Schering Stiftung

Project 

Hunger and Affluence

Science and Society Sessions 2015

Hunger and Affluence

Science and Society Sessions 2015

Micronutrients like iron, copper, zinc, and vitamins are inevitable for the body. If these are missing, experts speak of so-called “hidden hunger”. Since symptoms of illness do not arise until much later, this hidden hunger is usually not recognized. The greatest danger starts in the womb and even before conception. The first 1,000 days of becoming a person and life are decisive for the life-long physical, motor, and intellectual development. Across the globe, the number of children whose families cannot afford adequate nutrition is growing – and this is true for both poor and rich countries. The 2nd International Congress Hidden Hunger from March 3 to 6 in Stuttgart will concentrate specifically on this critical 1,000 day window at the beginning of each person’s life. In addition to the scientific program the Science & Society Session “Hunger and Affluence” – supported by the Schering Stiftung – approaches the role of hunger and affluence from the perspective of cultural studies and artistic practice.

These perspectives enhance the natural, medical and social science perspectives of the HIDDEN HUNGER 2015 Congress. The cultural and aesthetic aspects of food are vital for understanding and dealing with nutritional developments globally. Food is cultural and so is hunger.

The Science & Society Session “Hunger and Affluence” invites a group of eight artists and cultural scientists to participate in four public events. The program is accessible for all congress guests as well as for general public. The presentations at Theater Rampe aim at creating a social and geographic link between the congress, the scientific community and the cultural scene of the city of Stuttgart.

Venues
Publishing Hunger
Artist Andreas Liebmann together with students from the University of the Arts Zürich gathers statements from congress guests on their individual hunger. These statements are reformulated and mirrored back to the plenum via video projection and sound.
Date & Time: Whole days of the congress; Tuesday March 3 until Thursday March 5, 2015
Location: Mövenpick Hotel Stuttgart | Airport & Messe | Flughafenstrasse 50 | 70629 Stuttgart

HotSPots/Krisenherd 2015
A dinner-debate. Under the guidance of artist Wanja Saatkamp 40 guests participate in creating a dinner together while talks are given by two invited speakers: a scholar from the HIDDEN HUNGER congress and an artist. The audience sits together at one long table and creates and shares thoughts and food over the course of a meal.
Date & Time: Thursday March 5 / 7.00 pm
Location: Theater Rampe | Filderstrasse 47 | 70180 Stuttgart

Two Seminars on Hunger and Affluence
Five international cultural scholars and artists – Cultural historian Prof. Christina von Braun (Humboldt Universität zu Berlin), writer Yemisi Ogbe (Lagos); visual artist Ulf Aminde (Berlin), Cultural Anthropologist Sebastian Schellhaas (J.-W.-Goethe-Universität Frankfurt/Main) and cultural activist Steve Calvert (British Columbia) – present introductory statements or excerpts of their work and discuss the role of hunger in affluent societies and the ties between cultural expression and nutrition.
Date & Time: Friday, March 6, 2015 / 2.00 pm and 4.00 pm
Location: University of Hohenheim | Kirchnerstrasse 3 | 70599 Stuttgart

NOMA – Luxury Face (pt 2)
Performance and installation by Andreas Liebmann, Dorte Holbeck and Derek Lesher about indulgence and malnutrition. The installation will be developed and presented several weeks earlier in Copenhagen, home of the restaurant Noma, voted the world’s best restaurant in 2014.
Date & Time: Friday, March 6, 2015 / 8.00 pm
Location: Theater Rampe | Filderstrasse 47 | 70180 Stuttgart

Read more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

Hunger und Überfluss

Science und Society Sessions 2015

Hunger und Überfluss

Science und Society Sessions 2015

Termin:

03.03.2015

Veranstaltungsort:

