Schering Stiftung

Project 


Box no. 5 with negative films from the Hahne-Niehoff Archives, Institute for European Ethnology, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Box no. 5 with negative films from the Hahne-Niehoff Archives, Institute for European Ethnology, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Photo: Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Unidentified photographer, Eight Mirror Frames, silver gelatin paper on cardboard, Collection of Elia Volpi, c. 1900, Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florenz – Max-Planck-Institut

Unidentified photographer, Eight Mirror Frames, silver gelatin paper on cardboard, Collection of Elia Volpi, c. 1900, Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florenz – Max-Planck-Institut
Photo: Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florenz – Max-Planck-Institut

Unboxing Photographs

Work in the Photo Archive

Unboxing Photographs

Work in the Photo Archive

Duration:

February 16 – May 27, 2018

Exhibition opening:

Thursday, 15. February 2018, 7–9 p.m.

Opening hours:

Tuesday through Friday 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday von 11 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Venue:

Exhibition room of the Kunstbibliothek im Kulturforum
Matthäikirchplatz 6
10785 Berlin


From February 16 through May 27, 2018, the National Museums in Berlin will present the exhibition “Unboxing Photographs: Work in the Photo Archive” at the Library of Art History at the Kulturforum The project, which was developed by the Collection of Photography of the Library of Art History and Collection of Classical Antiquities, both National Museums in Berlin – Prussian Cultural Heritage, together with the Photo Library of Art Historical Institute in Florence – Max Planck Institute and the Institute for European Ethnology at Humboldt University of Berlin, wants to explore alternative possibilities of presenting photographs, highlighting their three-dimensional character.

“Unboxing Photographs: Work in the Photo Archive” opens the boxes of four photo archives to showcase the material diversity of photographs as three-dimensional objects: from glass plate negatives, to 35 mm film, to prints on albumin or silver gelatin paper. These photo-objects are taken in the hand, tilted and turned over, labeled, cut down, framed, glued into albums, printed, and dispatched or posted online. Contact and inventory sheets, cardboard mounts, card catalogs, and today even display screens are integral parts of the photo-object, or even constitute it.

Since the 19th century, archaeologists, ethnologists, and art historians have worked with photographs and assembled them in archives. There, they are processed and ordered – and only through such treatment do they become usable as documents for scholarly research. These procedures alter the physical properties of photographs and leave behind material traces. Photographs, hence, are neither objective nor timeless. By taking them seriously as objects, and not just as pictures, it becomes possible to tell their multifarious stories. The exhibition interrogates the commonly practiced and disciplinary conventions that govern the perception and presentation of photographs – for example, museum display using passe-partouts – and tries out new design possibilities. Work with photo-objects is also central to the artistic interventions of JUTOJO, Ola Kolehmainen, Joachim Schmid, Elisabeth Tonnard, and Akram Zaatari, all of which have been integrated into the exhibition.

Read more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 


Kasten Nr. 5 mit Negativfilmen des Hahne-Niehoff-Archivs, Institut für Europäische Ethnologie, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Kasten Nr. 5 mit Negativfilmen des Hahne-Niehoff-Archivs, Institut für Europäische Ethnologie, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin
Foto: Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Nicht identifizierter Fotograf, Acht Spiegelrahmen, Silbergelatinepapier auf Karton, Nachlass Elia Volpi, um 1900, Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florenz – Max-Planck-Institut

Nicht identifizierter Fotograf, Acht Spiegelrahmen, Silbergelatinepapier auf Karton, Nachlass Elia Volpi, um 1900, Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florenz – Max-Planck-Institut
Foto: Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florenz – Max-Planck-Institut

Unboxing Photographs

Arbeiten im Fotoarchiv

Unboxing Photographs

Arbeiten im Fotoarchiv

Laufzeit:

16.02. – 27.05.2018

Ausstellungseröffnung:

Donnerstag, 15. Februar 2018, 19–21 Uhr

Öffnungszeiten:

Dienstag bis Freitag von 10.00 - 18.00 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag von 11.00 - 18.00 Uhr

Veranstaltungsort:

Ausstellungsraum der Kunstbibliothek im Kulturforum
Matthäikirchplatz 6
10785 Berlin


Vom 16. Februar bis zum 27. Mai 2018 zeigen die Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin in der Kunstbibliothek im Kulturforum die Ausstellung „Unboxing Photographs. Arbeiten im Fotoarchiv“. Das Projekt, das von der Sammlung Fotografie der Kunstbibliothek und der Antikensammlung, beide Staatliche Museen zu Berlin – Preußischer Kulturbesitz, zusammen mit der Photothek des Kunsthistorischen Instituts in Florenz – Max-Planck-Institut und dem Institut für Europäische Ethnologie der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin entwickelt wurde, will alternative Möglichkeiten der Präsentation von Fotografien ausloten und ihren dreidimensionalen Charakter herausstellen.

„Unboxing Photographs. Arbeiten im Fotoarchiv“ öffnet die Schachteln von vier Foto-Archiven und zeigt die materielle Vielfalt von Fotografien als dreidimensionale Objekte: vom Glasplattennegativ über den Kleinbildfilm bis zum Abzug auf Albumin- oder Silbergelatinepapier. Diese Foto-Objekte werden in die Hand genommen, gedreht und gewendet, beschriftet, beschnitten, gerahmt, in Alben geklebt, ausgedruckt und verschickt oder ins Internet gestellt. Auch Kontaktabzüge, Erfassungsbögen, Trägerkartons, Karteikarten und natürlich auch der Bildschirm sind Bestandteil eines Foto-Objekts beziehungsweise bilden es.

Seit dem 19. Jahrhundert arbeiten Archäologie, Ethnologie und Kunstgeschichte mit Fotografien und sammeln diese in Archiven. Dort werden sie bearbeitet und geordnet – und damit überhaupt erst zu benutzbaren Dokumenten für die Wissenschaft gemacht. Diese Handlungen ändern ihre physische Beschaffenheit und hinterlassen Spuren. Daher sind Fotografien weder objektiv noch zeitlos. Sie als Objekte – und nicht nur als Bilder – ernst zu nehmen, erlaubt es, ihre vielfältigen Geschichten zu erzählen. Die Ausstellung hinterfragt gängige wie disziplinäre Wahrnehmungs- und Darstellungskonventionen von Fotografien, wie das Hängen in Passepartouts in Museen, und erprobt neue Möglichkeiten der Gestaltung. Die Arbeit mit Foto-Objekten steht auch im Zentrum der in die Schau integrierten künstlerischen Interventionen von JUTOJO, Ola Kolehmainen, Joachim Schmid, Elisabeth Tonnard und Akram Zaatari.

Weiterlesen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Montag: 13-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram