bereits bestehenden Hypothesen schnell zugeordnet oder korrigiert. Dieser Prozess steigert die Effizienz unseres Gehirns, da nur die für uns wichtigen Informationen verarbeitet werden und die Reaktionsfähigkeit somit erhöht werden kann.

Folgt man dieser Theorie, kann Wahrnehmung als kreativer Prozess verstanden werden: Neben den Sinneseindrücken spielen unsere bestehenden Erwartungen und Erfahrungen sowie das bereits vorhandene Wissen eine entscheidende Rolle für das Zustandekommen und die Weiterverarbeitung unserer Wahrnehmungen. Dies kann jedoch auch zu Täuschungen und verzerrten Wahrnehmungen führen.

Rasha Abdel Rahman, Professorin für Neurokognitive Psychologie an der HU Berlin, diskutiert in ihrem Vortrag neurowissenschaftliche Untersuchungen, die demonstrieren, dass unser Wissen in Form gelernter Kategorien der Muttersprache oder in Form personenbezogener Informationen die Wahrnehmung von Objekten, Gesichtern und sogar das visuelle Bewusstsein beeinflussen kann.

Weiterlesen

Programm zum Download 

Ringvorlesung "Natur der Wahrnehmung - Kunst der Täuschung"

Datei laden

Die Sprecherin 

Rasha Abdel Rahman ist seit 2010 Heisenberg-Professorin für Neurokognitive Psychologie an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Ihr Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt in den Bereichen Sprachproduktion, Semantisches Gedächtnis, Gesichts- und Objekterkennung sowie dem Einfluss von Aufmerksamkeit, Linguistik und Emotion auf die Wahrnehmung. Zu ihren Auszeichnungen gehören, neben der Heisenberg-Professur, der Heinz-Heckhausen-Jungwissenschaftlerpreis der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Psychologie im Jahr 2008 sowie die Teilnahme am Graduiertenkolleg der DFG zum Thema „Klinische und kognitive Neurowissenschaften“ von 1997–2000. Ihre Habilitation erfolgte im Jahr 2008 an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin im Bereich Psychologie zum Thema „Das semantische System bei Objekterkennung und Sprachproduktion“.

Schliessen

Partner 

Das Projekt wird in Kooperation mit folgenden Partnern realisiert:

Bild Wissen Gestaltung Ein interdisziplinäres Labor

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

10.12.2018, Berlin

Himmelsmechanik

Kosmos im Wandel

11.02.2019, Berlin

Das Spiel mit der Täuschung

05.11.2018, Berlin

Camouflage

Die Kunst der Tarnung

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube