Schering Stiftung

Project 

Fröhliche Wissenschaft

Fröhliche Wissenschaft

Date:

November 13, 2003, 7–9 p.m.


With support from the Schering Stiftung, the Brandenburgische Kunstverein Potsdam carries out the project “Cheerful Science.” In September and October 2003, artists Thea Djordjadze and Warren Neidich will visit scientific institutes in Potsdam to develop and realize projects in cooperation with the institutes’ scientists and curator Wilfried Dickhoff. They will present the art projects on November 13, 2003, at 7:00 p.m., at the Luisenforum in Potsdam, Brandenburger Str. 5.

Thea Djordjadze, born in 1971 in Tiflis/Georgia, studied at the Düsseldorf Art Academy and now lives in Cologne. She is a member of the “hobbypopMUSEUM” artists’ initiative, which has carried out individual projects in Düsseldorf, Antwerp, Hamburg, London, San Francisco and Basle. Her installations and performances, which focus not just on visual products, but on a possible dialogue, a reaching-out to the observer/visitor, created a stir in the international art world.

Warren Neidich was born and lives in New York. He studied neurobiology and psychology and worked as a neurologist. In the early 1990s he decided to become an artist and to combine his scientific knowledge with artistic processes. His work focuses above all on new possibilities of interconnection between the cinema, the brain and architecture, which he explores in the form of photo series, films, and architecture-related projects.

Wilfried Dickhoff, born in 1953 in Cologne, studied philosophy, German languages and literature, and media science. His dissertation was published in 1984 under the title “Zur Hermeneutik des Schweigens” (On the Hermeneutics of Being Silent). Since the early 1980s, he works as an editor of art books, critic and curator. He has held guest professorships in Amsterdam, Karlsruhe, Enschede and other places.

Read more

Newsletter 

Contact & social networks

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Opening hours
Project space

Thursday to Monday: 1 pm - 7 pm
Saturday to Sunday: 11 am - 7 pm
free entrance

Follow us!

Follow us on our social media channels to find out the latest developments!

facebook Youtube Instagram

Schering Stiftung

Projekt 

Fröhliche Wissenschaft

Fröhliche Wissenschaft

Termin:

13.11.2003, 19–21 Uhr


Der Brandenburgische Kunstverein Potsdam realisiert, unterstützt von der Schering Stiftung, das Projekt „Fröhliche Wissenschaft“. Dazu werden die beiden Künstler Thea Djordjadze und Warren Neidich im September und Oktober 2003 wissenschaftliche Institute in Potsdam besuchen und gemeinsam mit den Wissenschaftlern und dem Kurator Wilfried Dickhoff Projekte entwickeln und umsetzen. Die Präsentation der Projekte findet am 13. November 2003, 19:00 Uhr, im Luisenforum in Potsdam, Brandenburger Straße 5, statt.

Die Künstlerin Thea Djordjadze wurde 1971 in Tiflis/Georgien geboren, studierte an der Kunstakademie Düsseldorf und lebt in Köln. Sie ist Mitglied der Künstlerinitiative „hobbypopMUSEUM“, die Einzelprojekte in Düsseldorf, Antwerpen, Hamburg, London, San Francisco und Basel realisierte. Ihre Installationen und Performances sorgten für Aufsehen in der internationalen Kunstwelt, da es in ihrer Arbeit nicht nur um Bildprodukte geht, sondern um ein mögliches Gespräch, ein Zugehen auf den Betrachter/Besucher.

Der Künstler Warren Neidich wurde in New York geboren und lebt dort. Er studierte Neurobiologie und Psychologie und arbeitete zunächst als Neurologe. Anfang der neunziger Jahre entschloss er sich, Künstler zu werden und sein Wissen in künstlerische Prozesse einzubringen. Seine Arbeit konzentriert sich vor allem auf neue, andere Bezugsmöglichkeiten zwischen Kino, Gehirn und Architektur, die er in Form von Fotoserien, Filmen und architekturbezogenen Projekten verwirklicht.

Wilfried Dickhoff, geboren 1953 in Köln, ist Kunstkritiker. Er studierte Philosophie, Germanistik und Medienwissenschaften. Seine Dissertation erschien 1984 unter dem Titel „Zur Hermeneutik des Schweigens“. Seit Anfang der achtziger Jahre arbeitet er als Herausgeber von Kunstbüchern, Kritiker und Kurator. Er bekleidete Gastprofessuren u.a. in Amsterdam, Karlsruhe und Enschede.

Weiterlesen

Newsletter 

Kontakt & soziale Netzwerke

Schering Stiftung

Unter den Linden 32-34
10117 Berlin

Telefon: +49 - 30 - 20 62 29 65
Email: info@scheringstiftung.de

Öffnungszeiten
Projektraum

Donnerstag bis Freitag: 13-19 Uhr
Samstag und Sonntag: 11-19 Uhr
Eintritt frei

Folgen Sie uns!

Folgen Sie uns auf unseren weiteren Kanälen und erfahren Sie so von den neuesten Entwicklungen!

facebook Youtube Instagram