Theater Rampe
Filderstrasse 47
70180 Stuttgart


Mikronährstoffe wie Eisen, Kupfer, Zink und Vitamine sind für den Körper unverzichtbar. Fehlen sie, sprechen Experten vom so genannten „verborgenen Hunger“. Da Krankheitssymptome erst viel später auftauchen, bleibt dieser verborgene Hunger in der Regel unerkannt. Das größte Risiko beginnt bereits im Mutterleib, ja sogar noch vor der Empfängnis. Die ersten 1000 Tage im Leben eines Menschen sind entscheidend für seine weitere physische, motorische und geistige Entwicklung. Weltweit wächst die Zahl der Kinder, deren Familien sich keine ausgewogene Ernährung leisten können – das gilt sowohl für arme als auch reiche Länder. Der 2. Internationale Hidden Hunger-Kongress vom 3. bis 6. März 2015 in Stuttgart befasst sich schwerpunktmäßig mit diesem kritischen 1000-Tage-Fenster zu Beginn eines Menschenlebens. Zusätzlich zum wissenschaftlichen Programm nähert sich die von der Schering Stiftung unterstützte Science & Society Session „Hunger und Überfluss“ dem Thema auch aus kulturwissenschaftlicher und künstlerischer Perspektive.

Diese Perspektiven ergänzen die naturwissenschaftlichen, medizinischen und sozialwissenschaftlichen Perspektiven des HIDDEN HUNGER-Kongresses 2015. Die kulturellen und ästhetischen Aspekte von Essen sind entscheidend für unser Verständnis und unseren Umgang mit der weltweiten Ernährungsentwicklung. Essen ist kulturell, Hunger ebenfalls.

Die Science & Society Session „Hunger und Überfluss“ lädt acht Künstler und Kulturwissenschaftler zur Teilnahme an vier Veranstaltungen ein. Die Veranstaltungen sind für alle Kongressteilnehmer sowie ein breites Publikum offen. Ziel der Veranstaltungen im Theater Rampe ist es zusätzlich, gesellschaftliche und geographische Brücken zwischen dem Kongress, der Wissenschaftsgemeinde und der Kulturszene der Stadt Stuttgart zu bauen.

Veranstaltungen
Publishing Hunger
Zusammen mit Studenten der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste sammelt der Künstler Andreas Liebmann (Berlin) Aussagen der Kongressteilnehmer über ihren persönlichen Hunger. Diese Aussagen werden umformuliert und dem Publikum in Form von Video- und Tonaufnahmen zurückgespiegelt.
Datum & Uhrzeit: Ganztägig während des Kongresses, Dienstag, 3. März bis Donnerstag, 5. März 2015
Ort: Mövenpick Hotel Stuttgart Airport & Messe | Flughafenstrasse 50 | 70629 Stuttgart

HotSPots/Krisenherd 2015
Eine Dinner-Debatte. Unter Anleitung der Künstlerin Wanja Saatkamp (Berlin) nehmen 40 Gäste an der Kreation eines Dinners teil, bei dem zwei geladene Referenten des HIDDEN HUNGER-Kongresses und der Science & Society Session Kurzvorträge halten. Das Publikum sitzt an einem langen Tisch und kocht, isst und diskutiert gemeinsam.
Datum & Uhrzeit: Donnerstag, 5. März / 19:00 Uhr
Ort: Theater Rampe | Filderstrasse 47 | 70180 Stuttgart

Zwei Seminare über Hunger und Überfluss
Fünf internationale Kulturwissenschaftler und Künstler – die Literaturhistorikerin Frederike Felcht (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München), die Journalistin Yemisi Ogbe (Lagos), der bildende Künstler Ulf Aminde (Berlin), der Kulturanthropologe Sebastian Schellhaas (Goethe-Universität Frankfurt/Main) und der Kulturaktivist Steve Calvert (British Columbia) – stellen Forschungsergebnisse, Thesen oder Ausschnitte aus ihren Arbeiten vor und diskutieren die Rolle von Hunger in Gesellschaften des Überflusses sowie die Verbindung zwischen kulturellem Ausdruck und Ernährung.
Datum & Uhrzeit: Freitag, 6. März 2015 / 14:00 Uhr und 16:00 Uhr
Ort: Universität Hohenheim | Kirchnerstrasse 3 | 70599 Stuttgart

NOMA – Luxury Face (pt 2)
Performance und Installation von Andreas Liebmann, Dorte Holbeck (Kopenhagen) und Derek Lesher (Kopenhagen) über Luxusgenüsse und Mangelernährung. Die Installation basiert auf einer Arbeit, die Anfang des Jahres in Kopenhagen entstand – Heimat des Luxusrestaurants Noma, das 2014 zum besten Restaurant der Welt gekürt wurde.
Datum & Uhrzeit: Freitag, 6. März 2015 / 20:00 Uhr
Ort: Theater Rampe | Filderstrasse 47 | 70180 Stuttgart

Weiterlesen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram